We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (540)
Filter reviews
540 results
Traveller rating
317
170
36
10
7
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
317
170
36
10
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tsogo sun indian restaurant excellent service cape town exceeded my expectations two oceans go the extra mile room service pleasant stay enjoyed my stay breakfast buffet high quality south africa excellent stay table mountain home away from home ss
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 540 reviews
Reviewed January 14, 2018

What a best service, warm welcome from the entire staff. Food was great. Reception and Restaurant staff, the best. Food was great. The hotel is nicely situated, close to Cavendish mall, Kirstenbosch gardens, wine farms, etc. Easy to access highway to airport/Cape town CBD

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank n0kulungaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights, to attend a graduation at the Univ. of Cape Town, during the middle of December.
Check in was particularly efficient, and I was promptly taken to my room. Cape Town is in the depths of a protracted drought, and the complimentary bottled water was appreciated, as was the excellent air conditioning.
The room was spacious, and served my purpose.
The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of hot and cold food. The on site Indian restaurant is also excellent.
Highly recommended, but please save water on your visit to Cape Town.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank zzuber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands. Thank you for supporting our water saving initiatives.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 11, 2018

Great stay..Best service from staff. Always enjoy my stay at this hotel. The staff does their best to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Great food at breakfast and dining. Chef always willing to listen to special orders and make them

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank mjmokobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 8, 2018

Excellent staff very courteous, caring and responsive. good value for money spent, pleasing experience dung stay and food was good, cleanness of room was good. I strongly recommend this property for family. We enjoyed our stay completely.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 638sanjeevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2018

Dear Sanjeev

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and I am delighted that your stay at Southern Sun Newlands was memorable.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Warm Regards
Hannes Human

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2018

Clean adequate rooms with wifi. Dining facility decent if you are wiling to cope with disinterested staff. Restaurant was empty and yet staff could find no reason to come and take orders for meals. Breakfast is better as it is mainly self service buffet. Staff when they eventually come to you are courteous but level of service is poor

The newly opened Park Inn down the road may be a better option

Room tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor as they are not fully serviced by lift and you have to walk up stairs.
Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded January 9, 2018

Dear John

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I do apologise for the subsequent frustrations and inconvenience caused during your time with us. I will most certainly look into the matter and address the poor level of service you received with my team.

Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not received the service that we strive to deliver and I assure you that this is not a norm at Southern Sun Newlands.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town. I really hope that you will allow us to rectify the poor service deliver you received.

Kind regards
Hannes Human

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews