We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (71)
Filter reviews
71 results
Traveller rating
48
12
3
5
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
48
12
3
5
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews presidential suite the main house upmarket suburb room was clean and comfortable brooklyn mall coffee machine excellent service go the extra mile short stay a great stay thank you so much business trip marshall property poolside accommodation sofa
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 71 reviews
Reviewed August 15, 2018

This was our first night in South-Africa, a stopover before a long drive to the Kruger area.
AM Milner is located in an affluent area of Pretoria (i.e. streets full of mansion fortresses and very few people) so it is safe. The guesthouse is very discreet, no signs and our driver drove past it twice. It used to be an embassy (or ambassador residence) and is therefore not a standard hotel. Boutique luxury guesthouse. Nice grounds before the house but overall the property grounds are too small for any kind of walking or strolling. Staff was friendly and helpful, but are limited in numbers so expect to see the same faces for different roles - not an issue if they are doing a good job. The central area around the pool is nice to see and well maintained and makes for a relaxing area to sit, lounge, swim (not in winter, pool is not heated) relax. We had the 'royal' suite, which I assume used to be the ambassador's suite - huge bed and bedroom, large walk-in closet, huge bathroom with bath and shower, all very nice, style a bit dated but looking fine. Our (adult) kids had a standard suite upstairs which was considerably smaller with especially a disappointingly small bathroom - not a suite but a room. No idea what other rooms they have, so ask and look before committing. No issues as such with the rooms, they offer the expected amenities. The dining room is downstairs, relatively small but quite cosy and clean. The menu is limited but the food was fine, albeit a bit on the expensive side (in hindsight, as this was our first night). Breakfast was fine, not a huge thing, but more than adequate. So overall, this place is recommended for short stays, in a safe and quiet residential environment.

Room tip: The "Royal" Suite is huge and luxurious.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nitti M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlidaB124, Marketing Officer at AM Milner, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear Nitti M,

Thank you for taking the time to write this great review about your stay with us at AM Milner

Your kind words about our staff will be shared with the whole team and they will be delighted that they each played a part in making your stay special.

We look forward to welcoming you both back to AM Milner or to one of our other properties in the not too distant future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 1, 2018

My family and I stayed here at the end of our South African trip. It was a great ending to an excellent trip.

We had the Presidential Suite which had two bedrooms and a living room. The rooms were interconnected via a secure balcony. My daughter's told me they felt like princesses staying in their room.

We love the convenient location for restaurants and shopping. The garden and pool are great, although it was a bit cold to swim.

The staff particularly Marshal was a truly exceptional asset to the hotel.

The restaurant which provided a great breakfast but, we did not use it for dinner, as it is very overpriced and the menu very limited with no child friendly options. We would have loved to be able to use it but it just didnt offer anything.

I highly recommend AM Milner and hope to try some of the other AM Properties also. when we go to South Africa again.

Room tip: You will feel very safe in this hotel.
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mikeinsingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlidaB124, Marketing Officer at AM Milner, responded to this reviewResponded October 10, 2018

Dear mikeinsingapore

Thank you so much for this truly incredible review of AM Milner.

We are so delighted to hear that you had such a memorable time. We have shared your comments with our entire team who were delighted to read them.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to AM Milner in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 20, 2018

I had an overnight stay at AM Milner in July after completing the Blue Train journey and found the accommodation excellent and staff friendly and welcoming. The rooms are modern and spacious with a beautiful pool setting with a great bar at the poolside.The breakfast and dinner was great.
I would highly recommend a stay at the AM Milner especially if you are having an overnight stay and looking for a quiet relaxing setting.

Room tip: Enjoy the relaxing atmosphere
Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank bsoeker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 19, 2018

Overall a good experience - luxury room was clean and comfortable (except for the toilet seat being quite skew!) DSTV bouquet a little limited - I would have liked to be able to listen to Sky News for example. Staff members were polite and efficient.

Date of stay: July 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank alisonbL2614HH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

I would like to thank AM Milner staff for their love and hospitality they have shown and demonstrated to me and my colleagues on the 14 July during our business meeting and interviews. Thank you and keep up the good work.

Date of stay: July 2018
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank rmotlhoioa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews