We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zimbali Lodge
Nearby Hotels
US$247
US$173
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Vineyard on Ballito(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$67
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$75/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Coco De Mer(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Jaime(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At Dom's B&B(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vetho House(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Ballito Manor(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
165
125
97
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
125
97
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseinfinity poolthe main hotelcolonial stylegolf buggiesindian oceanhousekeeping staffprivate beachsouth africacurriesrooms are spaciouslonger stayshort stayreception areabreathtaking viewsbeautiful placecoral tree
Filter
Updating list...
156 - 161 of 463 reviews
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Well yes a beautifull hotel. The lodge with 76 rooms is part of a very big resort. Yet the lodge is located up the hill with a beautiful view at the sea (15 minutes walk). The hotel and staff do make you feel very welcome. The breakfast was all right. For lunch and dinner you had to take a short ride to the big hotel near the beach. That was no problem at all as the hotel has mini vans driving you there and picking you up again. We had a good lunch at the 31 Degrees bar. And the diner at the Coral Tree restaurant was great. An exellent choise of South African, French, Italian, Indian, Japanese (sushi) etc. A lot to do in the earea. We went for instance to Durban, to the foodbal stadion to take the hudge swing. The hotel can book all the trips for you.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015

We stayed in the Lodge from 7 - 14 November. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was spectacular. Breakfast in the Thandi Restaurant was fine. Too bad it is closed for lunch and dinner now. We hope that will change in the future. The pool area is great and the infinity pool is just so pretty. Compliments to the staff for their very friendly welcome and service. We would like to express our special thanks to Mervin, the friendly waiter in the Coral Tree Restaurant at the Resort, who made our stay really special and unforgettable with his personal touch and service. We would definitely try to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald_Madelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Dear Ronald_Madelon

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this was the perfect end to your honeymoon. We are delighted that Mervin added to making your stay with us so wonderful, and we will be sure to pass your gratitude on to him.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

All I can say is wow. Thank you so much for this great experience we had. Great staff, they went out of their way to make this few days special. Breakfast was great, one of the staff members even went put of his ways to try and make me an omlet one moring. Everything is neat and the transport makes you feel important. Haha. So thank you Zimbali Lodge for making my honeymoon special.

Stayed: November 2015
Thank antong707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Dear antong707

Thank you for sharing your lovely review with us.

Firstly, from all of us at Fairmont Zimbali Lodge and Resort, we would like to congratulate you and your spouse on your marriage. We wish you all the best for the future.

We are so happy to hear that you had a wonderful stay with us and that our staff were able to turn your moment with us into a memorable one. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and we hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015 via mobile

Zimbali Lodge in Ballito was a breath of fresh air. The old style furnished rooms were divine. The rooms are surrounded by trees meaning everything is fresh. The view from the balcony is second to none absolutely breathtaking. You can enjoy long walks around the property keeping you fit. The restaurant serves a good breakfast too. The hotel which is about a km or so from the lodge is pure heaven. The resort has a private beach too. When you join their vacation club you will be accommodated in stylish modern rooms in the lodge and given access to the entire resort.

Stayed: September 2015, travelled on business
Thank Brian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 15, 2015

I have stayed at Zimbali before on both business and personal travel. My husband and I were booked in last Friday as I had a work function at a private residence on the estate. Our flight from JHB was delayed by an hour, so we were running very late for the function. On arrival at the lodge the lady who assisted us at reception was very helpful and seemed to understand we were rushing. When we checked into the room for a quick freshen up I found there was no hairdryer, which I asked the lady who had come to do a turndown service to arrange. This was done but added an extra 10 minutes to our delay. I had found a cockroach in the bathroom which I had asked her to dispose of, but this was not done and when we returned to the room it was still there. When we called reception for a golf cart to collect us, we were not told there was a delay and waited another 10 minutes for this to arrive, having to call reception a second time before being told about the delay.

The kitchenette did not have any glasses or cups/mugs for tea or coffee which I found strange as this was supposed to be a self-catering unit. There was also no shampoo, only body wash, which I would not have expected from a 5 star lodge. I raised these concerns with the gentleman at reception the next morning, only to be told he would look into it, but I have heard nothing back. Given that this is an exclusive luxury lodge, I was disappointed with the experience, especially since I have had great service and experience at Zimbali in the past.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MichRocke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded November 17, 2015

Dear MichRocke

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us. We appreciate your valuable feedback.

We are sad to hear that your stay with us did not meet your expectations. We are sorry for the inconveniences that were caused due to the delays that you experienced. We apologise that you left feeling disappointed by your stay and hope to improve on the concerns raised going forward.

Thank you once again for taking the time to share your review.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews