We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (724)
Filter reviews
724 results
Traveller rating
360
255
71
29
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
360
255
71
29
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews club floor atrium restaurant nelson mandela square sky bridge corner room nespresso machine convention center room service rooms are large very nice hotel the general manager sandton sun an upgrade sandton area shopping mall easy access business trip
Filter
Updating list...
367 - 372 of 724 reviews
Reviewed October 20, 2014

Super spacious rooms with large bathrooms, separate walk in wardrobe, plenty of living space and ample desk space for the business traveller. Conveniently located right next door to Sandton shopping centre makes this a good base for a business or leisure trip. All the amenities you'd expect with wonderfully friendly staff.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Bevis6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed overall a hassle free stay with us and trust that you experienced the variety of restaurants in the nearby Square. However, I do trust that I will have the pleasure of welcoming you back again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 19, 2014

The Sandton IC totally surpassed my expectations. Starting with the basics - lovely room, very nice bathrtoom, comfortable bed it's just a really good hotel. But here's the kicker... i was in the executive rooms. There's a private dinning area with some free food and free liquer. There's private check in and the staff were extremely nice and helpful. The room also had fruit, water and a bottle of wine. So to me the superior service of the executive rooms and lounge push this into a new category of excellence. The location is also great and the hotel has an elevated walkway to the adjacent mall to allow a safe experience.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank orrdin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 22, 2014

Thank you for your feedback and my staff and I are very pleased that you experienced superior service on the Club Floor and enjoyed the location of the hotel..

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 17, 2014

Stayed here on business. It's perfectly located in the centre of Sandton, close to Sandton city shopping mall and Mandela square. Staff is very friendly (especially the attentive ladies at breakfast). Rooms are well equipped and have a nice designed bathroom with wardrobe, shower and bath.
Very well maintained gym with treadmills where you can choose TV and music channels. Gym overlooks the outside pool which looked very inviting. Complimentary water and wifi in rooms was highly appreciated.
Overall a pleasant hassle-free stay. Only drawback is that there aren't many dining options within the actual hotel. However, restaurants in near proximity are plenty.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark27Ldn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrPDavidson, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded November 1, 2014

Dear Trip Advisor Reviewer,

Thank you for staying with us at Sandton Sun. We pride ourselves in ensuring that our guests are able to complete their business responsibilities with no distractions and where possible our staff to aid you.

Thank you for your positive comments regarding our breakfast service. Our staff will be delighted and will pass on the comments.

We hope to welcome you back to the Sandton Sun in the near future.

Warmest Regards
Peter Davidson
Peter.Davidson@tsogosun.com

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2014

We spent a week at the InterContinental Sandton Towers and had a most enjoyable time - the hotel itself is beautiful in a modern style, and is conveniently located to both the Convention Centre next door and the best shops and restaurants in Nelson Mandela Square (just a few minutes' walk via the Skyway, to which the hotel is linked). We had good adjoining rooms, spacious and clean, with stunning black and white marble bathrooms, and the beds were dreamy. There was a Nespresso coffee maker, in addition to the usual teamaking equipment. From the window the view of Joburg was stunning, sunrise to sunset. Food was great, too, especially the very comprehensive breakfasts, and the staff were friendly and attentive. For business or just a pleasurable holiday, this is a hotel to be recommended.

Room Tip: All the rooms appeared to be blissfully quiet
  • Stayed: September 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you for your review of the hotel. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and received great service and I look forward to welcoming you back again in 2014.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 15, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights and although the location is good the hotel is nothing special.
Booked a club room which is a waste of money in my opinion. The club lounge is located in what looks like a stairway.Can't complain about the lounge service but the small amount of food they had available in the evenings looked very average.
Really good fitness centre for a hotel.
The staff in the restaurant where we had breakfast were average and managed to stuff up orders both mornings.
Flying back to Joberg in a few days and have decided to stay at the Michelangelo hotel just across the street.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lochness06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JosiahSandton, General Manager at InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers, responded to this reviewResponded October 16, 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your stay and we are sorry to hear that you had a less than pleasant time at the hotel. I apologise that the service was inconsistent at breakfast in the restaurant and your orders were incorrect on both days of your stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews