We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Empty hotel with bad breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Wilderness Beach Hotel
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Reviewed 10 August 2017

Upon arrival, our first room's bathroom light didn't work so they gave us a different room which was fine. No wifi in rooms which was unfortunate. The hotel is in definite need or a revamp all around. It doesn't have a professional feeling about it. There were only 2 other people staying in the massive hotel which was eerie. Breakfast wasn't great. The fruit wasn't fresh, the chef had never heard of am omellette, and the bacon didn't taste like bacon at all.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Tristan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for Wilderness Beach Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 8 of 172 reviews

Reviewed 18 June 2017 via mobile

We were there on the dates of fire in Kysna. There was already a lot of panic around. This hotel is located at a great location just next to the sea beach but is pathetic in its maintenance. No WiFi in rooms. Extremely poor and shabby rooms and washrooms. To reach your room with luggage one has to take steps at many places. Would strictly advise not to use this property in till it is renovated.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled with family
Thank Praful G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2017

We stayed at this hotel for two days in the third week of May 2017. One of the key features of this hotel is its great location, right next to the expansive, clean beaches of Wilderness town in the Western Cape region. Nearly 150 wooden steps separate the hotel from the inviting sands of the roaring Indian Ocean below. The beach appeared to be relatively safe.
The hotel itself sits on a relatively huge piece of land, with expansive parking area. Although the lobby is not that great, there are dedicated places for every activity, spacious and well kept restaurants (one attached to a bar and game) prayer room. wifi room, several conference rooms, spa and massage, swimming pool, garden etc.
The room we stayed was reasonably spacious, with two queen size beds (sometimes this can be a nuisance as one of the extra beds occupies a lot of space). The room had a safe, provisions for making coffee/tea etc. No hair dryers are provided. The second door of the room opens into the pool area. The linen was passable.
The floor needed maintenance and the curtains were nothing much to write home about. The lighting inside the room, even with lamps, was sub-optimal.
The bath was a disaster as parts of the wall were peeling and we had to struggle hard with the levers of the tap, with the shower cap missing. Taking a shower was an adventure itself as we never got the right mixture of hot and cold water.
The offerings for the breakfast were frugal, although the staff were receptive and kind. The reception staff too were cooperative and helpful.
On the whole, the location of the hotel makes you forgive the other small infirmities.

Room Tip: Go in for rooms in higher floors, near the ocean end
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank KR V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017 via mobile

Spent this Easter here again. Writing this review spending my 2nd last night here and wish I could stay here another week.
Forget all the horror stories as I have pictures to show. Added advantage was the halaal food available. Room was awesome with sea and pool view.
Very clean n got new towels everyday.
Lots of exciting things to do like tennis, volleyball, kids play areas and an awesome pool overlooking ocean.
Breakfast buffet to die 4.
Restaurant open till 10pm.
Awesome games room with pool, table tennis and kiddies games for the night.there is a filling station only 50m away for your snacks. Very friendly service.
Only drawback no kids channels available.
Hotel right opposite the beach.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank far2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2017

I think the other reviews say it all - this is a dirty, badly managed and broken down hotel that should either be totally revamped or closed down.
The only positive is the views and the proximity to the beach - which by the way is down a fairly badly maintained 150+ steps.
The restaurant makes Faulty Towers look like a 5* establishment and everything is halaal, which, while not being a major issue, isn't mentioned anywhere but I think it should be. The breakfast was something to behold, after waiting 20 minutes for a table and not wanting to harass the poor staff any longer as it was full to way beyond capacity, had us walking to the Waves Cafe at the nearby petrol station every morning.
The warning should have been the having to settle/pay in full before you arrive and see your room, with no refund policy. Paid and booked for 4 rooms for the minimum stay of 5 nights and left long before that - don't get me started on the green pool

Room Tip: Woudl not recommend any of the rooms or the hotel
  • Stayed: December 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank BTB01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017

We arrived late at night , paid and then went to view our room which was a dump , dirty , doors were broken , you have no idea . We then wanted to book out and they would not reverse our credit card payment . There was no form of management on duty . They promised that the next day a refund would take place , that was the 30th of January 2017 . We have had no joy just loads of ducking and diving .

Room Tip: Warning do not stay here !!!!!!!
  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Superswede65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2017 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for part of our honeymoon and found it very pleasant. It was definitely value for money and perfectly situated to what we had planned each day. Clean and spacious rooms and friendly staff.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank CarolSmith16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wilderness
3.5 km away
The Wilderness Hotel
The Wilderness Hotel
#3 of 5 in Wilderness
680 reviews
3.8 km away
Cinnamon Boutique Guest House
14.8 km away
Oakhurst Hotel
Oakhurst Hotel
#8 of 9 in George
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.7 km away
Oubaai Hotel Golf & Spa
0.1 km away
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
Views Boutique Hotel & Spa
#2 of 5 in Wilderness
347 reviews
0.8 km away
Wilderness Beach Resort & Apartments
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Wilderness Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wilderness Beach Hotel

Address: N 2 Wilderness, Wilderness 6560, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Western Cape > Wilderness
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 Hotels in Wilderness
Price Range: $65 - $135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Wilderness Beach Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 149
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Agoda so you can book your Wilderness Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing