We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Without a doubt, the best guesthouse I have ever stayed in. Stay here!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mont D'or Bohemian House
Ranked #4 of 361 Pretoria B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Without a doubt, the best guesthouse I have ever stayed in. Stay here!”
Reviewed 5 August 2011

I am fortunate enough to have stayed in some of the leading hotels and guesthouses all over the world through business trips and holidays. I can say without reservation I have never stayed in a guesthouse that can compare to Behemian House.

The accomodation is outstanding, beautifully appointed and furnished rooms, each with their own character, sumptuous comfortable beds, artwork scttered throughout and an attention to detail and quality second to none.

If that weren't enough to tempt you, the hospitality of Alta, Johan and Chris is as warm as the roaring fire in the winter. Nothing is too much trouble and the friendly, helpful and dedicated staff are also a credit to them. Other than being welcoming, the food is of top class restaurant quality, so much so that you often find yourself reluctant to go out for dinner but instead enjoy the fabulous food, hospitality and wine experience without having to go anywhere. When you go and stay, be sure to ask Alta to make her legendary Chicken Pie. Just taste it, no description can do it justice!

I have stayed there many times, and now consider myself lucky to count Alta, Johan and Chris as friends.

If you're looking for the best quality guesthouse and gastronomic experience you can find anywhere (and I mean anywhere), this is the place for you.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank StuCassie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
Thank you for your ongoing support,we really appreciate your regular stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    159
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
59
11
74
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Luanda, Angola
1 review
Reviewed 29 June 2011

Johan, Alta & Chris never fail to delight and are the perfect hosts. I have been a guest a number of times over the last few years, which included an extented stay whilst on business in Pretoria. The Bohemian is a secure haven in an upmarket area on the outskirts of the city which caters for those who expect high standards when it comes to their comforts. All the rooms are individually themed and set well back from the road which limits traffic noise. Personalised service and attention to detail in eclectic surroundings is at the heart of this successful venture. My company uses the Bohemian as the standard for visiting senior management. The warm and sincere welcome I receive with every visit makes it feel as though I am coming home. My only constructive critisism is that the choice of satellite TV channels is limited. I highly recommend a stay at the Bohemian which is South African hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ian_hendrikse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 10 August 2011
Thank you Ian for your honest review.
We do appreciate your ongoing support.
We are at presently looking at the possibility to have all the channels in all the rooms.
Regards,
Alta Minnaar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yuma
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2010

Normally we would never write complimenting any hotel, since we truly believe that if you want to stay in business you must provide excellent service. Well, the Bohemian House not only exceeded excellence but went over and beyond to make sure that our stay would be one to remember. And that it did!!!! Not only are the host the most amazing people, but their staff is to be commended for their friendliness, smiles and welcoming hearts. If you happen to find this jewel of a Guest house, be sure to look for Issac and Mareli. They will add to your stay. Oh! yes!!! the food is so superb!!! Alta, is such an amazing chef!! This guest house gets not 5 stars but 10. margarita and javier rojas and extended family and friends.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amazedhappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bohemianthebest, Owner at Mont D'or Bohemian House, responded to this review, 2 October 2013
We think a lot about you,we still enjoy the beautiful book on Botero you gave us.
Thank you for being the perfect guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Pretoria hotels
2.3 km away
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
Menlyn Boutique Hotel
#4 of 73 in Pretoria
264 reviews
6.2 km away
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
Sheraton Pretoria Hotel
#11 of 73 in Pretoria
507 reviews
5.2 km away
Illyria House
Illyria House
#10 of 73 in Pretoria
304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.9 km away
Morning Star Express Hotel
2.2 km away
Protea Hotel Fire & Ice by Marriott Pretoria Menlyn
0.4 km away
Castello di Monte
Castello di Monte
#1 of 361 in Pretoria
250 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mont D'or Bohemian House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mont D'or Bohemian House

Property: Mont D'or Bohemian House
Address: 389 Eridanus Street | Waterkloof Ridge, Pretoria 0181, South Africa (Formerly Bohemian House)
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Pretoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 361 B&Bs / Inns in Pretoria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Mont D'or Bohemian House 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Are you looking for accommodation in Pretoria,you have just found the perfect place.There are many guest houses and hotels around the world....and then there is Bohemian House Boutique Hotel. For all your accommodation needs,truly one of a kind! The moment you enter you are stunned by the architecture and detail, the art and the atmosphere. The tranquility is just as perfect for a tired international businessmen as for an excited couple on their honeymoon. All rooms have balconies or doors opening on to the garden. Free Wi Fi available,one day laundry service. Bohemian House,boutique hotel,is owned and managed by the Johan,Alta and Christo Minnaar and we love what we do.This is our passion! Secure,shaded parking.Superb service,scrumptious breakfasts, excellent dining in our romantic dining room with dishes influenced by Mediterranean, Moroccan and South African. Now we have opened the Bird Song Tea Garden where you can enjoy breakfast,light lunches and fresh from the oven cakes and quiches. Fully licensed with the best South African wines. Bordered by both the Norwegian and Austrian Embassy Residences our guests' safety is a priority and premises are protected. We believe life is too short to be just ordinary! Our guests always return! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity.ca, Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mont D'or Bohemian House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing