We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (688)
Filter reviews
688 results
Traveller rating
410
206
46
15
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
410
206
46
15
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews nelson mandela square shopping mall glass door large mall excellent hotel shower and toilet direct access modern hotel nespresso machine late checkout star hotel the air conditioning breakfast buffet south africa mini bar business trip rooms are spacious
Filter
Updating list...
26 - 31 of 688 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2018 via mobile

We stayed one night before our flight to Australia. Great location and accessible to a mammoth shopping mall. Rooms are very well appointed and beds super comfortable. Breakfast very good. Highly recommend. Great customer service.

Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Dean874
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvHasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2018

Dear Dean874


Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience with us on TripAdvisor.

We appreciate all feedback from our esteemed guests. I am very glad to hear that you found our location to be convenient to all of your needs and that you found are staff to be friendly. Your kind comments will be shared amongst all.

We look forward to welcoming you back with bright smiles to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 7, 2018

In this new economy, there is no currency for mediocrity. DaVinci is my choice property whenever I visit this beautiful city. Staff at all levels are impressive in terms of efficiency, courtesy and hospitality.

Ms Talita Bos is a sweet soul. She offered me an upgrade and allowed me to check in when I arrived slightly after 6 am. That is what I would consider as "Customer Excellence". She doesn't want the hotel to rest on its laurels - genuinely and constantly seeking feedback on how to further improve the service levels at DaVinci. What a highly motivated staff who puts her company before self. Thanks.

If I have to make a choice of which hotel to stay again when I return to Sandton, I would still choose DaVinci in a heartbeat.

Stayed: July 2018
Thank Thomas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvHasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2018

Dear Toorex,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review for us on TripAdvisor. We appreciate all feedback from our guests and it is always nice to hear that our guests’ enjoyed their stay.


Your wonderful comments about our team will be distributed to all and with Talita in particular.

I am very glad to see you enjoyed your stay so much and we look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 4, 2018

I’ve shared before that DaVinci is my Joburg go-to for quick stopovers. This time I researched to see if any new spots warranted a try. For the price and location, I was lured back and not disappointed.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank matthiaspierce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvHasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 4, 2018

Dear Matt P,

Thank you very much for again taking the time to share your experience with on TripAdvisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests and your wonderful comments will definitely be shared with all.

We look forward to welcoming you back with smiles in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 2, 2018 via mobile

We were there one night and oh what a night it was! First, there was no hot water in the morning and we had a 0500 pickup. Then, we ordered breakfast to be delivered and no one picked up our order left on the door well before the 0200 deadline. Lastly, I was assaulted outside the hotel while getting into our hired vehicle while the security guard allowed the vagrant to come between myself and the vehicle. @$500/night, this should never happen....and guess what....we had TWO rooms and the same thing happened in their room too, minus the assault thank God! We are currently working on a refund of some sort but have had no luck since we didn’t book the hotel directly. And the funny thing is, we tried to negotiate a lower rate bc we were not going to eat breakfast and we were forced to pay the rate with breakfast....BUT they gave us NO breakfast!! Amazing

Stayed: June 2018, travelled with friends
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvHasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 6, 2018

Dear Debbie B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to also give us a review on Trip Advisor. We truly appreciate all feedback from our valued guests as it assists us in correcting service shortcomings.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies for the experience that you had with us. I can assure you that all matters brought to our attention are most definitely not the service standard we pride ourselves on. We were made aware of the incident that occurred when you left the hotel when we received feedback from a guest in your party and can only imagine how unpleasant this experience may have been. Our Security Manager has reviewed the camera footage and was able to deduct that the security guard moved in-between both parties to then remove the unknown male off the hotel's premises.

I would also like to apologize for the fact that there was no hot water in your room and that your breakfast was not prepared. You are correct in saying that this is unacceptable and this has been taken up with the relevant management so that corrective action can be taken with the parties involved.

We are unfortunately unable to refund you for any accommodation as your reservation was made through an agency and not directly with us. You can, however take this up with the agency directly as we will also be in contact with them from our side.

I completely understand that nothing I can do or say will change the experience that you had with us. However should there be anything that I can do to change your mind, please do not hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind regards,

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 30, 2018 via mobile

Travelled to SA solo and decided to stay here. Not my usual choice but the service, location, the staff, the suite and the restaurant all delivered above and beyond my expectations. Grace, the lady at the front desk rocks! She was always so professional and a pleasure to deal with.
Highly recommended!!!

Stayed: June 2018, travelled solo
Thank FoodPornStar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AndrewvHasselt, General Manager at DaVinci Hotel and Suites, responded to this reviewResponded July 1, 2018

Dear FoodPornStar,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review for us on TripAdvisor and for sharing your exprience with us.

Your wonderful comments will definitely be shared with all and with Grace in particular. We look forward to welcoming you back to the DAVINCI in the near future.

Kind regards,

Andrew van Hasselt
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews