We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Relaxing retreat” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Relaxing retreat”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

We stayed in one of the private villa's facing the beach for our friends wedding and thoroughly enjoyed our 5 days there.
Our villa was beautifully appointed with everything you required. Our maid was both friendly and nurturing - wishing us all to have 'lots of babies' in our future :-)
It was a culture shock having gated communities and security barriers everywhere but we now know that is the SA way of life. Make sure you have a golf cart or car to get around as everything is very spaced out
A nice break away with friends giving you time to chill out with them.

Room Tip: Choose a beach facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kelleequinn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

355 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    136
    93
    76
    30
    20
See reviews for
65
179
12
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (83)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 March 2012

A wonderful location with excellent facilities and relaxing ambience. The staff were superb, the breakfasts to die for and the accommodation a colonial style with an air of luxury. We felt pampered and indulged from start to finish of our 4 day stay.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank johnfurse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbaliLodge, Public Relations Manager at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sir

We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for your wonderful feedback. We hope to you see you again soon!

Kind Regards
The Fairmont Zimbali Lodge Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 March 2012

We just returned from a company conference at Zimbali. I was surprised by some of the negative reviews on this hotel. We were a large group of about 200 and the hotel managed very well. The rooms were well-appointed and spacious. There were buck, monkeys and birds around our garden room. The service was really very good although the food was not a great success. The barmen and waitesses were great. I think the waitress Fay has a successful career in ahead of her in the hospitality industry! There were a few technical glitches. There was a power failure the Internet service did not work consistently but help was always available. The beach just below the hotel was wonderful for walking but not for swimming. Excellent conference venue. Thanks to the management and staff.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Ronel9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knysna, South Africa
Level Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2012

Zimbali is a large luxury estate offering several types of accommodation. The lodge is a colonial-meets-Bali style hotel that stands in what appears to be a tropical rain forest setting. Stepping onto the patio of our room, we were enveloped by the massively impressive jungle-like gardens. A lovely way to enjoy a pre-dinner drink. Surprisingly this all exists on a vast beach-front property, offering the best of both worlds. Our room was beautifully appointed and luxurious, with only minor irritations like poor lighting for make-up and a shower door that opens the wrong way. Other than that we had a delightful experience and wished we could stay longer. We had dinner in the lovely dining room where I had the best chicken curry that I have ever had and where we received exellent service. We thoroughly enjoyed our experience and are planning our next beach holiday there rather than fly to an island. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Nicci R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2012

We stayed at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge for 6 nights. An amazing experience! Beautiful hotel, great staff, complimentary shuttle to all areas in the lodge as well as the Fairmont Zimbali Resort which was also amazing. 4 swimming pools to choose from with great pool bars for cocktails and light lunches. 4 restaurants also to choose from, Ajoba was our favorite!! I hope that we will be able to go back soon. One of the best places we've stayed at in South Africa.

Room Tip: Stay at the Lodge but visit the resort everyday with shuttle. There is no shop to buy everyday thing...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank liezeldj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2012

We'd booked a Forest suite but they didn't have it available so we were downgraded to the Lodge. We were in room 406 which is a ground level room and it had a dead cockroach in the closet, ants in the bed and mold in the shower grout. The common areas are nicer, the beach is public so no chairs/umbrellas or service on the beach. Kids seem to love all the pools (we don't have kids). I wouldn't stay here again and it's really not a "Beach Resort" as you really can't see the beach from the areas closest to the beach. I sent this feedback to Fairmont, they said they'd send the informatoin to the local resort and I never heard back so I guess they have enough business that they don't care.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the ground level as it seems a bit too easy for bugs to get into the room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Longhini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2011

While in a beautiful location. the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge is tired and has seen better days. We could not get shampoo or wash clothes in our room. "Sorry, the hotel is out of them now". The toilet smelled so badly of urine that even PineSol could not get rid of the smell. It is so dark and poorly lit that one cannot see anything at night. Twice in four days our stay was interrupted (once at 9 am on a Sunday morning) trying to sell us time shares - and were indignant we did not want to speak with them.

This organizaiton seems to be pushing the Farimont Zimbali Resort -- their new mega-hotel on the same property and trying to sell condos. I have stayed at other Fairmont hotels, and this is not worthy of their name.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Phoenix R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23.0 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,610 reviews
23.0 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#4 of 18 in Umhlanga Rocks
4.5 of 5 bubbles 937 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 km away
Fairmont Zimbali Resort
1.1 km away
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse
1.4 km away
The Vineyard on Ballito
The Vineyard on Ballito
#2 of 22 in Ballito
5.0 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairmont Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Property: Fairmont Zimbali Lodge
Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairmont Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Fairmont Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel
Zimbali Lodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing