We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Wilderness Beach Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$128
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Wilderness Hotel(Wilderness)(Great Value!)
US$68
US$64
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$154
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$52
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Pine Lodge George(George)(Great Value!)
US$56
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
StayWell Hotels(Gaborone)
US$273
US$109
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$79
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$76
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (185)
Filter reviews
185 results
Traveller rating
20
25
37
33
70
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
25
37
33
70
See what travellers are saying:
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
124 - 129 of 185 reviews
Reviewed 23 December 2012

I know this hotel from the days it was the holiday inn and was the grand hotel of this area. Obvoiusly it has aged but the current owners are underway with some big renovations and whilst this is underway things are a bit disorganized. However the levels of service have not been compromised and under the management of Vincent Hocking and his team our stay was most pleasant. I will not hesitate to stay again and look forward to the day when all renovations are completed.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenn R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2012

We were booked here because my husband was on a cricket tour.
The hotel looks nothing like the pictures on the net. I expected it to be comfortable at least but it was shockingly run down and neglected.They are under going renovations but to my surprise they even allowing people to stay at a hotel where the workmen are all over.
Our room was on the ground floor,every time the workmen walked past they peered into the room,also the pool has no safety equipment or lifeguards so its not safe with kids.

The room was dingy,the light didn't work,the curtains had holes,the TV wasn't working when we got there,the tea station had no milk sachets,the pillows were lumpy,the room had a horrible smell and so did the bath room,there was a vodka bottle in the cupboard from previous guests,there are no shelves in the cupboards,the bathroom was so small I had difficulty bathing my kids everyday.

The breakfast was pathetic there was nothing provided for vegetarian/halaal at breakfast or on the room service menu,which was even worse because it had nothing that the kids could eat.

When we booked we were charged R 1375 a night and when we got there it was advertised as R650 bed and breakfast when we left they had changed the name to The Pearl of the Wilderness Hotel and the rate was the R850 bed breakfast,their was absolutely no value for money,I hope their renovation is extensive.

Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
2  Thank Nasmia Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2012

Unfortunately there are no positive things to say about this hotel. Starting from the moment we arrived there, they asked us to pay for our room, although we already paid at our travel agency and we told them about this. Even after we spoke to our agency (which ensured us again that there is a mistake and we should not pay), they did not show common sense and verify their e-mail where they had our reservation and proof of payment. Our first room was horribly untidy: the window was so dirty that you could not see the sun through it. We asked for another one which had the same problem but we were so sick and tired of fighting with them that we gave up and took it. At breakfast: almost no food (and we were not the last), the staff did not care at all, they were just sitting and chattering all the time. We heard a lot of persons as we were there which complained about the services at this hotel. So please do not chose it!

Room Tip: no room! it's a pity because they do have an amazing ocean view but they are so dirty that no one could ever enjoy it.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Oana S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2012

This Hotel does not hold what it promises on their website. The rooms are old, the furniture is at least 30 years old and it smells like cigarette smoke everywhere.

We booked the Hotel online but canceled it when we saw the room. The Management did not refund for the deposit we had to Pay in advance although we did not use the room. So very bad service and not very customer friendly.

The Hotel should not be offered to tourists since it is less than youth hostel standard.

Room Tip: Dont book at all.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Tifund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2012 via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights during Knysna rally along with all the rally teams. I'm not sure where to begin to describe the experience. The hotel is undergoing renovations but that still does not give them any excuse for their incompetence. Firstly; my wife and I booked in at 13:00 (Check-in is at 12:00) and we wanted to take a nap but we couldn't because there was stIll cleanIng equIpment on the bed. We had to walk all the way back to receptIon to ask them to remove It and they sImply saId no It should be clean. They dId not do anythIng. While we were sleeping on of the staff members walked into our room without knocking, placed the remote on the TV and walked out without apologising. The staff left trays from room-service in the hallway for 18 hrs, we had to wait for clean towels and the breakfast was appalling. The room was old with holes in the curtains, cigarette burns on the carpet and it smelled dodgy. The list goes on and on...

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hermias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews