We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious dinner”
Review of Bombay Blue

Bombay Blue
Ranked #39 of 731 Restaurants in Durban
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: We serve authentic North Indian and Indo-Asian cuisine. Our consistent high standards and friendly owner and staff, ensure the return of many happy customers.
Reviewed April 4, 2018 via mobile

Our friends invited us in this Asian restaurant for dinner and we had the most amazing experience as the food and service wete exceptionally good. Meals and drinks were well priced.

Date of visit: March 2018
Thank bk4276
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bimalkanakia, Owner at Bombay Blue, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to hosting you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (56)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 56 reviews

Reviewed November 25, 2017

We were staying nearby, and not having had an Indian meal since our arrival in South Africa, took the chance to try Butterfly Blue. Despite booking a few hours ahead we were told on arrival that we could only sit outside, which was a bit chilly, but the small restaurant was packed inside.

Our waiter was helpful and we tried a variety of chat as a starter on his recommendation. These were rather underwhelming. My husband's chicken biryani was well cooked with plenty of chicken and at the spiciness level he requested. I ordered the chicken and prawn curry hot, and found that extra spiciness had been added with raw green chili - there were lumps of it floating around! It ruined the dish. The waiter said they had a new chef, so perhaps that is an explanation. I finished with a kulfi that had no flavour at all - it was just like frozen milk.

So a disappointing meal on the whole.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Claranda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 10, 2017

Ordered take aways for our guests staying at a near by hotel in Durban North. And they were very satisifed with the take aways.

Date of visit: November 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lauren_LW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bimalkanakia, Owner at Bombay Blue, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

Thank you for your great review. We look forward to your visit in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 22, 2017 via mobile

Had the paneer dish, and hubby had lamb. Meals were so delicious... portions were sufficient... Just made you want to eat more, even if you were full. Owner was present, and made us feel at home an really comfortable. I'm definitely , without a doubt, returning to Bombay blue...

Date of visit: July 2017
1  Thank stelectrical
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bimalkanakia, Owner at Bombay Blue, responded to this reviewResponded May 25, 2018

A belated thank you for the wonderful review. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 4, 2017

A friend and I tried this place for the first time and I can safely say that it won't be the last!

We ordered masala dosas and masala tea. The dosas were accompanied by 3 dipping sauces, which were great with the meal. I was so impressed with the food that I decided to order something else off the menu. I tried the paneer stuffed naan, which was delicious, spicy and buttery.

The service was good. Our waiter was pleasant and unobtrusive and explained dishes off the menu quite well.

This is a well-hidden gem with amazing food at great prices. Can't wait to go back & try more of their menu.

Date of visit: September 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank LurveGoodFood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Bombay Blue also viewed

 
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
Durban, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to Bombay Blue? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing