We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good choice of the hotel*****Coastlands hotel on the ridge***” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Ranked #16 of 41 Hotels in Durban
Rustenburg, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good choice of the hotel*****Coastlands hotel on the ridge***”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 October 2011

I was on my to durban and i didnt know where to stay but my father suggested that i should check in the coastland hotel on the market street,it was fully booked.When i got there they referred me to the coastlands on the ridge,the reception was very helpful to cause were not familiar with durban and we checkin in the Room 404 and Room 417 in september 2011.Damn the rooms were fantanstic with the great view of the CBD and Habour,Ocean,

Room Tip: Always take the ones with the balcony cause you can have nice breakfast and quiet dinner with the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neverland1987
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    64
    73
    30
    27
    11
See reviews for
30
50
9
92
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
51 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2011

The best feature of Coastlands on the Ridge is it's huge balconies on upper floors that give a panoramic view of Durban coastline. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. Internet has one time access fee but no usage limit after that. The hotel is clean and well maintained. The restaurant offers limited fair for international palette. There's no pool. I enjoyed staying over here.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sundeep1211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
auckland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2011

We arrived looking for two rooms as we were very unhappy with our guesthouse. We were welcomed warmly by the receptionist who arranged for us to see two rooms. We had made our minds up as soon as the door was opened!!!
My room 513 at the back of the hotel, quiet no elevator noise etc a spacious room with two single beds pushed together. Good beds, very important to me, with comfortable good quality pillows and bedding. Initially the drain in bathroom smelt but as soon as water was run disappeared. VERY CLEAN down to the decorative pillows on bed.
Plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. It you dont eat biscuits they keep piling up!!! good quality too.
The STAFF are all smiling, friendly and bend over backwards to assist you. The receptionist who first welcomed us to the hotel was lovely she as well as the other staff really make this hotel.
One of my favourite places was the outside patio area where I had my coffee, lovely comfortable sofas. Very good coffee.
One day my friend and I were sitting having coffee outside wrapped up and the directors of the hotel asked us if we were warm enough..............now thats service!!!!!!!!!!!! They have gas heaters which we did not use.
Full Breakfast was included in price R850.
We had a buffet meal in restaurant which we were happy with.
I think most of the guests were business people did not notice any tourists but would highly recommend. Excellent for solo travellers especially women.
Thank you to everyone at Coastlands On The Ridge.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lazybauckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Owner R, Manager at Coastlands Musgrave Hotel, responded to this review, 10 September 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your valued feedback, It gives me great pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel. We take great pride in the work we do and I would like to take the opportunity to thank you for your valued support.

I look forward to welcoming you to the Coastlands Musgrave Hotel once again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2011

Brand new business hotel by a mall north of Durban decorated to a fairly high spec but in very dubious taste. The rooms are quite large.
Seems to be run by an untrained skeleton crew. No wifi in most of the rooms and no cables for the LAN which the staff insist doesn't work anyway. Kitchen closed the night I was there. A rather tired buffet or sandwiches at the bar. A chees and tomato panini was served cold with oven chips.

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Drcarlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Durban hotels

Singapore
Level Contributor
31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 October 2010

Went to Durban on business in August and was given two hotels to choose from by my local colleagues and opted for the Coastlands and must say I did not regret my choice.

The pick up from the airport went well although my flight arrived half an hour early - I also had different experiences with airport pick ups on that trip - and after half an hour or so transfer to the hotel I was greeted friendly by the reception staff. I must say that I was always greeted by name once I came into sight of the receiption throughout the three days of my stay, it made me feel very welcome and special given that I wasn't the only guest and I myslf have a particularly poor memory for names.

The room was clean, normal hotel room size I'd say, but was really special was the huge balcony facing the ocean (as I learnt later, on request of my colleagues I had a 'seaview room') .

One thing I had to stuggle with - also in other hotels in South Africa - was the wifi internet. I guess this was more related to my computer rather to the hotel. Luckily they still have a wall socket to plug in a LAN cable which one can borrow from the reception.

Summarizing I can say I'd choose the Coastlands again should I get to visit Durban again.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank thehamburgian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Durban hotels
3.4 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 41 in Durban
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,320 reviews
3.8 km away
Southern Sun Elangeni & Maharani
3.7 km away
Blue Waters Hotel
Blue Waters Hotel
#13 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 560 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 km away
Protea Hotel by Marriott Durban Edward
6.1 km away
The Waterfront Hotel and Spa
5.2 km away
The Riverside Hotel
The Riverside Hotel
#17 of 41 in Durban
3.5 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Coastlands Musgrave Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Coastlands Musgrave Hotel

Property: Coastlands Musgrave Hotel
Address: 315-319 Peter Mokaba Ridge | Musgrave, Durban 4001, South Africa (Formerly Coastlands on the Ridge)
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Durban
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Durban
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Coastlands Musgrave Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 101
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on Crest of Ridge road with spectacular views over Durban, Coastlands Musgrave Hotel offers 101 modern and comfortable bedrooms. It boasts 58 Standard Rooms, 41 Deluxe Rooms and 2 Suites. This hotel is ideal for the discerning corporate, leisure and international traveler and is situated minutes away from Durban's iconic Moses Mabhida stadium, Greyville Racecourse, Suncoast Casino, uShaka Marine World, Durban Beaches on the Golden Mile and is a mere 35 minutes drive from King Shaka International Airport. Durban University of Technology is 2.5 km from the hotel.Our 6th floor conference and events centre is the ideal venue for your next conference, function or special occasion and we are able to tailor-make a package that suit your needs. We work with suppliers of the highest standard and we are able to assist in any decor or technical requirements.Sip on a cocktail or your favorite drink on our terrace or next to the pool, and enjoy a scrumptious A-la-Carte dinner in our 315 Restaurant. Our Friday evening Spice and Saturday night Seafood Buffet is legendary and offers live entertainment. Room service is available 24 hours a day and our coffee shop serves delectable cakes and desserts.All our bedrooms are equipped with individually controlled air-conditioning, flat-screen televisions with DSTV and tea & coffee making facilities, laundry service and turndown service.Our friendly and professional staff at the Concierge desk is able to assist you in transport arrangements, luggage storage and guests are welcome to make use of our business centre which offers internet, printing and fax facilities. Free wi-fi is available throughout the hotel.Coastlands Musgrave Hotel welcomes you to Durban, and invites you to explore and experience our beautiful province. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Coastlands Musgrave Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Coastlands On The Ridge Hotel Durban

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing