We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Book now, pay at stay
US$113
US$103
Hilton
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
US$248
US$152
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 16% below average rates

The price you found is 16% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$182/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Book now, pay at stay
US$192
US$161
Protea Hotels
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 27/07
US$132
US$106
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$287
US$159
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$146
US$114
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Free cancellation until 29/07
US$144
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$111
US$76
HolidayInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 30% below average rates

The price you found is 30% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$93
US$82
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 24% below average rates

The price you found is 24% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$108/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Reviews (1,062)
Filter reviews
1,062 results
Traveller rating
584
321
103
28
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
584
321
103
28
26
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsshopping malldirect accessnelson mandela squaresun decksandton citynespresso machineconvention centertsogo sunexcellent hotelworld classhouse keepingbusiness hotelbusiness tripsouth africaenjoyed my staygautrain stationvinny
Filter
Updating list...
166 - 171 of 1,062 reviews
Reviewed August 9, 2017

Excellent place to stay, extremely clean & tidy, however need more food choices, especially for the REAL Vegetarians (no fish; no meat; no eggs!). Also the staff at the welcome desk did not look or at least show to be really pleased to welcome guests. Other than this, all other staff were very courteous & helpful. Also for somebody attending meeting in the Convention Center, this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 519shripadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the positive feedback of your stay at the Sandton Sun.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

We Stayed at the Sandton Sun originally for one night as had booked a safari and were meant to stay at another "4/5*hotel" in Rosebank for a further 4 nights however, the front desk were so nice and helpful we decided to extend our stay at the Santon sun on our safari return. They not only upgraded us on the first night but we're kind enough to keep our same rooms for our return. The staff were excellent and would like to give special thanks to lesego. Her humour and smile so lovely!!
The rooms were freshly done but to be fair with comments the negatives were the terrible lighting in the room and the poor finish to the bathroom. All clean and brand new but badly fitted. Bath loose and shower tap was hanging. I did ask maintenance to fix the shower and he arrived quickly, pushed the shower back in and it fell out again when he left. Breakfast I thought was well covered for all tastes. Staff needed to ensure the recycled stuff went out looking fresh which was not always the case however, staff were always accommodating and replaced whatever was needed when asked. I would definitely stay again.
I really hope the hotel changes the position of the lobby so that all the concierge staff no longer have to miss out on tips when people leave the hotel to catch the gautrain . Would also like to give Themba our taxi driver a mention. Please ask for him.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank wyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 14, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 4, 2017

Bed was very comfortable. Staff were attentive. Check in was smooth as well as check out. Didnt get a chance to have any meals at the hotel but it looked good. Porters were also very helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Bath was incredible!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 3, 2017

International communities need a warm professional welcome at the reception. The first impression lasts longer so says English. But generally, the standard, service was globally competitive with renowned best hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank demmahnelsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising of your recent stay with us.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 31, 2017 via mobile

I very much enjoyed my two night stay at the Sandton Sun.
It is situated in the centre of the Sandton area with direct access to a huge shopping centre and only minutes away from the train station where the airport express trains stop.
The room was quite big and clean with stylish modern furnitures. The king size bed gave me a great and comfortable sleep. Wifi was well functioning, as was everything else in the hotel and in the room, and everything fulfilled expectations for a five-star-hotel. The staff i interacted with was generally friendly, professional and proactive. I also very much liked the terrace on the 6th floor. The breakfast buffet is good and offers a wide range of tasty food. Unfortunately, some waiters in the restaurant are a bit tip-driven and care noticeably less about you if you don't give any money.
What really made my stay was the great commitment with which the concierge staff assisted me in solving a big problem regarding my onward bookings. That took a lot time and efforts, but the staff did everything possible to make sure that that my problems were finally solved. All hotels around should admire the Sandton Sun for such great staff offering such great service.
If in Johannesburg again, the Sandton Sun would be my first choice and I can, without any doubt, highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Holger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews