We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Secure and clean, rooms in need for refurbishment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Ranked #24 of 73 Hotels in Pretoria
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Secure and clean, rooms in need for refurbishment”
Reviewed 11 May 2012

The hotel is OK, bit hard to find if you put "holidayInn, Pretoria" into your sat nav. You would be led to two other places where hotels of other brand are located. Hotel itself is clean and quite above HI Express standards I know from UK. There is no gym or pool but common area is good, also rooms are more of US than UK HI Express size. The hotel is attached (there is direct walkaway) to shopping center and parking so if you do not like hotel's restaurant you have more choices handy.

Staff was helpful and nice, the only conflict caused by false information of car park operations was sorted out quickly and efficiently.

Area of "Sunnypark" around the hotel is bit of local nightlife spot, to not say red light district but if you stick to hotel and shopping center you are safe.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Weesky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    65
    45
    12
    3
See reviews for
17
41
14
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Islamabad, Pakistan
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 May 2012 via mobile

I was at this hotel in May 2012. The rooms are ok in size and clean however I was disappointment that there was no cupboard or small fridge (even not on request and that's a bummer if you are staying for long). There is also no gym however the hotel does have a roof top nice size pool. The access to mall was very convenient plus the location if you have work in downtown is quite convenient too. The rates are reasonable which makes the hotel a very good place to stay for a small duration trip.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Imran W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2012

We found the hotel quite easily taking less than an hour from Joburg airport and entered the shopping centre car park that gave direct access to the hotel. The check-in was friendly and efficient and every effort was made to get the three rooms booked as close together as possible. The rooms were not big but comfortable and spotlessly clean and we had great views across Pretoria. The kids liked the pool and we went to the mall for dinner as there were a number of places to eat. We slept well and hotel breakfast was good and check-out very swift and easy. Overall we had a good stay and exactly what we expected, there was security staff in the car park and the direct link to the mall gave us all the options without even going outside

Room Tip: Best views from the 10th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ric399
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nelspruit
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2012

It was my second visit, must say warm welcome at reception, you do not wait too long to be assisted. The rooms are big enough, comfortable and cosy. Not bad for a weekend away accommodation. the convenience to access the mall is wonderful. With many eat out options.
Overall, i must say that all my business and social (friends) visits in PTA, i will definitely use this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank zuluan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Wales, UK
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2012

Check in was efficient and friendly.

The room was on the smallish size. It was clean and functional. The power sockets covered most international plugs, however they and the desk light were loose and came out of their fittings. The a/c was poor.

The breakfast was good and the tables cleared promptly, however it can become a bit overcrowded.

The hotel has a small pool.

Small 30Mb free WiFi allowance, after which it is chargeable. However I did notice after I used the free allowance in the room I could then use the free allowance again in the lobby.
Tip - In most of the HIEx's I've used the renewal time is midnight so you can use the first free allowance in the evening and then again in the morning.

The hotel has direct access to an adjacent shopping center, beyond this there seems little to do or see in the area.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lotse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level 6 Contributor
314 reviews
217 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 198 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2012

South Africa is supposed to be very-very dangerous and criminal. Staying at Sunnypark area was told to be really risky. Well, not at all! we walked a little bit around the hotel, took the taxi to train station, etc.

The hotel itself is a very good example of Holiday Inn Chain. Breakfast, wifi (though only 30 Mb free after that you are to go to ask for a voucher), efficient rooms (take ones facing the pool!), a roof pool. There is the entrance to the mall on the 2 floor where you can buy everything.

I should praise the manager: as platinum member we were allowed for late check-in, at 4 p.m.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank comnen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2012

Good standard size clean rooms. Nice view from the top levels. Breakfast is good, there is no restaurant but there are plenty in the adjacent mall.
Parking available in the mall also (level 6 gives directly onto hotel lobby).

All rooms have a european/uk/us electrical wall socket which is handy. Internet: first 30Mb is free, then you need to pay.

All in all a good hotel just not very centrally located but in a neighbourhood where there is nothing to see or do.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dewisser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
0.8 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
0.7 km away
Hotel 224
Hotel 224
#26 of 73 in Pretoria
104 reviews
0.9 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Pretoria Capital
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 km away
Manhattan Hotel
Manhattan Hotel
#20 of 73 in Pretoria
119 reviews
1.1 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
508 reviews
17.7 km away
Faircity Roodevallei
Faircity Roodevallei
#22 of 73 in Pretoria
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark

Property: Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark
Address: C/O Jeppe and Trevenna | Sunnyside, Pretoria 136, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark 3*
Number of rooms: 302
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The newly built Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is ideally located in the heart of the Capital City of South Africa, Pretoria. Located above the newly renovated cosmopolitan Sunnypark Shopping Centre. The Holiday Inn Express Pretoria Sunnypark is surrounded by embassies, consulates, goverment departments and historical buildings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Pretoria-Sunnypark Hotel Pretoria

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing