We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Rooms too far from reception but breakfast is fantastic!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Ranked #14 of 49 Hotels in Sandton
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Rooms too far from reception but breakfast is fantastic!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2012

I stayed here for one night on business. My room was right at the back of the hotel and it must have taken me about 10 mintues to walk there from reception while getting lost on the way. When I arrived the room stank of smoke (despite the no-smoking policy) and although I complained the reception desk said that they only had one room available on the other end of the hotel. Being that it was late, I was too tired to move and stayed in room. The breakfast the next morning was possibly one of the best buffet breakfasts I have ever had at a hotel so it made up for everything.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SA_Wanderluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 5 June 2012
Dear ‘SA_Wanderluster’.
Thank you for your time to write on ‘tripadvisor’. Your feedback will be used constructively. You wrote that your room was “at the back of the hotel”; our Hotel is not the typical high-rise, but spread out due to our 2 beautiful gardens. We have 2 sections, the Balalaika, which is closest to the Reception & the Crown Court, which is a bit further. Due to its layout, it is advised to have a Porter assist. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience caused regarding the room smelling of smoke & that we were unable to move you to another room close to yours. As you can understand, it is very frustrating for us, when some Guests do not adhere to the ‘Non-Smoking Legislation’ and smoke inside the room. Especially when there is a non-smoking sign on the door and other signage throughout the Hotel. Please feel free to contact our Guest Relations Manager, Christine (christine@balalaika.co.za), who will gladly ensure that you are alocated a room in the Balalaika Section, when next you would like to stay with us. Your praise about our Breakfast Buffet is much appreciated.
We look forward in welcoming you back.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

929 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    261
    426
    160
    47
    35
See reviews for
120
211
72
393
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2012 via mobile

What a great hotel so I thought it was time to share it with everyone.The rooms are excellent and very clean.The food and service in the Bull run is superb .I recommend the t bone or pork chops excellent.The wine list is great try the house red,and to finish of a glass of port just to finish off a great evening. The staff are very helpful and can't do enough for you. Tess and Christine thanks for making my stay special. I can't wait to return to your excellent hotel. Thank you again for making my stay so enjoyable . See you all again soon. William

Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank William W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear ‘William W’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’. It is wonderful to read that your all round experience (including the Bull Run) has been such a pleasant one. Your kind words about Tessa & Christine are very much appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon. It is always a pleasure to have you stay with us.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Accra
Level Contributor
154 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

This hotel is conveniently located if you are on business in Sandton or you want to go shopping to the Sandton mall.

The reception is a hit and miss - depends who you get, some receptionists are really nice, some don't care and some are stand offish.

Breakfast is great.

Standard rooms are better than suites (in my view) as the desk is spacious and facing TV, bed is comfortable and bathrooms are nice - just as the amenities.

The hotel is also a bit tired and needs some modernization, however, if you are staying a couple of days or so, it doesn't really matter as everything else just works well and the price is a fraction of what the next door hotels might charge you.

Room Tip: Standard rooms are just great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sister-karamazov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear ‘sister-karamazov’.
Thank you for taking the time to write your comments on ‘tripadvisor’. We appreciate your praise and your constructive feedback. We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
131 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

I stayed here 2 times and it is an old hotel in a fine area of Johannesburg city…the service is good and the facilities are also good, the staff is friendly and helpful….you have some restaurants and a small shopping mall nearby.
However, the issue here is the price, as I consider it expensive.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nabilios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 4 June 2012
Dear ‘Nabillos’.
Thank you for writing on ‘tripadvisor’ and fro taking the time to do so. Your kind words are very much appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manger & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mumbai
Level Contributor
148 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2012

Balalaika is a good enough hotel for the price. However, you do feel like you’re in a time warp. Think 70s and 80s. Black ‘n’ White press clippings of a bygone era are proudly hung up in the corridors, harking back to happier times. On the good side, the concierge & bell boys are friendly and warm. The same cannot be said for the reception gang. It seems, not even a million Rand, tax-free, will light them up. But the big question is, why Sandton ? If you’re on a holiday with the family, and looking for a “safe” location why not stay at the more happening Rosebank area ? Sandton is clinical and grim, with one large mall, serving the usual brands. If you plan to spend your holiday enclosed in a mall, so be it. Rosebank too has a mall, but the mix is more bohemian. They also have a great flea market attached, and serviced by the comfy Gautrain.

Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank woody2310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durban, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2012

Situated very close to Sandton Shopping Mall as well as the Gautrain Station. Restaurant at the hotel is excellent. Sevice very good. Rooms are excellent. Can recommend to all visiting Johannesburg.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pikkie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear ‘pikkie1’.
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your positive feedback on ‘tripadvisor’.
Your praise is greatly appreciated. We look forward in welcoming you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2012

We recently got married at the Protea Hotel Balalaika and our day was perfect from the minute it began until the moment we left for our honeymoon the next morning. Having heard that they are mainly viewed as a businessman's hotel, I was at first slightly reticent to have our wedding there, but after meeting with Natalie Irwin, the Banqueting Co-Ordinator, both my husband and I felt that we had uncovered a secret jewel!

Many of the wedding guests stayed over at the hotel for the night of the wedding, and the service we, and they, were given was phenomenal. Nothing was too much to ask, and we were treated like royalty all day and night, which is what you want on your big day.

As for the hotel as a venue: the room was gorgeous, the food was absolutely outstanding, guests are still talking about the grilled prawns, and the suites are absolutely beautiful.

Thank you to all of the staff who dealt with this Bridezilla in such a kind and caring manner, and for making the day the fairytale we dreamt it to be.

Room Tip: Village Manor is a wonderful venue for functions. The Rose buffet menu is the bet value for money a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Anixa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Balalaika_Management, General Manager at Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton, responded to this review, 31 May 2012
Dear ‘Anixa H’.
Thank you for taking the time to write on ‘tripadvisor’.
We are all so pleased that you and your husband had such an awesome experience with us. We feel honoured of having been able to contribute in making your special day even more special and that you will have precious memories…
Your praise is much appreciated and especially your kind words about Natalie.
It would be wonderful to welcome you back again soon.
Kind regards,
Jörg Zwinscher
General Manager & Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.4 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
0.4 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.3 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 km away
Hilton Sandton
Hilton Sandton
#12 of 49 in Sandton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,166 reviews
0.4 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 49 in Sandton
4.5 of 5 bubbles 868 reviews
0.2 km away
Holiday Inn Sandton - Rivonia Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton

Property: Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton
Address: 20 Maude Street | Sandown, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
#11 Business Hotel in Sandton
#12 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton 4*
Number of rooms: 330
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton on Maude Street, in Sandton, is located in Johannesburg's economic heartland. The hotel's charming colonial theme is accentuated with wooden elements and delicate floral accents. Each of the 330 classically-styled rooms make guests feel as though they never left home - with a king-size bed, LCD television, electronic safe and a full en-suite bathroom with a walk-in shower. Business executives are catered to with a desk, office chair and international plug points. Complimentary high-speed Wi-Fi is accessible throughout the hotel and the Wi-Fi station situated in the lobby provides convenience for guests requiring instant access to the internet. The English countryside atmosphere defines this four-star hotel as a little bit of country in the heart of Sandton. Birdsong makes guests forget that they are in a bustling metropolis. The Johannesburg Stock Exchange, Sandton Convention Centre and the city's most exclusive shopping mall are a short stroll away. A complimentary shuttle to and from the Gautrain station makes the Balalaika easily accessible. Whether it is for business or leisure, the central location and warm hospitality of the Protea Hotel Balalaika are unrivalled, making it your first and only choice when staying in Johannesburg. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity.ca and Agoda so you can book your Protea Hotel by Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Protea Hotel Johannesburg
Balalaika Hotel
Protea Hotel Balalaika
Sandton Hotel Balalaika
Protea Hotel By Marriott Johannesburg Balalaika Sandton Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing