We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
96
94
33
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
94
33
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar ushaka marine world communal bathroom britannia hotel south africa laundry service single room feel at home stayed here for one night bunny chow beds were comfortable reception staff late at night nice stay hostel backpackers dorm
Filter
Updating list...
66 - 71 of 252 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2016

The Happy Hippo is easily the greatest hostel I have ever been in. The staff was super friendly and it is near the beach so its convenient. The only thing is that the bar is cash only so you have been warned. Other than that I am extremely satisfied. I intend to come back to visit and stay

Stayed: July 2016, travelled on business
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Nestor R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded November 6, 2016

Hello Nestor R
Wow! What an amazing review! We are blushing! Thank you for for such a great accolade! We cannot wait to host you again!
many kind regards,
The Happy Hippo crew, Michelle & Micky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 5, 2016

Really enjoyed my stay at the Happy Hippo. Brilliant location. Friendly staff. Secure and comfortable accommodation. Secure parking. Bar on location which was great value for money. Accommodation was great value for money, rooms were clean and comfortable. Wonderful atmosphere.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank natashacampbell1507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear natashacampbell1507
Your review is fantastic! Thank you for taking the time out to review us and we hope that we can host you again!
kind regards
Michelle Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2016

The description says, "Born from a passion for travelling", and I guess this description is apt for this backpackers that we stayed in. We spent out last few days in South Africa at Happy Hippo Backpackers, and we were very impressed.

First, the accommodation.- Extremely clean. Brilliant, efficient and very friendly staff. And there was always someone on hand to help out within seconds of us having a problem or needing help. Right from the reception staff, to the cleaning ladies, to the bar staff in the evenings. It is an extremely friendly and outgoing culture adopted at the backpackers, which makes us love establishments like this.

Rooms- we spent three nights in a private ensuite room, and i had no complaints. We spent the last night in a dormitory, and loved the atmosphere and the fellow travellers there too. The bathrooms were clean, and sufficient. We are all backpackers, and no place is flawless. All we look for is a good vibe, a friendly atmosphere, and clean surroundings. This was great. I also loved the personalised touch to every single room, with a nice touch to individuality to every room. We had a problem with the plug point, because our group needed atleast 4 points, and were provided with an extension/multi-plug by the reception staff.

Bar- The rooftop bar was an amazing place to hang out, and we were lucky to be part of a party upstairs where we were all invited, and got to meet great local and foreign travellers. On the second night, however, we did not wish to be part of the party, and the noise levels were rather high. We mentioned this to the bartender, who immediately apologized and lowered the sound levels.

Location- The 'Point' area is an interesting place to be. I would use 'interesting' instead of 'dangerous'. This is Africa, and if you do not have your wits about you, you could get yourself in trouble anywhere. We had no such problems, besides being warned otherwise by locals and more paranoid travellers. The sea, a beautiful beach, and UShaka Marine world is only a 5 min walk away, and for this, i feel the hostel is ideally located.

Atmosphere- There was plenty of SPACE. Which is very important, considering we are accustomed to squeezing between tables, cabinets, people and things at most every backpackers we had visited. This place had enough space to play a tennis match, which is a big plus for us.

Honesty- VERY honest staff. I left my wallet under my pillow in the dorm, and found that it was missing. It was returned to me by the cleaning lady, stating that she found it on the floor under the bed, with EVERYTHING inside it intact. I have not seen this level of professionalism and honesty at any hostel, even in Europe. Kudos to the Happy Hippo Team.

Wi-fi- Super connection speed. No complaints. 2 hour tokens were a slight inconvenience, but can be regularly topped up at reception,unlimited, and had no problem downloading and streaming.

Staff- For a hostel that can hold more than 150 guests, you do not expect personal service. But the owners, Michelle and Mickey ensured every guest was comfortable. We had coffee in the morning twice with the owners, despite their busy schedule. Like i said - "Born out of a passion for travelling", They spent almost a year in a 4x4 driving around the African Continent, and hence know out of experience what travellers want and would need. They also helped us decide on the places we should see and visit around Durban. The most lovely couple, professional, who took personal interest in every guest, and every detail of the hostel, and it reflects on every single member of staff we met.

Overall, a very good hostel, definitely the best vibe out of the 9-10 odd places we stayed while in South Africa over a month and a half. We hope to come back here again someday!

Room Tip: Both rooms and dorms are great. Suggest getting room in case of even number of travellers. Awesome rooms!
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Vlad078
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2016

Dear Vlad078
Wow! What can we say! We are beaming from ear to ear! What a wonderful review! Thank you so much from the bottom of our hearts! We wish you happy travels all the way!
much love,
Michelle and Micky

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016

If you want to sleep, go somewhere else! We stayed here for two nights in a row. Big mistake. First night drunk people kept all the guests up from 1 am till 3 am! Second night they hosted a party in the bar! Some guests actually checked out! Allthough many guests complained, the party kept going! Unbelievable...could be a nice place to stay with better management. Keep away unless you do not care so much about sleeping.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Hi Tina T,
Not much to say really except, even after a full refund you continued to stay with us? Our lodge doesn't shut down at 8,00pm on a saturday night, so please refrain from trolling us.
Thanks,
Michael Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2016 via mobile

We've been regular visitors to the happy hippo over the past number of years. Unfortunately, I am sitting in a room at the moment that is vibrating and music is blaring so loudly from the upstairs bar that there is no possibility of relaxing or later, sleeping. There is an extremely loud party going on upstairs, last time I checked this is an accommodation establishment and not a night club. It is NOT acceptable for such loud music that interrupts paying guests' experiences. I am beyond disappointed, this is a backpackers where families and others stay, I will not be staying here again and I will be contacting you for a refund- if you wish to run an establishment where it is impossible to hear, or sleep please do not advertise that you offer accommodation. We should have bee told when we booked that it would be turned into an extremely noisy club for the night we had booked and we would never have stayed here. After being loyal clients for a number of years, we shall NOT be staying here again.

Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
3  Thank 101volunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DurbanBrooksie, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 31, 2016

Hello 101volunteer,
I find it such a shame that a person can let one bad experience out of many good ones dictate how you review us. Yes you got your refund, you got your say and we wish you well in wherever you choose to stay in the future.
Thank you,
Michael Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews