We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best cheesecake ever”

Hoekwil Country Cafe
Ranked #1 of 2 Dessert in Wilderness
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$4
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, View
Description: A delightful little coffee shop tucked away on the top of the hill called Hoekwil, near Wilderness. It is a locally hidden gem which most people never find or find by chance. It's only a 5 Minute drive from N2, near Wilderness. It is a mix between a little local convenience store and a Coffee shop cafe. They serve the best voted cheesecake in SA (voted by Eat In). Three delicious flavours to choose from, being Lemon, Belgian chocolate and the best selling Blueberry flavour. The carrot cake is also a local favourite. You should not be disappointed. What is a good cake without a good coffee? They also make great Coffees, cappuccino s, Lattes and Mocha's. Coffee beans are freshly ground. Also a wide selection of teas available including Rooibos cappuccino. On the menu is a selection of breakfasts, Omelettes and toasted sandwiches. Takeaway drinks and food available. Locally produced vegetables, honeys and farm stall type eats also for sale. On cold days there is a cosy fireplace inside. On hot days it's a must to relax on the deck and watch country life go by with great mountain views. Kids are entertained on the swings and see-saw. From here you can visit our local Big Tree (over 800 years old) or take a hike on the many walks available. The old 7 Passes road also runs past, which used to be the main route linking George and Knysna
Reviewed July 1, 2018 via mobile

We heard that they had the best cheesecake and drove out there to check it out. It was true!!! Amazing. The brownie with ice cream was just as great. A must visit!

1  Thank Vernon L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoekwilCountryCafe, General Manager at Hoekwil Country Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Vernon

Thanks for the great feedback. So glad we lived up to our reputation. Hope to see you again in the near future.
Please keep on spreading the word...

Safe travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (192)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 12 of 192 reviews

Reviewed June 25, 2018 via mobile

Hidden in the heart of the quaint village of Hoekwil lies a hidden gem & every Cheesecake lovers dream. The bestest, creamiest, tastiest cheesecake in South Africa, delicious boerie rolls & great coffee. The service was friendly & the atmosphere warm. Definitely a must visit when in the Garden Route !

1  Thank 38ninad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoekwilCountryCafe, Public Relations Manager at Hoekwil Country Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Nina

So glad you enjoyed your visit and savoured our leka eats.
Please spread the word...

Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 21, 2018 via mobile

We just love this coffee shop. The best cheesecake we've ever had! Blueberry and the chocolate is our favourite! You can enjoy a delicious breakfast with a beautiful mountain view and very friendly staff! It is definitely worth a visit!

Thank delmabasil1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoekwilCountryCafe, Manager at Hoekwil Country Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2018

Dear Delma

Sure we will see you more often,

Shalom

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 16, 2018 via mobile

After staying at Dolphin Dunes Hotel which I’ll rate a 10/10, my partner Dino and I had planned to visit this coffee shop in Hoekwil for their cheese cake and wow no disappointment!
Reallg is the best ever especially the blueberry! Richard the owner was friendly and gave us good advise to continue our trip and a map to go view the 500 year old tree which was epic!
Great friendly people, great food, coffee and cake, we genuinely wish we lived in the Wilderness area and it’s something we will strive for!

1  Thank wendyann115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoekwilCountryCafe, General Manager at Hoekwil Country Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Hi Wendy

Thanks for stopping by and enjoying our lovely treats. Hope you found the right tree as its supposed to be over 800 years old :-))

Hope to see you again, Happy travels

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 14, 2018

This little shop truly captures the essence of the area! Beautiful views of the Outenikwa mountains and truly amazing cappuccino and carrot cake! 10 out of 10 in my books! :)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Johan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HoekwilCountryCafe, Director of Sales at Hoekwil Country Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded June 17, 2018

Hi Johan

Thanks for review, trust you had a lovely ride over the mountain pass. See soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hoekwil Country Cafe also viewed

 
Wilderness, Western Cape
Wilderness, Western Cape
 

Been to Hoekwil Country Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing