We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Breathtaking Views and Beautiful Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Garvies Surf House

The famous look out deck
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The famous look out deck
Look out deck and pool Bedroom 1
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
6 reviews
The famous look out deck
Look out deck and pool
Bedroom 1
View from bedroom 1
Bedroom 1 private lounge
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2
View from bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Bedroom 4
Indoor patio, doors fold away completely
Dining
Bar
Indoor patio to bar
Kitchen, dining, bar
Kitchen
Lounge
Study
Look out deck
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 6 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Durga1047
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Breathtaking Views and Beautiful Home”
Reviewed July 24, 2018 for a stay in July 2018

The whole house is beautiful and the whole family had a very comfortable time. The owner showed us around the place when when we arrived and gave us many tips about our stay. Waking up to the amazing view and sitting on the patio to watch the waves was amazing. If you wake up early enough, you will even see the spurting of whales, who may even breach the surface (although none breached in our short two night stay). There were two grills, which was awesome to do while watching the beach. This was an amazing stay, and we would love to be back in the future!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Jul 2018
Roopa, thank you so much, we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and we would truly love to have you all back one day! Thank you for being amazing guests and treating our home like it was your home, it was an absolute pleasure to host you. All the best, Esta & Kim
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MarleenG1...
1 review
“Family Holiday”
Reviewed January 6, 2018 for a stay in December 2017

We had the best time ever at the house. It was just perfect for the family. The facilities like the beach towels was very convenient. The cutlery could do with a upgrade, maybe some sharp knives :) Kim was very welcoming and explained all the information over to us clearly. The views from the deck is amazing and being able to hear the ocean in the morning was relaxing. I would recommend this house for any family looking for a great holiday for making awesome memories

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jan 2018
Thank you for your positive review Marleen!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mel9303
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Awesome view”
Reviewed November 16, 2017 for a stay in November 2017

This is a really beautiful house and much more spacious then we expected. The location is great as it's only 30 mins from major Durban attractions, but feels like a small coastal town. The house is a 2 min drive from the beach, unless you feel like walking up an incredibly steep hill after to get home..

The downstairs/garden room is much smaller then the other rooms, but it does provide some privacy from the rest of the house. It has 2 access doors, one to the front of the house and a door that leads onto the garden.

The upstairs bedrooms are spacious with amazing views to 2 of them, the other one looks over the street.

The deck is amazing and was our favourite place to hang out and watch whales and dolphins as they pass by.

This house is really nicely set out with everything you might need including a very friendly and helpful hostess..

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Nov 2017
Shanel and her family were excellent house guests. They arrived at the house on time and kept in contact with me before her arrival. Shanel and her husband were interested in the brief and were open and courteous people to deal with. When they checked out the house was immaculate and everything was left as they had found it upon arrival.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
LeratoM14...
1 review
“The House was so beautiful and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.”
Reviewed August 29, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

The house wasn't far from the places we wanted to go to, which was awesome. There were shops that were a walking distance from the house that we were able to buy food from.

The house was beautiful and the beds were very spacious. My friends were really impressed with the house and didn't even want to leave.

Kim was quite helpful as well. When we needed information on anything, she was very quick to respond to our messages which was really awesome. We genuinely had a great time. The view of the beach was breathtaking, especially in the morning.

Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Sep 2017
Thank you for your positive review.
Lerato and friends were an absolute pleasure to host. I have nothing to add that would help them improve on their next trip, they are great guests and I hope to have more guests like them stay with us in future. Very pleasant to deal with from arrival to departure, they treated the villa as if it was their own home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WendyN160...
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Well equipped house with am amazing view!”
Reviewed May 5, 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We spent 4 nights at this lovely beach house and wish we could have stayed longer!

We loved the open plan feel of the kitchen, bar and outside dining area. The views from the deck.overlooking the sea are amazing.

2 bedrooms upstairs have beautiful sea views and the main bedroom has especially amazing views which you can enjoy from the comfort of a couch in the room. The other bedroom upstairs has a view of the road.

The bedroom downstairs is well equipped but feels a little claustrophobic because the door leading out to the garden can't be opened and there is very little natural light. I think whoever sleeps in that room feels a little cheated!

There were few questions and requests we had which were dealt with immediately by Kim.

A short drive to the beach and close to shops and restaurants I can highly recommend this house!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 May 2017
We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at Garvies Surf House. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Neil D
Cape Town, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
“Awesome beach villa vacation,”
Reviewed August 19, 2016 for a stay in July 2016

What a wonderful villa with the best sea views imaginable. Woke up to amazing sunrise over the ocean to the sound of the waves splashing onto the beach. Watching dolphins surfing along with surfers and the most wonderful beach imaginable.
The whole day is spent relaxing on the sundae I on the deck chairs and swing watching ships, boats, whales and all the activity.
Close enough for a quick walk to the beach, and on a cul de sac very quiet road. House is secure with armed response. Just be careful to not leave food out on the deck, as the local monkeys are very entertaining and will make off with any scraps.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The spaciousness, and the outside deck area with amazing 180 degree sea views right on the doorstep or from the mains bedrooms.
Liked least: The fact that we never stayed longer.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Aug 2016
Dear Neil, Thanks for your great review. We are so glad you had an amazing time with us and love to welcome you back soon!
Garvies SH
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing