We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“As expected as any Holiday Inn” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Ranked #19 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“As expected as any Holiday Inn”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2012

Stayed there recently when I attended an exhibition in Johannesburg.

Nice business hotel, Rooms are comfortably big enough for my colleague & myself.

Hotel had the normal 3 pin & 2 pin wall plugs at the study table which I felt was really good so I did not need an adaptor. In-room electronic safe was also provided. Good variety of tv programmes so I could watch TV in my limited free time.

They also had a comfortable lobby which we could sit down and discuss work with our laptops or at the lazy corner where they had ample seating.

Service at the conceirge was very friendly & helpful. They were always ready to answer your questions or get you a taxi.

The hotel also had someone who was standing by the lobby lift (presumably to deter unwanted "guests"). We all know that it could be a little unsafe in South Africa at times, but generally, Sandton is safe.

Did not use the Skye Bar nor the business centre so I cannot comment.

However, i felt that wifi could be provided free in the rooms (being a business hotel) since the rates are quite steep actually.

Breakfast was sumptous but a bit pricy (again).

Had an incident when i was in the shower late at night (about 1am) when the water supply stopped suddenly. I was stranded in the shower for about 15 minutes with soap all over my body. Fortunately the water supply came back on and i quickly finished my bath.

Barring that incident, it was a pleasant stay.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank archenemy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 27 March 2012
Hi there "Archenemy",

We are extremely excited to hear we were able to deliver on the Holiday Inn brand promise and create "great hotels guests love".. Apologies for the inconvenience caused by the sudden loss of water pressure. I can assure you the issue has been addressed accordingly.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

632 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    164
    250
    140
    45
    33
See reviews for
38
84
57
388
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (113)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 March 2012

we used this hotel as a base for exploring sandton and the surrounding area. The rooms were good, comfy beds and well appointed. The Skye bar was great with amazing views, attentive staff and good drinks menu. We got an excellent room rate however breakfast in the hotel was pricey which is often the case in big hotels. Its in walking distance to Nelson Mandela square which has lots of restraurants and bars, the staff at the hotel were happy to recommend things to do in the area and where to eat etc.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joanne s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 25 March 2012
Hi Joanne,

Wonderful comments! Great to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Especially your remarks around the friendly service experienced are much appreciated and I will gladly share these with the rest of the “INN” team.

Hope to see you back soon upon your next trip to beautiful Mzansi..

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa – Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape town
Level Contributor
66 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

A good choice- well located with village walk close by as well as sandton city. Very modern hotel- good sized rooms and a nice bar. Staff can seem a bit lost at times but overall good. Also ideally situated for the gautrain- although when I asked about a free shuttle to the train I was told that a taxi was the only way- which cost R50.

Room Tip: Have a drink in the bar- nice view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deneys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Hi Deneys,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the Holiday Inn Sandton when visiting Johannesburg and for taking the time to share your experiences with your fellow TripAdvisor users.

Give our regards to the beautiful Cape and we look forward welcoming you when back in the Highveld...

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

I stayed in Holiday Inn Sandton for more than three weeks.
The hotel was clean and provide a great level service while I was there.
I stayed in the business room which has a nice big queen bed. the bathroom was cleans and modern.
during my stay, I tired most of the room service menu. The menu was short and with good choice of food. The quality of the food was great and I did not feel bad for not going out for dinner.
The hotel is located in walking distnace from a large GYM which provide all the facilities I was looking for.
Aso walking distance to Mandela Square and shopping mall.

The staff were friendly, helpful and polite.

I could not fault this hotel and I will be goinf back to the same hotel on return to South Africa.
The price was reasonable and it would be good if they provide discount for long stays (greater than two weeks.)

The business lounge was not actually a lounge and did nto provide the same level of services (refreshment and snack) as other hotels I had stayed in. Maybe they will work on this for future.

I highly recommend this hotel.

thank you .
Pedram

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Pedram_fard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 22 March 2012
Hi Pedram,

On behalf of the entire "INN" team, thank you for your positive recommendations! It’s great to hear you have not been able to fault our service levels in the period you were staying with us.

If this would ever be the case, please notify us immediately so we can rectify this. Your comments on the Priority Club lounge are noted and will be discussed internally.

Looking forward to welcoming you back again soon!

At your service,


Hlumisa Saffa - Guest relations manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

This is like no other Holiday Inn in the world. Spotlessly clean, orchids in the lobby and everywhere.Located in a great part of Johannesburg, opposite the Aston Martin dealership, and a short walk to Mandela square.Very attentive staff. Hotel is the favored hotel of international airline crews.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank veracruzz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 13 March 2012
An orchid a day, keeps the doctor away!.. :)

A big thanks for your great comments on behalf of the entire INN team... We can't wait to welcome you back upon your next visit to South Africa..

At your service,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2012

We found the Holiday Inn Sandton to be in a great location for sightseeing and the veiws from the swimming pool area were quite breathtaking. The rooms were very spacious and well appointed and the breakfast excellent. On arrival however we were kept waiting for over 30 minutes whilst our rooms were prepared. As we had arrived three hours after the hotel's check in time we were disappointed that the rooms were not ready for us. The staff were generally very helpful and the price for the accommodation very reasonable. The entrance hall is very impressive

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tony G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 8 March 2012
Glad to hear you enjoyed the sights and sounds of Sandton. And I must admit, the views from the 9th floor pool deck are my favourite as well!

Apologies for the inconvenience caused by not having your room ready on arrival. I will most definitely share these comments with our front office and housekeeping team to further improve our internal processes.

Looking forward to welcoming you back soon!

Warm regards,

Hlumisa Saffa - Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 February 2012

I travel on business throughout the world and am rather discerning when it comes to hotels. Holiday Inn Sandton was a great experience. I arrived jetlagged and early in the morning – they made a room available for me so I could get ready for my day’s meetings. While I was out, they moved my belongs to my proper room. Everywhere I turned, I was greeted with a smiling staff member who was only too happy to genuinely assist me. Now if you are an Olympic swimmer, this is not the place for you as the pool is tiny…and no Jacuzzi (something I really missed). But overall, it was a great stay. I highly recommend the value and experience.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonBoi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Management2010, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road, responded to this review, 26 February 2012
Hi Bostonboi,

Doing business so far away from home must be tiring and demanding on its own, so it’s even more important for us to make sure your stay is relaxing and hassle free. Glad to hear we lived up to the Holiday Inn promise and made your stay a comfortable one, allowing us to support you on concluding a successful business trip.

Hope to see you back soon at the Holiday Inn Sandton!

At your service,

Hlumisa Saffa – Guest Relations Manager
Holiday Inn Sandton
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.2 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
0.6 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.1 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,189 reviews
0.9 km away
Park Inn Sandton
Park Inn Sandton
#27 of 49 in Sandton
3.5 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road

Property: Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Address: 123 Rivonia Road, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#14 Business Hotel in Sandton
#16 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road 4*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Holiday Inn Sandton , Rivonia Road located in the heart of Gauteng's corporate, financial and shopping mecca. This cosmopolitan hotel is in close proximity to OR Tambo International Airport, and 500 metres away from the Sandton Gautrain station. Close to numerous attractions such as the Sandton Convention Centre, Sandton City Shopping Centre and Nelson Mandela Square, Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road provides the ultimate accommodation in Sandton for any business or leisure guest. Our lobby features glittering handmade chandeliers and a 10 metre long fireplace were one can relax and surf the complimentary wireless Internet available to all guests. Within the lobby is our Chairman's bar, the perfect spot to grab a hot cup of coffee and a deliciously fresh pastry before you start your day. Indulge in a full hotel continental breakfast buffet at our Lettuce & Lime Restaurant, or enjoy a delectable meal from our a la carte menu paired with a bottle from our extensive wine list. Our state of the art conferencing facilities and professional service combine to make Holiday Inn Sandton, Rivonia Road one of the most sought conference and meeting venues in Sandton. The hotel also has a 24-hour self-service Business Centre, and 7 meeting rooms which can cater for up to 200 people, including 3 conferencing rooms on the 9th floor surrounded by stunning views of the surrounding area. Our 9th floor is also the location of our famous Skye Bar and swimming pool.Our friendly staff are always welcoming and professional, working around the clock to make your Holiday Inn stay as comfortable and memorable as possible. We pride ourselves in our excellent 24 hour room service menu as well as our amazing travel desk, which offers local attraction tips and sight seeing tours."Stay Appreciated" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Hotel Sandton
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing