We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$112
US$94
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 20% below average rates

The price you found is 20% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$118/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$72
US$68
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$51
US$41
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$47/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$67
US$60
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$128
US$118
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$134/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$81
US$79
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$130
US$112
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$85
US$79
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$85
US$83
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Reviews (163)
Filter reviews
163 results
Traveller rating
125
35
3
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
35
3
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshome away from homenice breakfastfriendly hostsgreat place to stayclean roomssecure parkingedithleonaccommodationaurcomfortexam
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 163 reviews
Reviewed October 21, 2017

Older property but clean & hosts welcoming. Quite a few stairs to carry cases up & down. Nice breakfast. Awkward driveway to park & move in & out of. We had a lovely view from our room. Safe provided.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gillianb54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to review our property. We enjoyed having you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 21, 2017 via mobile

Two words come to mind DELIGHTFUL/CLASSY!
I'm so glad I found this place. It's been an absolute pleasure staying here. It's clean with beautiful white linen, its tranquil and safe, but what really makes this B&B is the wonderful couple that own it! They are kind, friendly, warm, generous and helpful. I can recommend it from the bottom of my heart. Thank you Edith and Leon!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Yolande M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2017

Thank you so much, we are happy you were comfortable with us, just love having lovely guests stay with here it gives us great pleasure knowing that guests are comfortable at our Guest House.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 11, 2017

Clean rooms , good service , close to the hospital , guiet , comfortable and great owners well done to them and the staff , thank you , what else can I say but you did us proud in trying times

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Collette H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review our establishment, we appreciate it when our geusts are happy with our facilities and service. hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2017

Very friendly hosts, stunning room with stunning views, great food, perfectly situated, will defenately go back there on my next Durban Trip. Quiet rooms with everything you need right at your fingertip. The free Wi-Fi was great as well

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank naasb2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded February 26, 2018

Thank you for taking the time to review out guest house glad you enjoyed your stay, we get a lot of pleasure from guests who appreciate our efforts to make them comfortable and happy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

I book 2 week because i need to write exam ,in Mandela University ,,,was taft be far from my family my husband and child , they all make it easy for me, was a place that you really feel like home , so friendly and cosy , with attention to any detail you may need

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank 259dignas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edith T, Owner at An Upper Room, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2018

thank you for your kind words, we enjoyed having you and making you feel at home especially while writing exams. looking forward to having you back

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews