We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
450
285
74
25
18
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
450
285
74
25
18
Show reviews that mention
All reviews gateway mall heated pool walking distance breakfast and dinner tsogo sun breakfast staff excellent hotel the hotel staff clean rooms enjoyed my stay hotel is situated close proximity excellent stay keep up the good work bar fridge comfortable stay breakfast was excellent
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 852 reviews
Reviewed March 13, 2018

The dinner meals were great. Big up to the Chef. Both dinner curries were absolutely great despite my initial reservations that that they might be too hot. I enjoyed them greatly. i will strongly recommend the Hotel to family, friends and colleagues.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank sikhosiphidlamini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Mr Dlamini

Thank you very much for your review of our property after your recent stay, I am pleased to see that enjoyed our curries and had a great stay with us.

Looking forward to see you with us soon again

Kind Regards
Mickey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

A great hotel to stay at with 5 star service at 3 star prices, From check in to clean rooms, to a stunning in room dining experience and a great breakfast spread , my expectations were exceeded. Well done to the team at Garden Court Umhlanga , keep up this brilliance

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank K D S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear K D S

Thank you very much for the great feedback and for taking the time to share this with us, it is always good to hear that we are getting things right and exceeding our guest expectations.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards
Mickey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 10, 2018

ok hotel, a bit far from the beach, but weather did not cooperate anyway. Rooms on a smaller side, but clean. The 2 pools rather small, but my kids liked that the water was warm. Breakfast ok, free parking. more of a business hotel, than leisure.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Viki K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MickeyRau, General Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear Viki K

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property after your recent stay and providing us with valuable feedback.

You are correct we are a quick five minute drive from the beach and located in the heart of the vibrant Umhlanga Ridge area around the corner from Gateway shopping center. Our heated pool are always a big favorite with the kids as well as the sand pit. Tsogo Sun do offer a number of options in the Durban area and for a full beach experience you can make use of The Beverly Hills hotel in Umhlanga, Sun Coast hotel or Southern Sun Elangeni and Maharani.

Please do not hesitate to contact us if we can be of any assistance.

Kind Regards
Mickey

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018

Service received from the reception staff was excellent, rooms were clean and neat .After 6-7 trips in 2017 and staying at your hotel , for the first time I was very disappointed with the breakfast and dinner. Dinner offered was on a Ala cart Menu which only had a Veg Stir Fry for the main course , which did not cater well for vegetarians as compared to your buffet dinner in the pass. The service needs a bit of shaking up as there were only 2 or three waiters and it took about 10 mins before i was approached for a drink and another 20 min before my main course arrived. As compared to your breakfast in the past , the breakfast has lacked the variety of the past. As a regular visitor to your hotel , i will have to reconsider the hotel I use in the future.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Tsogo Sun Hotels
Thank Dharmesh108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Dharmesh108,

Thank you so much for your detailed and insightful assessment which you have posted on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in uMhlanga Rocks. We are extremely grateful for your feedback.

We as team do regret to see that your stay did not go well and that you have raised a variety of issues which have fallen well short of your expectations. We do apologize for this and we assure you of our commitment in objectively evaluating your feedback with the relevant people on a point by point basis. We do assure you that the points which you have raised will receive both the attention and the urgency which they deserve.

I do remain available should you require any further assistance with this at any stage in the future.

Kind Regards.


Lance Dixon.
Garden Court uMhlanga Rocks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 7, 2018 via mobile

On the spur of the moment we decided to spend a night at a hotel near Gateway and chose this venue due to its availability and it being part of the Tsogo Sun group. The service was excellent all around. The rooms were fantastic. We stayed in suites on the fifth floor and it had everything we could need. Breakfast the next morning was mediocre though as there was nothing special about it to distinguish it from other places we stayed in or to other Tsogo Sun hotels.

Date of stay: March 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Z2022FEjaym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
grdncrtmill, Manager at Garden Court Umhlanga, responded to this reviewResponded March 21, 2018

Dear Z2022FEjaym,

Thank you very much for posting your thoughts on the tripadvisor website after your recent stay at the Garden Court in uMhlanga Rocks. We do welcome your feedback and we remain grateful for your custom.

I am happy to see that you did enjoy your time with us and that our hotel was suitable to your requirements.

Please do let me know if I can be of any further assistance to you.

Best Regards.

Lance Dixon.
Garden Court uMhlanga.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews