We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect end of our honeymoon”
Review of Zimbali Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed 18 November 2015

We stayed in the Lodge from 7 - 14 November. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was spectacular. Breakfast in the Thandi Restaurant was fine. Too bad it is closed for lunch and dinner now. We hope that will change in the future. The pool area is great and the infinity pool is just so pretty. Compliments to the staff for their very friendly welcome and service. We would like to express our special thanks to Mervin, the friendly waiter in the Coral Tree Restaurant at the Resort, who made our stay really special and unforgettable with his personal touch and service. We would definitely try to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald_Madelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Dear Ronald_Madelon

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this was the perfect end to your honeymoon. We are delighted that Mervin added to making your stay with us so wonderful, and we will be sure to pass your gratitude on to him.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (441)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

145 - 151 of 441 reviews

Reviewed 18 November 2015 via mobile

All I can say is wow. Thank you so much for this great experience we had. Great staff, they went out of their way to make this few days special. Breakfast was great, one of the staff members even went put of his ways to try and make me an omlet one moring. Everything is neat and the transport makes you feel important. Haha. So thank you Zimbali Lodge for making my honeymoon special.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank antong707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 6 December 2015

Dear antong707

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us.

Firstly, from all of us at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort, we would like to congratulate you and your spouse on your marriage. We wish you all the best for the future.

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff were able to turn your moment with us into a memorable one. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2015

I have stayed at Zimbali before on both business and personal travel. My husband and I were booked in last Friday as I had a work function at a private residence on the estate. Our flight from JHB was delayed by an hour, so we were running very late for the function. On arrival at the lodge the lady who assisted us at reception was very helpful and seemed to understand we were rushing. When we checked into the room for a quick freshen up I found there was no hairdryer, which I asked the lady who had come to do a turndown service to arrange. This was done but added an extra 10 minutes to our delay. I had found a cockroach in the bathroom which I had asked her to dispose of, but this was not done and when we returned to the room it was still there. When we called reception for a golf cart to collect us, we were not told there was a delay and waited another 10 minutes for this to arrive, having to call reception a second time before being told about the delay.

The kitchenette did not have any glasses or cups/mugs for tea or coffee which I found strange as this was supposed to be a self-catering unit. There was also no shampoo, only body wash, which I would not have expected from a 5 star lodge. I raised these concerns with the gentleman at reception the next morning, only to be told he would look into it, but I have heard nothing back. Given that this is an exclusive luxury lodge, I was disappointed with the experience, especially since I have had great service and experience at Zimbali in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichRocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear MichRocke

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback.

We are sad to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry for the inconveniences that were caused due to the delays that you experienced. We apologise that you left feeling disappointed by your stay and hope to improve on the concerns raised going forward.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your review.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2015

We stayed 3 nights at the Lodge.
The room (and this is probably true for the majority of rooms) does not see sunshine at all. The various villas which house the rooms are all situated in a wood which provides deep shadow. This situation together with the fact that the ocean is very close are the reasons why the buildngs have been quite a bit.
Because of the fact that there are quite some distances between the villas and the main building which houses the restaurant guests do rely on the transport provided which is beng done with typical golf electric cars. The drivers of these cars are the most friendly and helpful people in the hotel.
Breakfast s being offered in the Lodge's restaurant, If you want lunch, hightea or dinner you have to choose one of the locations offered bz the sister hotel the Zimbali Lodge. All in all you need a traveling time of 15-20 minutes from your room to the Resort.
Breakfast in the Lodge is not very pleasant. There is not a sufficient selection compared with hotels in the country which are on the same price- level.
Secondly the breakfast food is not really tasty.
Another negative experience was the staff close to the Lodge's pool. Most of the guys working there are defnitely in the wrong job.
All n all we would not recommend the Zimbaly Lodge to friends of ours. We felt like being locked in a prison, we paid a considerable amount of money and did not get value for it.

Room Tip: Whatever room you get, you have a good chance to look into the jungle which seems to cover everythin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank EssenbachBayern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 17 November 2015

Dear EssenbachBayern

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not live up to expectations and that you were unhappy with the experience and service received. We would like to apologise for the service and the quality of the food not being up to standard during your stay. We will certainly look into these concerns and hope to improve on these issues going forward.

Thank you once again for sharing your review with us.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest of Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 October 2015

My room was sea facing,it was clean.The service was fitting of a 5 start establishment.My daughter and wife had a lot of fun.Valet parking,the room service.The facilities.I want to go back.We are even considering buying timeshare so we can enjoy the beauty of the resort.

Room Tip: The views from 31 degrees are spectecular and their signature cocktails are to die for.Its quite a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tebogo167
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 October 2015

Dear Tebogo167

Thank you for your wonderful review of the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort.

We are so pleased that you had a lovely stay with us and that your entire family had a fun-filled getaway.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2015

Following our week on safari at the Lakeside Lodge at Entabeni we traveled to Durban from Johannesburg (45min flight) and transferred to the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge not to be confused with the Resort of the same name.
We were to stay at the lodge for one week .On first impressions a very grand hotel set within a forest some way back from the beach. Our room was in a block of 8 rooms,ours being on the first floor.We were completely surrounded by the forest which for some might have felt a bit claustrophobic especially on the ground floor .
The room itself was very comfortable and roomy with a separate dressing leading to a spacious bathroom. It had a separate shower toilet as well as a bath. The balcony overlooked the forest with the sea just visible.It was kept very clean. In order to get to the beach you had to walk through the forest around a golf course ,around some lakes.,passing two swimming pools onto the beach,watching some wonderful bird life along the way. The beach was a wide expanse of sand but the sea we were told was not safe to swim in due to currents and no shark nets. The swimming pools down at the beach,one at least was heated were very pleasant(only used once due to inclement weather.) The main pool at the hotel was not heated. Used once only.
Regarding meals only breakfast was served at the lodge. Which very good with a good choice of hot as well as cold food.They did provide some salads and sandwiches at lunchtime all in plastic boxes- Yuk. We tried once, never again. As we were on full board all other meals were taken at the Resort which you got to either by walking along the beach which is what we did for lunches or using the provided transport to transfer you to the Resort. Sometimes this took some time to arrive. The restaurants at the Resort were the Ayoba (mexican) or the Bite (Salads ,panini's etc.) The meals at the Ayoba were excellent. At dinner time the meals buffet style were taken at the Coral Tree restaurant . This provided a good range of salads and mains with curry's, Stir fry's and pasta as the norm but this become a bit monotonousness after a while. As we were on full board drinks were not included however we were allocated two glasses of wine at dinner time. Not sure if this was the hotel's or Saga's concession. At lunch time we bought our own drinks with wine & beer being very reasonable compared to UK prices.
When we booked this holiday all the meals would be taken at the Lodge but for some reason the restaurants at the lodge were closed in April this year .We were told of this change before traveling so we were a bit concerned. However it all worked out quite well although the transfer back and forth to the Resort was inconvenient and somewhat a waste of time.
Overall a great holiday with thanks going to all of the staff who were always very pleasant.

Room Tip: The rooms were either ground or first. Best on the first floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Brian9962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 13 October 2015

Dear Brian9962

Thank you for sharing your detailed review with the TripAdvisor community. We value your feedback.

We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that you were able to make use of all the facilities within the Zimbali Coastal Estate. Kindly note that your concerns are currently being reviewed regarding SAGA bookings. We hope to deliver more memorable experiences to guests going forward.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2015 via mobile

If you want to spoil yourselve, go here! The rooms are huge and very clean and luxurious! The kingsize bed is really big and comfortable. There are a bath tub, seperate shower and seperate toilet in the bath room. The balcony offers a great view over the surroundings. And the infinity pool is spectaculair.

Staff is extremely attentive and helpful. They do everything to make you feel at home.

Breakfast is served at the lodge and for dinner, they drive you to the resort, 3 kms from the lodge.
You can choose between 2 restaurants and we picked the buffet restaurant. They offer not just a buffet. You don't know what to choose, because everything looks and smells so nice, you want to eat it all! There are different cuisines e.g. Italian, South African, Indian on the menu and they prepare the best cakes and desserts.

Stayed: October 2015, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AvW12345
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2015

Dear AvW12345

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

We are so pleased that you had a wonderful stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and that your every need was taken care of. We are happy to hear that you found the staff to be attentive and helpful during your stay and that our delicious eats at the Fairmont Zimbali Resort had you spoiled for choice.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Resort

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
2,012 reviews
22.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,231 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 45 in Durban
1,574 reviews
22.9 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
335 reviews
23.8 km away
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umhlanga
Holiday Inn Express Durban - Umh...
#11 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $290 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing