We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (377)
Filter reviews
377 results
Traveller rating
152
147
49
18
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
147
49
18
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews dirt road self catering horse riding border post lesotho border log cabin heated pool new england spa treatments beautiful pool lovely resort restaurant staff rock pools scones trout will visit again mini golf
Filter
Updating list...
70 - 75 of 377 reviews
Reviewed April 4, 2018

Bushman's Nek is a great break away to surround yourself in amazing beauty. Go for walks in the Natal nature reserve close by. Use the picnic venue of the hotel - we spent a lovely afternoon playing in the river. Visit Pig and Pony for a meal or horse ride excursion. Their food is amazing!

Room tip: Take all your groceries with you / plan to eat at the hotel or Pig and Pony. The drive to Underberg is not an easy on.
Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank annelienSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek, responded to this reviewResponded April 5, 2018

Dear Annelien,

Thank you for the amazing review,we are so glad you and your family made the best on what we have on offer here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 27, 2018

We had a pleasant stay, but had to drive 20km of bad dirt road in the rain (Apparently we drove the better of the two roads?). For some reason the next day at breakfast it toke 40min to serve a ham and cheese sandwich at the restaurant. The views was great. We only stayed one night, maybe next time if the road was better and dry we could stay longer.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank OckertF3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek, responded to this reviewResponded March 29, 2018

Dear Ockert,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your recent experience with us. The roads can be a challenge in the rain, we work closely with the council in maintaining the road the best way we can. I will be addressing the delay from the restaurant to ensure the correct standards are met.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 19, 2018

To start with the good points. Our room was lovely. It was clean, the cooker worked well and bed was relatively comfortable. The surroundings are absolutely stunning and as photographers we had a ball. The rock pools, especially the hot one, are wonderful. The big lounge with the fire is beautiful (apart from the really dodgy 70s curtains) although there was quite a bit of smoke 'back-drafting' into the lounge. The braai looked great but due to the weather we couldn't use it.

Bad points. When we first checked in, I asked the lady on reception, that if we decided to eat in the restaurant, would it be a problem that we were gluten free. She said no problem at all. When we went to the restaurant, we had to explain several times what exactly gluten free was and they still didn't completely understand. Siyabonga was excellent and really helpful, but the others really didn't understand and this put us off going back. On another occasion, someone offered me samosas, and I said "no, sorry, I'm gluten free". She looked perplexed, so I explained that it was the flour I couldn't eat. So she then said, "Oh but there are vegetarian ones"!!!!! I gave up explaining then.

Also, one of the tables outside was covered in ash, so I asked for a cloth. The guy at the bar said he'd send someone out. After 15 minutes we gave up and went inside.

It does seem that there is a lack of understanding on some simple issues and a lack of staff in others.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ally72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek, responded to this reviewResponded March 22, 2018

Dear Ally,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience with us. Your comments an feedback is highly appreciated and we can imagine what a frustration this can be on your side.

We are busy with training the front of house staff on the special requirements some of our guests might have and what this means. We do believe this will help all guests in future, while enjoying their well deserved holiday with us!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 12, 2018

The scenery here takes your breath away. We saw a sunset over the mountains like never before. The facilities, the pool and gardens are remarkable. We were over the moon with the staff. They were such amazing people, very special. To top it all, the dining was excellent.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank rwrigh601958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek, responded to this reviewResponded March 14, 2018

Dear rwrigh601958,

Thank you for taking the time in sharing your experience with us. We are truly happy that you enjoyed every part of your holiday with us, we do hope to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 8, 2018

Stunning place, beautiful nature. A blessed holiday. Rooms were excellent and clean, as well as the service. The food and programmes were aslo good. We truelly enjoyed our stay. We will definitely come again.

Date of stay: December 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank strydomeliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JohanLabuschagne, General Manager at Bushman's Nek, responded to this reviewResponded March 11, 2018

Dear Elize,

Thank you for your kind review, we are so glad you and the family had such a memorable time with us, till the next time we meet!

Kind Regards,

Johan & the team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews