We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (230)
Filter reviews
230 results
Traveller rating
219
10
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
219
10
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fresh flowers cape town homemade bread guest house home from home attention to detail a lovely place to stay bed and breakfast quiet suburb table mountain a great stay location was perfect delicious breakfast short drive comfortable beds off street parking yogurt
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 230 reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We stayed at Hedge House recently for a almost a week and wished it was for longer. Judy, Shirley and the staff were very friendly and helpful. The full breakfasts were fantastic with various choices and we were spoilt with home made muffins, fruit toast and cheese scones. The rooms are large, with comfortable beds and lovely bathrooms. We enjoyed having tea/coffee, microwave and fridge in our room for an occasional snack in the room. We were even treated to a wonderful home cooked evening meal in the dining room for our family and friends which was really appreciated. Great location for sport, shopping, Table Mountain and 10/15 minutes to Waterfront when you avoid peak hour traffic. 5 minute "walk" to Newlands cricket/rugby. We would stay here over anywhere else we have been in Cape Town. Just wonderful thank you all at Hedge House.

Room Tip: Room 4 if you need a bedroom off main room for children or extra family member
  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1990Jane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2018

Thank you Jane for your encouraging and warm review of Hedge House.
We really enjoyed meeting you all and having "the opposition" in the house - this made breakfast time more exciting!
Thank you for the book you left too. I would like to read it.
Warmest regards to you all and all the best, Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 23, 2018

So great! Friendly, charming, relaxing, quiet and everyone so interested in doing our stay the best! If you really want a great place in Cape Town-pick this! There is nothing more to wish for! And also to good price!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank borosenkull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded March 28, 2018

Thank you Bo!
It was wonderful to see you again and to meet Stephan.
I hope you return soon....with family members!
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

I was in Cape Town for business and absolutely struck lucky when booking Hedge House. I was greeted warmly on arrival and the room was amazing. Home made rusks and biscuits in the room and a very comfortable bed. The garden and outside area is beautiful.
They were even perfectly happy to accommodate my extremely early wake up and breakfast was ready for me.

I will come back here every time. Amazing place.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tiaan2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Many thanks Tiaan.
Hope to see you again soon.
Warm regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

We had the good fortune to stay at Hedge House on our way back to Cape Town Airport.The accommodation was of a very high standard and Judy was an absolutely terrific host who couldn't have been more helpful .It is in an extremely nice neighbourhood and the airport is close by .The breakfast was wonderful .Only wish we had booked to stay longer!!!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank mdunca126393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded March 17, 2018

Many thanks Murray for your wonderful review of Hedge House.
I loved meeting you both and enjoyed our common passion for dogs.
Thank you for walking Rocco for me!
Thank you also for the thoughtful 20 litres of water you brought us as a gift.
Warmest regards
Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 4, 2018

Lovely stay at Hedge House - hosted by Judith - who went out of her way to make sure that we had everything we needed. Newlands is a short taxi journey away from the hustle/bustle of Cape Town. Very comfortable beds, clean bathrooms, and homemade biscuits & cakes, as well as fresh fruit / coffee / tea / juice in our rooms. Delicious breakfast - the works - in a very un-rushed manner. Felt very safe with electric gates, and on-site parking. Lovely B&B, and wonderful host - I would definitely recommend staying here!

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank charbradley2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HedgeHouse, Owner at Hedge House, responded to this reviewResponded March 6, 2018

Dear Charlotte
Thank you for your in depth, warm review despite a very short stay at Hedge House.
We loved meeting you all - your enthusiasm and energy!
All the best for the upcoming celebration.
Love Judy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews