We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My experience at Sugar Club Restaurant”
Review of The Sugar Club

The Sugar Club
Ranked #10 of 139 Restaurants in Umhlanga Rocks
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$22 - US$30
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sugar Club restaurant in uMhlanga Kwa Zulu Natal, overlooks the sparkling Indian Ocean, is a distinguished and elegant signature restaurant of the Beverly Hills hotel. The Sugar Club is renowned for its consistent culinary excellence and a popular choice for celebrations. The restaurants Wine List is the recipient of the Diners Diamond Award for 2014,2015, 2016. Every meal is a celebration in the Sugar Club and this venue is equally renowned for its decadent desserts that are a fitting end to a truly exceptional dining experience. The professional and intuitive staff ensures that guests enjoy the very best service. The Sugar Club also hosts rare auction wines , Open seven days per week for breakfast and dinner, with a Sunday buffet lunch and a Friday and Saturday afternoon tea buffet The Sugar Club has become dining highlights not to be missed.
Reviewed 30 July 2017

You eat like a king. Breakfast provide a variety of hot and cold food, delicious, tasty and mouth watering. Lunch and Dinner is as good as breakfast.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jdinake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at The Sugar Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed our culinary offering and we look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (245)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

25 - 29 of 245 reviews

Reviewed 27 July 2017

We had the privilege of being able to celebrate my husbands birthday at the Sugar Club! What a truly lovely experience - fine dining at it's best! You feel like royalty - the staff are attentive, efficient and go above and beyond!
We ordered one course that we weren't entirely happy with, but the meal was happily whisked away, the chef came out to apologise and made us something new in it's place (not on the menu)...which left us very satisfied!
The food is wonderful, the atmosphere calm, relaxing and the experience pure delight!

We will be back - again and again!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank mcmillans2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at The Sugar Club, responded to this reviewResponded 17 September 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review.

We are delighted you enjoyed your husbands birthday at The Sugar Club
We will pass your compliments to the team .

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

warm regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2017 via mobile

Classical music VERY heavy and definitely not adding anything to the experience. (And I am a classical music lover)
Expected better value for money.
Some of the food served still half frozen.

Thank cobusb148
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at The Sugar Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write an honest review .We would very much like the opportunity to speak to your personally.
May we please request you send your contact details so that we can make contact with you .Please forward contact details to lorna@platiunumcc.co.za

Kind regards
John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2017

It was truly an awesome experience! Attentive, friendly staff and an excellent spread of savoury and sweet treats made it a memorable occasion. The attention to detail is what makes the difference.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucille_Singh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at The Sugar Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Afternoon tea buffet, particularly the wonderful service and attention to detail.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Sugar Club in the not too distant future

warm regards

John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2017

Sugar Club , I have been to many High Teas but you host the best! The spread of both savoury and sweet treats was delicious, mouthwatering and left one wanting for more.. although ones appetite was already satisfied.:)) . The ambiance was perfect ! The staff were amazing . Thank you for making my mums birthday so special. We will certainly be back.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RRED1408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BEVHILLSUMHLANGA, General Manager at The Sugar Club, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2017

Dear Valued Guest

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are delighted you enjoyed our Afternoon tea buffet, particularly the wonderful spread of savoury and sweet treats

We look forward to welcoming you back to the hotel in the not too distant future

warm regards

John de Canha
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Sugar Club also viewed

Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
Umhlanga Rocks, KwaZulu-Natal
 

Been to The Sugar Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing