We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (55)
Filter reviews
55 results
Traveller rating
25
14
6
5
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
25
14
6
5
5
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
28 - 33 of 55 reviews
Reviewed March 16, 2015

I was surprised to find this lovely quiet guesthouse in the middle of Brooklyn, Pretoria. It's close to most things, the mall is 5 minutes away, the motorway is 5-10 minutes away and you can get to the airport in less than 30 minutes. The rooms are nice and big and the staff is very friendly.

  • Stayed: March 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank RFosdal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2015

We got a miserable small room. I don't think I've slept in such a small bed since I was a pre-teen (and that was without my wife)!! The bedding is inadequate - multiple cushions and a musty throw and nowhere to put them. Venetian blinds are old and bent and inadequate to block sunlight, furniture is outdated and mismatched pieces are put together to make up the furnishings. Lousy cupboard space with fixed hangers (who steals hangers?). Table for coffee etc too small to hold all the items. Bathroom is a cubicle in the room - small basin, no kleenex, no shelf on which to place toiletries, oversize soap and shampoo plastic containers and no shelf in shower for them. Only one set of inadequate towels. Asked to fill out pre-order form for breakfast the night before and then there were only 2 other guests for breakfast!! How difficult is it to take fresh orders at breakfast? Offerings of cereal and fruit were meagre. We have the impression that staff are untrained, amateur help. No free Wi-Fi (available to local cell phone subscribers through some complicated dial-up process only). Access to the particularly slow internet in common area - outdated!! They suffer from delusions of adequacy!! There is secure free parking, nice garden and pool area. The house is located across the road from a locally well-know bird sanctuary. Left after one night (had to forfeit second night's prepaid fare) and booked into a hotel for 20% more and got a spacious room with king-size bed, desk and chair, separate bathroom, free Wi-Fi and decent breakfast offering. Well worth the extra money.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neville W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2015

Excellent location to shopping and easy to locate from JNB airport. Clean and homely and the staff were very helpful. Great rooms, quiet, inviting, beautiful gardens, I thoroughly recommend the guest house.



  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank brucem128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 26, 2015

Simply in terms of ambience, the Cranes Nest Guest House is one of the best experiences I have ever had. The room and the large open balcony overlooking a lush garden and pool just blew my mind! I would find any excuse to stay there again! Koos Kombuis

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden!
  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank k00sk0mbuis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 12, 2015

I stayed at Cranes Nest in Boshoff street. it was a very good experience. I visited all the Cranes Nest Guesthouses and this one is defiantly a special place close to my heart. The rooms is neat and the staff will help you when you have a problem.

Room Tip: Bring your bird books. there's a very nice Bird Sanctuary. Austin Robins bird sanctuary.
  • Stayed: December 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank Elizna702
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews