We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with great service and professional staff”
Review of Sandton Sun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sandton Sun
Ranked #4 of 46 Hotels in Sandton
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 August 2017

An excellent choice for the business traveler that needs to be in the Sandton area. All the amenities are high quality. Rooms spacious and comfortable. The dining options are fantastic and the quality of the meals excellent. Staff are very friendly and professional.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper floors to enjoy the views
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (902)
There are newer reviews for Sandton Sun
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 32 of 902 reviews

Reviewed 9 August 2017

Excellent place to stay, extremely clean & tidy, however need more food choices, especially for the REAL Vegetarians (no fish; no meat; no eggs!). Also the staff at the welcome desk did not look or at least show to be really pleased to welcome guests. Other than this, all other staff were very courteous & helpful. Also for somebody attending meeting in the Convention Center, this is an ideal place to stay.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank 519shripadb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for the positive feedback of your stay at the Sandton Sun.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017 via mobile

We Stayed at the Sandton Sun originally for one night as had booked a safari and were meant to stay at another "4/5*hotel" in Rosebank for a further 4 nights however, the front desk were so nice and helpful we decided to extend our stay at the Santon sun on our safari return. They not only upgraded us on the first night but we're kind enough to keep our same rooms for our return. The staff were excellent and would like to give special thanks to lesego. Her humour and smile so lovely!!
The rooms were freshly done but to be fair with comments the negatives were the terrible lighting in the room and the poor finish to the bathroom. All clean and brand new but badly fitted. Bath loose and shower tap was hanging. I did ask maintenance to fix the shower and he arrived quickly, pushed the shower back in and it fell out again when he left. Breakfast I thought was well covered for all tastes. Staff needed to ensure the recycled stuff went out looking fresh which was not always the case however, staff were always accommodating and replaced whatever was needed when asked. I would definitely stay again.
I really hope the hotel changes the position of the lobby so that all the concierge staff no longer have to miss out on tips when people leave the hotel to catch the gautrain . Would also like to give Themba our taxi driver a mention. Please ask for him.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
Thank wyle1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 14 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your positive feedback and also for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. I am delighted that you enjoyed your time with us and I hope we have the opportunity to see you on many future occasions.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Warm regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2017

Bed was very comfortable. Staff were attentive. Check in was smooth as well as check out. Didnt get a chance to have any meals at the hotel but it looked good. Porters were also very helpful. Room was clean and spacious. Bath was incredible!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Gill L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun. Your comments are of vital importance to us and we utilise this to continually evaluate and improve on the service we offer.

We hope to have you stay again in the near future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2017

International communities need a warm professional welcome at the reception. The first impression lasts longer so says English. But generally, the standard, service was globally competitive with renowned best hotels.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank demmahnelsond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for your feedback and for advising of your recent stay with us.

Guest feedback is an essential part in ensuring that our clients are provided with the standards of quality and effective customer service that are synonymous with the heritage of the Sandton Sun.

We appreciate your opinion and we look forward to welcoming you back in the not too distant future.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2017 via mobile

I very much enjoyed my two night stay at the Sandton Sun.
It is situated in the centre of the Sandton area with direct access to a huge shopping centre and only minutes away from the train station where the airport express trains stop.
The room was quite big and clean with stylish modern furnitures. The king size bed gave me a great and comfortable sleep. Wifi was well functioning, as was everything else in the hotel and in the room, and everything fulfilled expectations for a five-star-hotel. The staff i interacted with was generally friendly, professional and proactive. I also very much liked the terrace on the 6th floor. The breakfast buffet is good and offers a wide range of tasty food. Unfortunately, some waiters in the restaurant are a bit tip-driven and care noticeably less about you if you don't give any money.
What really made my stay was the great commitment with which the concierge staff assisted me in solving a big problem regarding my onward bookings. That took a lot time and efforts, but the staff did everything possible to make sure that that my problems were finally solved. All hotels around should admire the Sandton Sun for such great staff offering such great service.
If in Johannesburg again, the Sandton Sun would be my first choice and I can, without any doubt, highly recommend it.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Thank Holger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Sandton Sun and for taking the time to share your experience with other travellers on Trip Advisor. Your views are of utmost importance to us and thank you for your positive comments about the hotel.

Thank you again for staying with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sandton Sun in the not too distant future

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2017 via mobile

Once again stayed at the Sandton Sun from a convenience point of view. Our bedroom looked good until we saw the brown ring around the bath. My wife washed the bath herself. The second day we found that the bath had once again not been cleaned but merely wiped out with a used towel. We spoke to the turn down lady and she assured us she would clean the bath. On returning fron dinner it was clear the bath was not cleaned so I had to clean the bath myself.This is not the first but the third visit to this hotel and everytime we had to complain about a dirty bath. Obviously poor supervision and staff with a don't care attitude. Service levels in the dining room continue to be poor with customers being ignored by waiters and a poor breakfast range compared to other five star hotels. Front desk ladies are excellent and apologetic but housekeeping needs to be dusted off. Apologies are unacceptable from management because that's all they do. Sort the staff problem out and wake up with your service.

Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Leon F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RobertJasper, General Manager at Sandton Sun, responded to this reviewResponded 31 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for raising the issues that have occurred during your stay with us. The service you received was certainly not befitting a five star establishment and I truly regret that your experience fell short of any expectations one should have of a five star hotel.

I have taken your feedback to heart and I sincerely appreciate you taking the time to inform us of your stay at the Sandton Sun.

I would therefore like to use this opportunity to offer my sincerest apologies for the inconveniences caused to you.

Please feel free to contact me should you wish to discuss this further.

Best regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Sandton hotels
0.3 km away
Michelangelo Hotel
Michelangelo Hotel
#3 of 46 in Sandton
966 reviews
0.1 km away
InterContinental Johannesburg Sandton Towers
0.2 km away
DaVinci Hotel and Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 km away
Radisson Blu Hotel Sandton, Johannesburg
0.3 km away
Garden Court Sandton City
0.7 km away
Radisson Blu Gautrain Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sandton Sun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sandton Sun

Address: Cnr Fifth & Alice Lane, Sandton 2196, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Gauteng > Greater Johannesburg > Sandton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Sandton
#4 Luxury Hotel in Sandton
#8 Business Hotel in Sandton
#9 Romantic Hotel in Sandton
Price Range: $211 - $372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sandton Sun 5*
Number of rooms: 326
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the heart of Johannesburg's business district and connected to the most luxurious shopping centre in the city, the hotel offers 5-star accommodation and a range of business and leisure facilities to all travellers, including state-of-the-art boardrooms, conference and banquet facilities. The menus at the award-winning restaurants are seasonal and sustainable while the outdoor deck offers breath-taking views of the city. Everything from a sundowner deck to a luxurious spa can be found under one roof, highlighting accessibility and connectivity ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Travelocity.ca, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sandton Sun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sandton Sun Hotel Sandton
Sun Hotel Sandton
Sandton Sun Greater Johannesburg, South Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing