We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (252)
Filter reviews
252 results
Traveller rating
96
94
33
16
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
96
94
33
16
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop bar ushaka marine world communal bathroom britannia hotel south africa laundry service single room feel at home stayed here for one night bunny chow beds were comfortable reception staff late at night nice stay hostel backpackers dorm
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 252 reviews
Reviewed July 6, 2017 via mobile

Such an amazing backpackers! Great vibe, amazing and helpful staff, and just what we were looking for in a truly modern yet cultural African Backpackers.

We arrived without a booking online, and since they were fully booked, and did not have dorms available, the owner allowed for us to stay in a private room, at the price of a dorm. As they knew everywhere else was fully booked, and we arrived late evening. It's these little things, that make a big difference to travelling.

We enjoyed our three day stay here, were lucky to be part of the Wednesday open mike night, where we had several local artists, and some guests, perform. I feel it's a big step for the backpackers, to give a chance and a stage for local artists to perform, and interact with guests.

The backpackers also hosted a art and craft market one afternoon, which was really interesting, and showcased small local businesses.

Both the owners were very friendly, and we found either of them available on hand to help, or most evenings at the rooftop bar.

Many thanks to the staff. Especially Sma, Dumi, Sli and Zoe, who were so helpful to everyone in our group, with our many questions. And the bar staff, Malusi, and Talent ( the secret rapper). And of course the owners, the energy and soul of the Happy Hippo, Michael and Michelle.

Thank you all for an amazing stay from our group. And we will definitely be here again!

Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Stig A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Dear Stig A
Wow! Super, super awesome to hear such great news about our hostel and staff! We are so grateful that you have chosen our hostel to host your groups! Yah, happy days all round! Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We are truly grateful for such positive feedback!
Looking forward until the time that we do meet again!
Enjoy your travels,
the Happy Hippo crew,
Micky and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 25, 2017

DON'T STAY HERE! The rooms are NOT as advertised or pictured online. We had ratty old sheets and a broken dresser that were damp and mildewy. The WIFI stops working when too many people use it (ie in the evening). They host events (unrelated to the hostel and its guests) and we were kept up very late by loud music. But most importantly it is NOT IN A SAFE NEIGHBOURHOOD. Don't plan on being able to walk from here to downtown safely. The hostel won't advise you of this though, we found out we needed to be cautious from a local we met along our travels.

  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Morgan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jabulile m, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded July 5, 2017

Dear Morgan B
FACT:1. You stayed two nights and never complained to anyone working at Happy Hippo?
2. Happy Hippo Accommodation received the TripAdvisor Recommends 2017
3. A second review by Morgan B ever? We have had our fair share of fake/scam reviews in over 20 years of working in tourism. So will take these reviews with a pinch of salt. We hope TripAdvisor can have a look at this particular reviewer?
4. pictures taken on their check out day?
5. We DO NOT false advertise.
An email has been sent to your friend and we have not received a response in over a week?
My advise to you would be to always communicate your feelings to the establishments that you frequent as you can destroy small business and put all their employees out of work? These are lives that you are playing with by venting without consult? TripAdvisor should not be allowing these so called expert reviewers to have so much power?
regards,
Michelle Brooks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 25, 2017

Happy Hippo is awesome. In terms of communal areas it might be the best hostel that I've ever been to. The massive interior - like an aeroplane hangar - is perfectly designed to get people chatting during the day, and the rooftop bar is pure awesomeness at night. The kitchen was massive, the dorms were comfy and the bathrooms were incredibly clean. Would stay again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank lookwhatwedone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 27, 2017

Hello lookwhatwedone,
We are blushing again! "The best hostel," wow what a statement you have made! We cannot thank you enough! This is why we love doing what we do, especially when we are able to make people HAPPY! Thank you again for taking the time out to write such an amazing review.
Wishing you all the best and wishing you happy adventures,
kind regards,
The Happy Hippo crew,
Micky and Michelle

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 21, 2017 via mobile

Overall, pleased with the facilities offered by the Happy Hippo, as a South African traveling domestically if you're looking a relatively economical place to stay when traveling then I would recommend it. The front of house staff are fantastic.

The only drawback is the loud noise which comes from the rooftop area at night especially when functions are taking place, this could be managing better to ensure that both residents as well as people holding the function are adequately accommodated.

Fresh towels daily as well as a constant supply of hot water (depending on the time of day it is quite erratic) would also be a great value add to anyone staying here.

Centrally located it affords greater oppertunity to explore the Durban point area, especially the new developments taking place.

Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
Thank CalvinM397
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

Dear Calvin M
Thank you so much for taking the time out to review our accommodation. We are thrilled to hear that you had a great experience with our staff!
We have taken steps to adequately accommodate the rooftop functions and our clients who frequent our accommodation. Thank you for your contructive feedback.
We have heatpumps so hot water is a constant. These are regularly serviced too. I am not sure why you would reference to clean towels everyday as this is a self-catering establishment and even though we do provide towels for our en-suite rooms, these are not changed everyday as it is a waste of a precious resourse. Even 6 star hotels promote this.
Our location is unrivelled and as you have pointed out, affords our guests greater opportunity to explore!
Happy travels to our fellow South African!
Michelle and the Hippo crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 21, 2017

I really like Happy Hippo Backpackers. You have a huge hall in the middle of the building with a lot of sofas and other possibilites to sit and eat or simply relax. The rooms are located around the hall. Everything is painted and decorated very colourful, every room has a name that has to do something with South Africa. You can actually see that someone made an effort to create a nice atmosphere.
Most of the time there is not a lot going on there, so it is nice if you prefer to stay in a more quiet and relaxed place. If you like to have a lot of other people around you all the time, you should probably look for something else. But there are other people around though, it's not like you are alone in the hostel.

There is a rooftop bar which I didn't use so I cannot say anything about it.

At night is was really quiet and I could sleep very well. The rooms have fans which you can switch on if it gets too hot. Rooms, bathrooms and kitchen were very clean!
The staff is very friendly.

The hostel is located not far from uShaka Marine World and walking distance to the beach is less than 5 Minutes. You can take Minibusses to the City Center (if they don't stop too often you can get there in about 10 minutes).
There is a petrol station which is still open quite late at night right next to the hostel where you get something to eat and other stuff as well. In about 5 minutes walking distance there is a small shop and if you walk 10-15 minutes there is a KwikSpar (supermarket). If you want to go to a bar or restaurant at night you can go to uShaka Marine World.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BrooksieDurban, Owner at Happy Hippo Accommodation, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2017

Dear Alina W
What a review! Thank you Alvina! You have made our day! It is great hearing such positive comments! I am especially impressed that you can see that we have made an effort with the decorations. This was huge in our planning as we really wanted to show case our dynamic country, South Africa!
Happy travels,
Michelle and the Hippo crew

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews