We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
The Vineyard on Ballito(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$112
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$100
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Jaime(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At Dom's B&B(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballito Manor(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (469)
Filter reviews
469 results
Traveller rating
168
127
98
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
168
127
98
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseinfinity poolthe main hoteldark woodgolf buggiesindian oceanhousekeeping staffprivate beachrooms are spaciouscurrieslonger staybeach resortgolf estateshort stayminute drivereception areabreathtaking views
Filter
Updating list...
174 - 179 of 469 reviews
Reviewed September 24, 2015 via mobile

After reading poor reviews before going for our holiday, we were nervous, but we loved it. The Fairmont Lodge is situated in a rain forest. The rooms are well equiped with a lovely bathroom and bath. The staff are very helpful and efficient. Lovely walks, lots of wildlife, even an eagle sitting on nest within a few yards from the restaurant. We would certainly book another holiday with them again.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
Thank ChoirboyMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 13, 2015

From R150/day for wifi, through R35 per room service delivery, and on to R100 cocktails and R350 for a bottle of R50 cheap plonk...at every step Fairmont finds a way to shaft you. It's silly; I can't believe they make much from this compared to their rather high rates, but it has a substantive impact on one's perception of the place. It must be tough to market these room prices, and then have to deal with the real impact of this nickel and dime strategy. Just stupid.

BUT, best breakfast I have ever had in SA, and wonderful staff at breakfast.

Room Tip: Avoid wifi - mobile data WAY cheaper in SA.
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank 11Chris1122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Dear 11Chris1122

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are disappointed to hear that we did not meet your expectations and that you left feeling frustrated by your experience with us. This is certainly not something that we want guests to feel when staying at our beautiful property, and we are sorry for any inconveniences caused during your stay.

Kindly note that complimentary WIFI is made available to all guests that are part of the Fairmont Presidency Club, and sign up is completely free. This great rewards program allows our guests to benefit from a variety of additional services available at all Fairmont properties around the world, including Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort. Please feel free to contact us should you wish to find out more about this service.

We hope that you will be back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 11, 2015

Lovely setting , large , clean room though a little tired. Reception staff very helpful. Now for the downside.
Had to eat in a restaurant 2.5 km away and wait up to 25 minutes for a shuttle to take us there. Staff in restaurant were disinterested almost to the point of rudeness. Stir fry items put in wok with fingers ( no gloves) items missing from the tables and often had to get them ourselves from another table.
Pool staff only showed their faces on the last day of our holiday!
No room service. Definitely not a five star experience.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room or you will be in amongst the lush green jungle. Very dark!
  • Stayed: August 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Medwarecat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2015

Dear Medwarecat

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the lovely setting of our beautiful property, and that you found the Reception staff to be very helpful during your stay,

It is unfortunate that we were not able to meet your expectations and that you felt disappointed by the experience. We would like to sincerely apologise for the cleanliness concerns that you have raised, and we will be sure to address this matter going forward. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you may have endured during this time.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,

Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 6, 2015

Venue great. Service sketchy and usually poor. Rooms great and the setting is fantastic. Hotel staff not providing a 5 star service though. Lack of onsite restaurant huge negative. Reception staff particularly poor. Service around pool non existent. Room staff great.

Stayed: August 2015
Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2015

Dear Michael F

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us regarding your most recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are glad that you found the Lodge to be a great venue located in a fantastic setting. We are disheartened to hear that the standard of service did not live up to expectations and that you felt that this was lacking. Five star service is certainly something that we strive to deliver, and we are sorry that this was not experienced during your stay. We will certainly review this and look to improve on our service delivery going forward.

We hope that you will return to our beautiful property again and allow us the opportunity to offer a more memorable experience in the future.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 1, 2015 via mobile

Great service, beautiful setting, friendly staff......just simply brilliant!!!!
It was a short stay and my first time there with our baby. The lodge staff ensured all amenities we requested were there. The forest walks, heated pool and private beach really clinched it for us. We will definitely return for a longer stay

Stayed: August 2015, travelled with family
1  Thank Rodney S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2015

Dear Rodney S

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with us.

It was an absolute pleasure having you stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and we are so glad to hear that service, setting and staff left a lasting impression on you and your family.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
The Fairmont Zimbali Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews