We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (448)
Filter reviews
448 results
Traveller rating
387
40
15
5
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
387
40
15
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews ocean suite walking distance close to shops self catering fantastic location direct access to the beach honeymoon suite garden route town centre only stayed one night jacuzzi bath local restaurants beautiful beach lovely garden guest house a lovely stay indian ocean
Filter
Updating list...
81 - 86 of 448 reviews
Reviewed September 19, 2016

What you see on the site is what you get and better. We really had a lovely time, you can not get a better view of the beach and sea. How nice can it be to stay there fore ever. We loved it. Thank you.

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank S8317OSteresal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for visiting Haus am Strand and thank you for your kind review,
Maybe we see you again, Rita and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 18, 2016

Just about perfect ... could do with upgrading the DSTV channels very little on offer on those rainy days.Three minutes from restaurants,on the beachposition fantastic views.Lots of walks and trails in the area.
A lot to take in during the 4 days could have stayed longer.Worried about the sound of the motorway did not here a thing due to the noise of the sea ..fantasic

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank U8403MDdavidw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

In South Africa we do not have these many channels. We took the Hotel bouquet, thats what is recommended. I hope to get Netflix or just nice movies somehow. I guess it takes a bit more time to have better entertainment.
PS: I am right now in Germany and here are about 200 channels and more... The choice is amazing. I hope you will visit us again anyhow. Yours Rita and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 15, 2016

the rooms got all seaview and right on the beach. the self catering unit makes it perfect for catering in you own time and relax when ever I feel like.
the owner Rita is the owner and make one feel very relaxed and welcome.
the accomadation is kept clean and are more than I bargained for,
the shop are in walking distance from the accomodation.
there are also a lot of restaurants that is around the corner. The rest of the staff is very friendly and we enjoy staying there.
I can recommend this accomadation to anyone that want to be close to beach and want peace and relaxing on the beach.
will always go back. It feels like home.

Room Tip: all rooms are sea facing
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gretchen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Thank you for your kind review, it just arrived on my birthday. It was a real gift and made my day special. Its so lovely to be appreciated ! Thanks again, yours Rita and Mike

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 12, 2016

My 2nd visit to Rita's lovely piece of paradise - this time a 6-day winter-getaway in the Ocean Suite. What a stunning sea view! The apartment was spacious, bright, luxurious, spotless, and decorated with love. The comfortable beds and the sound of rolling waves ensured the most refreshing sleep. Electric blankets, heater, towel warmer, jacuzzi, a verandah all around the appartment. Direct access to the beach through the garden, as well as to Wilderness' restaurants and shops across the road. Rita is a wonderful host and will ensure you have a perfect stay. Can't wait to visit again!

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NoraMarie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2016

Oh yes, please do come again, I love friendly and happy guests.
Thank you for your kind words and encouragement.
Greetings from Germany, my son got married, thats why I answer so late.
sincerely, Rita

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 27, 2016

This was honestly one of the best accommodations on the Garden Route, Their attention to detail is immaculate. The rooms are less than 10 meters away from the beach and The owners are adorable. Also, you get free coffee at various restaurants you visit in Wilderness when you stay at Haus am Strand. Overall, I would recommend this place to anyone, young and old, romantic or family getaway. Its perfect for you..

Room Tip: The sea cottage is perfect for a romantic getaway.
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ChanelleHaupt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hausamstrand, Inhaber at Haus am Strand - On the Beach, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2016

What a lovely review, thats so sweet of you. Its so lovely and rewarding to receive nice words. I thank you for your kindness and hope you come to us again. Much appreciated, yours, Rita.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews