We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,060)
Filter reviews
1,060 results
Traveller rating
452
253
171
110
74
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
452
253
171
110
74
Show reviews that mention
All reviews coral tree zimbali resort indian restaurant golf course beach club indian ocean south africa world class attention to detail cape town beautiful place long weekend stunning views pools spa swimming concierge
Filter
Updating list...
494 - 499 of 1,060 reviews
Reviewed January 1, 2016 via mobile

We were at Fairmont for a quick midweek break. A few things we found a little upsetting. No extra bed was set up as arranged before we even arrived. And when we requested a baby cot was set up and they had to change again. We found a cockroach in the toilet. The bath had no plug. They gave us a beautiful cake with happy anniversary and they never removed dirty dishes till next morning. Water was not replaced and no clean glasses. The bar fridge was not stocked.
All in all it was not major but you expect all to in order when you book into a 5 star.
All this did not take away from the amazing time we had. No need to leave the resort at all. The food was amazing. Everyone very friendly. The kids buffet was the best I have ever seen, with peanut butter and ham and cheese sandwiches for the kids.
Not once did we feel that we needed to lock up anything. With 4 pools and 6 restaurants you have plenty to choose from. You can use complimentary bicycles to explore. Service around pool area was great. Just overall a really nice experience and will definitely visit again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Zelna P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Zelna P

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us. We are glad that you enjoyed the facilities of our beautiful property. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you were faced with some challenges during your stay. We hope to deliver a more memorable experience to you on your return.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 31, 2015 via mobile

Very good hotel with excellent facilities, I would recommend staying for a few nights. It's About a 20 minute drive from Durban. Very friendly staff with glamorous pools and this hotel is always on top form for the times that I've been there.

I would recommend this hotel for anyone looking for a five star quality hotel!!!

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Matthew_McLean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2016

Dear Matthew_McLean

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort and that we were able to turn your moment with us into a memorable one. Thank you for your feedback regarding our friendly staff. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 30, 2015 via mobile

I have always wanted to visit Zimbali and specifically thought it would be great to stay at this 5-star hotel. My experience however was a big disappointment. Room not great, service very poor and the staff were very noisy early morning whilst on is relaxing.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
6  Thank sizeka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Dear sizeka

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences endured during your stay.

We hope to deliver a more memorable experience to you in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 28, 2015

Wow, wow and another huge WOW! My girls and I have travelled extensively in and out of SA but we have never before experienced the level of service which we recently experienced at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort. From the moment we pulled up in front of the hotel to the moment we left, we were treated as though we were the only people at the resort. Claude, Sandile, Nathaniel, the staff at Ayoba and at Bite, you all are customer excellence personified!

The room was spacious and absolutely gorgeous and whatever we needed was delivered within minutes. All the different pool areas are beautifully maintained and well serviced and we thoroughly enjoyed every area we visited.

The restaurants are all great but my favourites have to be Osa, the food is incredibly delicious and beautifully presented; and also the vibey Ayoba, every item we ordered off the menu was to absolutely to die for and of course let me not even begin to talk about the tempting cocktails!

The beach is beautiful, just a pity it is not a swimming beach though, that would have made Zimbali the absolute ultimate in terms of holiday destinations.

My girls and I will definitely be back not just for the absolute paradise which is Zimbali, but also for the wonderful service!

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Loren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Dear Loren S

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us.

We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort and that we were able to turn your moment with us into a memorable one. We hope to welcome you and your girls back again in the near future and hope to deliver yet another memorable stay with us.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 26, 2015

We rented a house 9 of us including granny. A secure estate with restaurants, swimming pools, private beach ,hiking trails ,golf carts ,18 hole golf course, and hotels bars everything you need for a well balanced holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sebastian H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Resort, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Dear Sebastian H

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely feedback with us. We are pleased to hear that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort and that we were able to turn your moment with us into a memorable one.

We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews