We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$128
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 13% below average rates

The price you found is 13% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$106/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Beach Villa Wilderness(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hildesheim Guest House(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$47
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Wilderness on Sea B&B(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$45
US$44
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Xanadu Guest Villa(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Haus am Strand - On the Beach(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$58
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 12% below average rates

The price you found is 12% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$66/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$88
US$83
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
US$77
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$59
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$53
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (246)
Filter reviews
246 results
Traveller rating
208
30
5
3
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
208
30
5
3
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswine pairingguest househer husbanda fine dining experiencethe rivercareful attentionenjoyed every momentone nightoverlooking the lagoonsurrounding natureattention to detaildelightful experiencea fantastic place to staytea coffeepersonal servicelovely roomlovely house
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 246 reviews
Reviewed March 23, 2018 via mobile

Serendipity offers an exceptional dining experience.

We were warmly welcomed by the owners. The set menu was explained with enthusiasm and passion.

The meal certainly lived up to expectations and was a lovely taste journey. Great service from support staff.

Little pricey for locals but definatley worth it.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with friends
1  Thank D6148JQstephenl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 3, 2018

Top accommodation with a beautiful environment an can be recommended.. Clean large rooms with beautiful terrace and views of the Serpentine river High level diner and very good breakfast. Possibilities for hiking/walking along the river.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Martin R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 6, 2018

Serendipity is a beautiful home and guest house situated on the lagoon at Wilderness. Hosts Elsabe and Phillip welcome you into their home and provide you with wonderful hospitality and endless knowledge for places to go whilst on your stay. Take one of the kayaks down the river, walk the Kingfisher trail or walk the breathtaking Wilderness beach. The evening offers the opportunity for fine dining of the highest level. With countless awards for excellence and worldwide recognition it is an opportunity for an eating experience to remember. A six course menu with the opportunity to savour superb matching wines. A visit every year is a must on our holiday.
Pat and John Bond

Room Tip: All rooms are top quality and the same, stayed in them all.
Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank patbond2222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 24, 2018

At Serendipity we did find our serendipity and left with fond memories.
We were were there for 2 nights and enjoyed every moment.
Lizelle is a chef of note. Together with her husband Rudolph they treated us to most amazing dinners.
Elsabe, the owner, runs the establishment impeccably well and offered us the most fantastic breakfasts.
We do appreciate you making our stay pleasant and memorable. Thank you.

Stayed: January 2018
Thank francoisregnard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2018

I regularly drive from Cape Town to Bushman's River Mouth, about 125 kms up the South African coast from Port Elizabeth, and recently have found that doing the drive in 1 day has becoming very tiring so we have taken to staying overnight at Serendipity. What a discovery this has been - we have stayed there 4 times now, I think. The welcome is brilliant, the setting [peaceful at the water's edge] is just what is needed after driving and the bedrooms are 5 star. What makes it extra special though is the restaurant, open to guest and others so book, where the unusual dishes and the manner of presentation is out of this world. The people serving at table know their stuff on both wine and food, and the chef is on hand to talk to you. I cannot recommend this place more highly - go there, stay there.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Simon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews