We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (60)
Filter reviews
60 results
Traveller rating
27
26
4
1
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
27
26
4
1
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviews value for money friendly hospitality beds were comfortable excellent service stay there again delicious breakfast a lovely stay next morning enjoyed my stay matts rita grant rooms accommodation reception bedding pmb
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 60 reviews
Reviewed January 10, 2018 via mobile

The place need a little upgrading, but ok. Nice beds. The owners are very nice people. Very helpfull. English breakfast.
A nice pizza restaurant close by, and supermarked. Quiet area. Need car to get around.
"......................................................................................

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Karen Platou J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita U, Manager at Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2018

Dear Karen ,

thank you for staying @ Matt's Rest B&B .
we are glad your stay with us was comfortable .

we hope to see you again in the near future....

Warmest of Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed October 30, 2017

It was a great stay with excellent service and friendly staff. The owner is hands on and that was great. The setting is lovely with a pool and braai facilities. The breakfast was awesome and more than enough. Thank you.

Date of stay: October 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank thomasmG7703TQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita U, Owner at Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Dear Guest, Thank you for your stay with us at Matt’s Rest B&B We were pleased to note that you appreciated the Food & Services of our B&B,. we hope to welcome you back again in the near future! Sincerely,
The Matts Rest Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 30, 2017

Matt's Rest was a splendid stay. We chose the 'Weavers nest' room. The room was awesome. Comfy beds, spacious bathroom and wonderful hosts. And the breakfast.... Wow. The food was simply delicious. Can't wait to visit again!

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank FehnaazI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita U, Manager at Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2017

Thank you very much, and we hope you'll choose Matt's Rest B&B the next
time your travels take you to Pietermaritzburg.
With best wishes,
Rita Urquhart / Michelle Govender.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 23, 2017

What a delightful surprise! A quiet suburb. Great staff and hotel quality room, well equipped, tastefully decorated and our own outdoor patio. Shopping centre nearby. Fantastic breakfast served with a smile. I would recommend Matt's Rest any day.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Aca224pvt V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rita U, Owner at Matt's Rest B&B and Self Catering, responded to this reviewResponded September 29, 2017

thank you for the superb Review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 21, 2017 via mobile

I have been lucky enough to have been staying at this gem of a b&b in Pmb. I arrived in early August and stayed for 6 weeks. Through a horrendously difficult time with hubby in hospital. The owners Grant and Rita as well as lodge manager Michelle have made the stay perfectly comfortable and homey. The staff are great and friendly. Nothing is too much trouble and they go out of their way to make the stay suited to YOUR needs.
Breakfast is great set in an intimate setting. The rooms are spacious and wonderfully clean and comfortable. The area is lovely, quiet and safe and most importantly private. The level of friendly hospitality you get is without question 5* at an affordable price. I would recommend Matts Rest unquestionably. Short or long stay dont miss this hidden treasure

Date of stay: September 2017
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Odette L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews