We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCEPTIONAL STAFF”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Southern Sun Newlands
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Reception was welcoming. The check-in clerk was warm an efficient. Concierge was very friendly and went out of their way to make a booking for me for table mountain and very helpful in getting my luggage to my room.

On entering the room we found the bathroom had not been cleaned and there was a huge cockraoch in the room. We called the cleaning lady that was working on that floor but she said this was not her room. Then we called housekeeping and they quickly sorted it out. Apart from this we had a lovely stay at this hotel.
Breakfast was great.

One suggestion I could make is to keep the fish and meat separate.
Jamie at the breakfast was very kind, friendly and just made it memorable.

Concierge Hakiem was very helpful and friendly. Made our stay great.
On checkout Hakiem and Moegamat were just amazing.
Will definately recomend to my friends

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank imraan2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day Imraan,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I do apologise for the subsequent frustrations and inconvenience caused and assure you that this is most certainly not our standard. I sincerely apologise that the room was not according to the standard, I will most certainly look into this.
Thank you for your positive feedback regarding the team members and I will share this feedback with them.

Again, thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards
Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (490)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

7 - 13 of 490 reviews

Reviewed 5 weeks ago

What a best service, warm welcome from the entire staff. Food was great. Reception and Restaurant staff, the best. Food was great. The hotel is nicely situated, close to Cavendish mall, Kirstenbosch gardens, wine farms, etc. Easy to access highway to airport/Cape town CBD

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank n0kulungaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Again, thank you for choosing our hotel for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 via mobile

I stayed at the hotel for two nights, to attend a graduation at the Univ. of Cape Town, during the middle of December.
Check in was particularly efficient, and I was promptly taken to my room. Cape Town is in the depths of a protracted drought, and the complimentary bottled water was appreciated, as was the excellent air conditioning.
The room was spacious, and served my purpose.
The breakfast was very good, with a wide range of hot and cold food. The on site Indian restaurant is also excellent.
Highly recommended, but please save water on your visit to Cape Town.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank zzuber2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands. Thank you for supporting our water saving initiatives.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2018

Great stay..Best service from staff. Always enjoy my stay at this hotel. The staff does their best to make the stay as comfortable as possible. Great food at breakfast and dining. Chef always willing to listen to special orders and make them

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank mjmokobi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Good day,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

We really appreciate your positive feedback and we are delighted that you enjoyed your time at Southern Sun Newlands.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2018

Excellent staff very courteous, caring and responsive. good value for money spent, pleasing experience dung stay and food was good, cleanness of room was good. I strongly recommend this property for family. We enjoyed our stay completely.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 638sanjeevs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Dear Sanjeev

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

Your positive feedback is highly appreciated and I am delighted that your stay at Southern Sun Newlands was memorable.

Thank you for choosing our hotel and please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Warm Regards
Hannes Human

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2018

Clean adequate rooms with wifi. Dining facility decent if you are wiling to cope with disinterested staff. Restaurant was empty and yet staff could find no reason to come and take orders for meals. Breakfast is better as it is mainly self service buffet. Staff when they eventually come to you are courteous but level of service is poor

The newly opened Park Inn down the road may be a better option

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on the first floor as they are not fully serviced by lift and you have to walk up stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2018

Dear John

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I do apologise for the subsequent frustrations and inconvenience caused during your time with us. I will most certainly look into the matter and address the poor level of service you received with my team.

Again, I sincerely apologize that you did not received the service that we strive to deliver and I assure you that this is not a norm at Southern Sun Newlands.

Thank you for choosing Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in Cape Town. I really hope that you will allow us to rectify the poor service deliver you received.

Kind regards
Hannes Human

Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2018

My family and I had a one night stay at the hotel. On arrival the reception staff were courteous and helpful. Both our rooms were comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast was of good quality and staff were polite and friendly. I would definitely visit this hotel again...

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank nirushas2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannes H, Manager at Southern Sun Newlands, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2018

Dear Nirusha,

Thank you so much for your recent visit to Southern Sun Newlands and thank you for your valuable feedback regarding your experience with us.

I am delighted to know that you all enjoyed your time with us, even such a brief stay we are really grateful that you choose Southern Sun Newlands for your stay in the Mother City.

Please do not hesitate to contact us should you travel to Cape Town again?

Kind regards

Hannes Human
Deputy General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Newlands
0.1 km away
Park Inn by Radisson Cape Town Newlands
4.5 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cape Town - Upper Eastside
0.7 km away
Vineyard Hotel
Vineyard Hotel
#2 of 3 in Newlands
1,410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 km away
Garden Court Nelson Mandela Boulevard
9.4 km away
Lagoon Beach Hotel & Spa
7.6 km away
Southern Sun The Cullinan
Southern Sun The Cullinan
#27 of 112 in Cape Town Central
1,830 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southern Sun Newlands? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southern Sun Newlands

Address: 7 Main Road, Newlands 7700, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Cape Town > Newlands
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Newlands
Price Range: $186 - $325 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Southern Sun Newlands 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
For travellers that prefer to be outside the city centre, the Southern Sun Newlands is the perfect choice in Cape Town. Situated in this leafy garden suburb the hotel is close to the city and its many attractions, but quiet enough for a restful night’s sleep. The decor of the hotel is truly African and luxurious and its proximity to both the Newlands cricket and rugby stadiums is a bonus for many visitors. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Southern Sun Newlands reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southern Sun Newlands Cape Town, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing