We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed one night for business”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Midrand Conference Centre
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Midrand
Reviewed 8 February 2017

I stayed at the Lavender Mews. I had arrived there in the late evening as I had gone through from Durban. The rooms are neat, however, the bathroom had a mildewy odour, possibly from the lack of air. The air conditioner had an outlet pipe that led into the shower. The dripping could be heard in the bedroom which I found quite annoying as I am a light sleeper. Breakfast was great and the staff in the breakfast room were very courteous.

  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank noleen_5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Hi Noleen
Thanks for taking the time to let us have your objective review. I am only sorry you didn't get to enjoy your room. After reading your comments we immediately had maintenance check all rooms and did not find anything - although our Maintenance Manager did remember fixing something like you describe. We have also implemented a refresher course for the housekeepers to ensure they understand what to look for and what to report to Maintenance

Once again thank you for your comments
Kind regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (61)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 61 reviews

Reviewed 30 January 2017

I was there on business, my room was booked late so upon arrival it was not ready. Once it was ready I had problems with the television which were sorted out but with only the SABC channels as the DSTV in the section I was booked into was not working. Stayed from Tuesday night till Friday morning and the matter still had not been fixed by the time I checked out. Thank heavens for portable external hard drives otherwise I would have been bored senseless. Other than that I had a pleasant stay in the cottage. If you are looking for a beautiful chapel for your wedding ceremony definitely have a look at the Midrand Conference Centre.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ziningi Palesa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2017

Dear Ziningi
Thank you for your glowing recommendation and sharing your experience. It is appreciated. I am so sorry though that the DSTV in your room was not fixed immediately you reported it.

After analysing why this happened, the Maintenance Team now report into another Senior Manager and this has made a big difference. I hope to welcome you back again
Kind regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2016 via mobile

We had my wife's price giving function of her work at the place. Seeing that it was a very big group of people is the only reason I am not giving it a lesser rating. Starter was completely tasteless. Main course was nice. Desert was also not really tastefull.... No teaspoons at the coffee area. None. When I asked for teaspoons, the waitress did not even understand what I was asking, not even knowing that there were 2 big Coffee areas outside on the stoep. For two big coffee stations she much later brought 3 teaspoons. Yes 3. That is for around 200 people. The extraction fan in the bathroom was very loud and did not work. Was just making thus loud irritating hummm sound. Really not impressed, but not to say that they cannot fix it. Management, please pull up your socks, cause by the look of the comments I am reading I would not have booked myself if the company did not do it all ready.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
Thank Melwin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Melwin
Very much appreciate your comments. We are taking these to heart and addressing each and every one of your points.

Kind regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2016 via mobile

The staff were friendly and helpful. Sometimes there seemed to be some kind of miscommunication. The weekend we were there the water was shut off, not due to their actions, but the municipality. The venue made a plan with water thankfully. The rooms were lovely and clean, but we're damp? Not sure why. The breakfast we had the next morning was nothing to write home about, but was sufficient. The wedding food was lovely, especially the fish and the dessert. It's a lovely place and they seem to try and make an impact, but not quite.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
Thank Melletjies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Melletjies
Thank you for your comments and glad you appreciated our friendly and helpful staff, our lovely clean rooms and the beauty of our venues and village. We are addressing the points you make and hope to welcome you back one day soon
Regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 November 2016

My stay was ok, nothing exceptional but was really convinient in terms of location to my conference venue which was Gallagher estate conference venue. It was very close , less than 10mins walk which was a plus for me. Unfortunately when we got there for check-in the rooms were not ready and they took another hour to be ready. This was because of water rationing as they say that was happening in Midrand. Also had to ask for a bar fridge which I thought was already available in room at the time of booking. Fortunately they quickly provided that. I also found the rooms to be small. Generally if you have a conference at Gallagher and not looking for luxury you can pick this hotel.

Room Tip: If at Gallagher request for rooms that are closer (West)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Busi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Hi Busi
Thanks for your review - we appreciate you taking the time to comment on your experience.

Its a shame you didn't mention your concern about the room size - we do have a brand new boutique hotel, Oxford House, on the property, and could easily have upgraded you to a large comfortable room with bar fridge. We would love to welcome you back next time you are in Midrand.

Regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2016 via mobile

At our arrival it was clear we made a mistake, and although close to Gallagher Estate... Do not let that be the reason you book here. The first room 2e received was so small and had no window... O ja And do not let them tell you there is different rooms with different rates.... Let them tell you what you booked. Then we were told that the water will be cut off the next morning at 6 due to water restrictions.... Not their problem I know but what is their continuing plan going forward. The first night was impossible to sleep... The noise of people arriving and leaving their rooms was unbearable. On afternoon I had to walk onto the hall and request people to lower their voices. The first morning waking up before 6 not to be the one not to get water.... We got a bigger surprise... There was water but no hit water. We called the front desk and was told maintenance will check it. No hope. We went for breakfast and the tables were not cleared quick enough and no cutlery was on the tables. The flies were sitting g on the food and everything was covered in oil. The second night was even worse..... There was a horrendous noise from pipes in the middle of the night for hours.... I am done this place will never see me again and I will never recommend them even if they were walking distance from the venue. The place is old and needs a fix up as well.

Stayed: November 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank CaronVil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kaylene W, General Manager at Midrand Conference Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 29 November 2016

Dear Caron
Thank you for your review.

I am sorry you didn't let reception know that people were being noisy. We have 136 rooms and could easily have moved you to a quieter room. Moreover we do have a brand new boutique hotel on the property and new guest houses so could so easily have accommodated your requirements.

I am sorry you experienced our beautiful village when our entire area was suddenly hit with water shortages however the good news is, Jojo tanks are being installed so this problem doesn't hinder us as it did when you were with us.

We have taken your comments very seriously and addressed your concerns

Kind regards
Kaylene

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2016 via mobile

Only been here a few hours and so far unimpressed. People standing chatting at the gate with staff speaking loudly. Entire place needs a good clean. Chicken bone on the steps and still there for the last 7 hours. Food highly priced. Let's see what is yet to come.

Stayed: October 2016, travelled on business
1  Thank Jenny W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Midrand
0.4 km away
The Gallagher Hotel
The Gallagher Hotel
#4 of 9 in Midrand
35 reviews
2.6 km away
Premier Hotel Midrand
Premier Hotel Midrand
#1 of 9 in Midrand
396 reviews
3.2 km away
SUN1 Midrand
SUN1 Midrand
#3 of 9 in Midrand
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Midrand
11.7 km away
City Lodge Hotel Fourways
13.9 km away
Sandton Sun
Sandton Sun
#4 of 47 in Sandton
987 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Midrand Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Midrand Conference Centre

Address: 661 Pendulum Road | Halfway House Ext 12, Midrand, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Midrand
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 Hotels in Midrand
Price Range: $87 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Midrand Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 102
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda and TripOnline SA so you can book your Midrand Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing