We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Would come back again.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
One Toman Guest House
Ranked #65 of 81 Sandton B&B and Inns
Reviewed 11 April 2015 via mobile

One Toman guest house is situated in a green leafy upper suburb of Johannesburg in the Hyde park Sandton area. Staff are friendly. The accommodation is clean secure and comfortable with lounge room dining room barbecue area and pool. The stay was pleasant and the rooms typical of a B and B. Breakfast was a standard continental breakfast. There are other extra services such as laundry (added cost). Security is very good although the area of Sandton is like most modern suburbs of Australia within walking distance of the Hyde Park shopping centre (which is large). I am happy to recommend and revisit.

Stayed: March 2015, travelled with family
Thank HappyCampersRUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (17)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 17 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2015

George the assistant was great.
The room I had was filthy. Cobwebs elegantly draped in all corners of the room and bathroom. The carpets were dirty. The walls needed a painting. The breakfasts are oh so poor. The breakfast room is depressing.
Other options for the same amount of $$ provide a far superior experience.
The location is too far from the shopping centre to walk at nights ... You'd want a car.
I travel to Jo'burg quite a lot, and can safely say that I would NOT stay here again.

  • Stayed: January 2015, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank MichaelZZZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2014

We cancelled the stay when arriving at the guesthouse. The room had no airconditioner, and because my wife had to stay at the guesthouse for a the most part of the day, this was not acceptable.
Staff was very helpful and their apology was sincere.
Dirk Coetsee

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 364dirkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

the rooms are elegent
service was good
the breakfast was just ok and can be improved , add ommellete
and saugages
The price was good value for money
i like the size of the Guest house just 5 rooms is private



  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kgabo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

The place looks run down and unkempt.
A good idea and novelty place but the pictures advertising the place definately does not give good representation of how it really look.
They need to invest in the maintanence of the place and the quality.
The location is absolutely perfect but the actual investment from the owners need to improve drastically!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank AnjaRWG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2014

We stayed in One Toman Guest House for 3 nights, enjoyed and loved the place. It is a very good place to stay as it is very clean chiefly the receptionnist (George) whom I would to thank and all the staff were very very helpful and friendly. It is located in a very secured place and I could walk and make jogging until late in the evening without worry. Not far from Hyde Park Shopping Center where you can get EVERY THING. I would like to take this opportunity to make correction in my previous comment where I said that the money was deducted from my card. This was a mistake from some where else as I did too much purchase, and I located the problem when I got my financial institution statement. Sorry for the inconience caused. I will not hesitate for 1 seconde to come back and I will recommen any body to book and stay in One Toman Guest House. Thanks George for every thing.

Room Tip: Room number 5 is the best, it is down stair and have a back door and balcony giving view and way to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2014

A very nice large room with a perfect bed in a nice quiet property with garden and pool. Parking in front of the door; absolute security. Breakfast included.
Good location in the northern part of town.
I will definitely come again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Laurent A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#13 of 47 in Sandton
1,430 reviews
2.9 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
2.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 47 in Sandton
1,013 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 km away
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
Glenalmond Hotel Sandton
#25 of 47 in Sandton
113 reviews
0.2 km away
Silver Oak Luxury Accommodation
2.5 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to One Toman Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about One Toman Guest House

Address: 1 Toman Lane | Hyde Park, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Sandton
Price Range: C$60 - C$75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — One Toman Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your One Toman Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
One Toman Guest House Sandton, Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing