We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (259)
Filter reviews
259 results
Traveller rating
47
73
47
38
54
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
73
47
38
54
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsouteniqua mountainsgarden routeenjoyed our staybeautiful viewrooms are spaciousgeorgedeckstopovertranquil
Filter
Updating list...
13 - 18 of 259 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

The view from our room was really lovely overlooking the mountains.

Spacious room and bathroom - could do with some upgrading as regards carpet and leak above the shower.

Staff very friendly and pleasant.

The location is perfect for touring around the area.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Judelle D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 27, 2017

Loved the place, sitting right in the lap of nature. The perfect place to refresh yourself and recuperate from the hectic pace of today's life style. Hotel staff is most courteous and helpful.

Would love to go there again and again.

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Sandeep A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 22, 2017

Friendly staff and service was okay. We had chilly weather, but of course that didn't stop the kids from enjoying the pool and outside play area. Beautiful grounds that we walked around between rooms and facilities. Breakfast was kindof okay, not a lot of variety to offer, especially when there were less people staying the first night. Room we had was a small bit cramped, think we noticed this more because we had to stay indoors when it rained.....maybe have a few board games available in the lounge area, Otherwise, place was good!

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank byronn777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 20, 2017

AMAZING VIEWS , but that is where it ends the rest was horrendous - filthy everywhere, bedding, bathroom, tables. When shown to our room we saw the outside of our room door it looked like it had been broken into and the lock mended several times! We entered the room and it smelt of bad foot odour, the room was very dark. We walked to the patio doors to look outside and this was dirty and not very secure, the air condition did not work properly and the wiring was extremely dangerous. The balcony had a glass table which was filthy and there was a partially built wooden frame which looked like something was to be put up, but had not as yet! The view was amazing that is all I can say was good.

We went to go to the bar only to find we could not get out of the room! The door lock was jammed, luckily our friends were next door and heard us so opened it from the outside- we reported this and they did mend within an hour of our arrival. We ordered a drink at the bar and sat on wooden chairs, there was nothing else comfortable - I asked the waiter about sunbeds around the pool, which he didn't remember if they had any! He went to find the manager, who, after about 45 minutes came to speak to us and said he had never been asked about sunbeds in the six months of his working at the hotel and basically there were none! The gardens were very unkempt and the pool was cloudy and green.... not very appealing.
This was not even deserving of a star rating hotel - we left once we found other accommodation-

Room Tip: Unless happy with cheap, dirty bad service - don't go
  • Stayed: February 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank angelahE4710DD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Mr/s Bailey

Thank-you for your review.
We take all reviews, negative and positive very seriously as we strive to maintain the standards of guest service.
Please note, since your visit (September of last year), we have removed all of the standard room types from our system as we no longer use them. These room types were offered to the specials that we were running last year.
Our hotel is now only a 24 deluxe room hotel.

We hope to see you again soon at The Far Hills Hotel, so you will be able to see the changes that we have been doing.

Regards
The Far Hills Country Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 19, 2017

I had to cancel my booking at Far Hills Country Hotel due to unforeseen circumstances. I informed them and the booking agency 18 days prior to arrival. 3 months later I am still waiting for my 50% deposit refund.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Service
1  Thank careyannwhittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
162info, Front Office Manager at Far Hills Country Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2017

Dear Mrs Whittle

Thank-you for your review.
Please note we have only had contact once with the agent you booked through in regards to your refund for your booking in April.

As soon as the agent contacts us again we will be able to pay the amount owing by the hotel back to the agent.

Regards
The Far Hills Hotel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews