We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (471)
Filter reviews
471 results
Traveller rating
341
83
22
12
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
341
83
22
12
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgrand chateaucourtyard suiteamuse bouchebeautiful hotelbustling cityan oasishour flightlarge bathroommain buildinglong flightsouth africabusiness tripnelson mandela squarejohannesburgsafarifireplacebotswana
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 471 reviews
Reviewed November 9, 2017

This is a beautiful facility more focused on business community coming from outside than hotel guests. Lack of good supervision of staff is frequently evident.Some improvements needed before you can call it 5 star hotel

Room Tip: Rooks (we have rented 4) though large and pretentious lack some basic, practical design to make it truly a wonderful experience. i.e how can you have a separate toilet without any ventilation or window,?? or a bathroom with no door facing the entrance door!!
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank X3239VZjanl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We appreciate your feedback as we always strive to improve our services. We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our Sanctuary in the City.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 7, 2017 via mobile

Fairlawns is a most amazing boutique hotel and spa in the heart of the concrete jungle. Awesome gardens, lovely facilities with sufficient safe parking.
Delicious food and top notch service from friendly staff.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled on business
Thank Chantelle B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 15, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience on Tripadvisor.

Your kind comments about our friendly staff was appreciated and will be shared with the Team. As a five star establishment we pride ourselves in being a leading venue for Corporate and Leisure guests and value your feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back to our Sanctuary in the near future.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 6, 2017

My stay at the hotel was enjoyable, the place is beautyfull, the spa is incredible - treatments are amazing, the food is fresh and well presented. Staff are kind and smily
I will recommend this place to friends and I will come back for a longer stay

Room Tip: i stayed in a suite (nr 015)
  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Christiana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

Your wonderful comments was much appreciated, and will be shared with the team. We are thrilled to know that we have met your expectations, and look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our beautiful Sanctuary in the City.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 4, 2017

I stay at Fairlawns several times a year. It beats other Sandton area hotels hands down. A beautiful, refined establishment with exceptional service and the highest standards. An oasis in Johannesburg

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gks848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your wonderful comments our Oasis was greatly appreciated and will be shared with the Team. Your feedback is of utmost importance to us, as it allows us to recognize and reward excellence and improve our standards where required.

We look forward to the next opportunity to welcome you back.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 1, 2017 via mobile

We decided to spend our 1 year anniversary at Fairlawns as it's local and easy just for the night.

Check in was easy with very helpful staff. Spa was great and really relaxed over 2 hours. Had a few drinks at the champagne bar and would suggest the Moscow Mule.

The rooms are MASSIVE, the bed was very comfortable, bathroom had more than one could wish. Overall just a great experience.

Private dinner arranged for us which got rained out but that didn't dampen the evening. Breakfast was equally good and really enjoyed the experience.

If you want a local getaway without having to worry about a thing then go to Fairlawns. What a great weekend

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Andrew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michael_Kewley1, General Manager at Fairlawns Boutique Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded November 7, 2017

Dear Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

Your kind feedback was appreciated will be shared with the team. As a five star establishment we strive for more and value your feedback as it allows us to reward excellence and improve our standards.

We look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our urban oasis.

Kind Regards

Michael Kewley
Managing Director

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews