We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (254)
Filter reviews
255 results
Traveller rating
217
30
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
217
30
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews wine pairing guest house her husband the river enjoyed every moment overlooking the lagoon secure parking attention to detail personal service beautiful house a real treat comfortable rooms south africa rudolph guesthouse balcony hosts
Filter
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 255 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Serendipity offers an exceptional dining experience.

We were warmly welcomed by the owners. The set menu was explained with enthusiasm and passion.

The meal certainly lived up to expectations and was a lovely taste journey. Great service from support staff.

Little pricey for locals but definatley worth it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank D6148JQstephenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Top accommodation with a beautiful environment an can be recommended.. Clean large rooms with beautiful terrace and views of the Serpentine river High level diner and very good breakfast. Possibilities for hiking/walking along the river.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Serendipity is a beautiful home and guest house situated on the lagoon at Wilderness. Hosts Elsabe and Phillip welcome you into their home and provide you with wonderful hospitality and endless knowledge for places to go whilst on your stay. Take one of the kayaks down the river, walk the Kingfisher trail or walk the breathtaking Wilderness beach. The evening offers the opportunity for fine dining of the highest level. With countless awards for excellence and worldwide recognition it is an opportunity for an eating experience to remember. A six course menu with the opportunity to savour superb matching wines. A visit every year is a must on our holiday.
Pat and John Bond

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality and the same, stayed in them all.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patbond2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

At Serendipity we did find our serendipity and left with fond memories.
We were were there for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment.
Lizelle is a chef of note. Together with her husband Rudolph they treated us to most amazing dinners.
Elsabe, the owner, runs the establishment impeccably well and offered us the most fantastic breakfasts.
We do appreciate you making our stay pleasant and memorable. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank francoisregnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

I regularly drive from Cape Town to Bushman's River Mouth, about 125 kms up the South African coast from Port Elizabeth, and recently have found that doing the drive in 1 day has becoming very tiring so we have taken to staying overnight at Serendipity. What a discovery this has been - we have stayed there 4 times now, I think. The welcome is brilliant, the setting [peaceful at the water's edge] is just what is needed after driving and the bedrooms are 5 star. What makes it extra special though is the restaurant, open to guest and others so book, where the unusual dishes and the manner of presentation is out of this world. The people serving at table know their stuff on both wine and food, and the chef is on hand to talk to you. I cannot recommend this place more highly - go there, stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews