We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (285)
Filter reviews
285 results
Traveller rating
125
100
36
14
10
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
125
100
36
14
10
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tree house private ablution bush braai game reserve camping site own bathroom self drive camp sites are comfortable lounge bird photography viewing deck main reception self catering braai facilities peace and quiet breakfast and dinner sand forest
Filter
Updating list...
57 - 62 of 285 reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2018

Absolutely brilliant, we will return again and again. The staff were fantastic and the tree house accommodation was very enjoyable. Close to other activities off site (big 5) and safe for walking and for kids...

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Allensrsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Guest Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 4, 2018

Thank you so much for your comments, I have shared them with all the staff and Directors. We so glad the kids enjoyed themselves and got to experience the nature and beauty of Bonamanzi. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 2, 2018

We decided very last minute to get away with family and friends staff were fantastic from start to finish. Saw some fabulous wild life and enjoyed the break. Well Done Bonamanzi! Definitely recommend it!

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SarahVSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded April 3, 2018

Thank you so much for your kind words, so glad we were able to accommodate you. I trust you are well rested and hope to see you again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 11, 2018

If you are looking for peace and quiet, in a beautiful bush setting, then this is the place to camp. Campsites are well maintained and the ablutions very good. The sites are grouped together in various formations that offer privacy or group settings. Pool is very nice, especially for children. Book campsites 7-10 to be close to the pool. Bird life is amazing with animals wondering freely through the park. Very nice spot for a weekend break.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank belindas731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you Belinda, we look forward to seeing you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018 via mobile

After getting very good recommenations for Bonamanzi after a 3 day stay we came away very dissapointed and well out of pocket. The facilities and sites are very good and clean. I can't comment on the restaurent as although we booked through reception in the morning they forgot to tell the restaurent staff and it was closed when we turned up. A very memorable Valentines dinner turned out to be a braii!! The pool closest to our site was also dirty and unusable. The worst thing about the stay was when the power supply provided burnt out the fuses and charger unit on our trailer. The maintenance manager agreed there was a fault with the system. This resulted in throwing away a large amount of frozen food and eventually a R1300 payment to get the charger repaired. When we complained before leaving we agreed with the camp manager that they would recompence R500 for the wasted food. When this hadn't appeared in our account some 10 days later a phone call eventually got the payment made after authority was obtained from the owner. All in all a very dissapointing and expensive 3 days!!

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank GregG1828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you for your comments, I have shared with our cleaning staff that you felt the facilities and camp sites were good and clean.

We are truly sorry to hear about your electrical issues, I did check with our Maintenance Manager and we were unable to locate any faults along the power line, we did have another camper sharing the same electrical supply who did not experience any issues during their week with us. Our Maintenance Manager did mention he discussed with you that there could be a problem with your charging unit.

I am so sorry you lost so much food and do hope the compensation of just over 50% off your accommodation will assist you with your repairs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 28, 2018

We were exited to spend a weekend away at the 'luxury' camp site but was disappointed in the state of the private scullery and bathrooms. We really expected more...
We paid much more than what you will pay at the best facilities in the country where you can expect manicure lawns and up to standard amenities.

We were not allowed to use our own 4x4 vehicle to explore the park.

The seclusion was fantastic and there is no fencing between us and the big 4 game reserve which made it a unique experience.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rix1604
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BonamanziGR, Public Relations Manager at Bonamanzi Game Reserve, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback, In researching the history of your reservation see you specially requested one of our rustic, private and secluded campsites. These camp sites sit alone in the bush nestled into the natural surroundings of our Sand Forest. I do apologize if there was any confusion between booking our Executive camp sites verses our Secluded camp sites. We did have the Executive sites available during your stay and would have been more than happy to have swopped sites for you.

We are so glad you enjoyed the freedom of having no fences between you and the Big 4, it is just unfortunate we had the long awaited rains during your stay, we were lucky to receive
300 mils within the 4 day period which as you can imagine did reek havoc on the roads and flora preventing vehicles from exploring the reserve.

We do hope you will come back now that the roads have been cleared and the Reserve is lush and full of

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews