We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zimbali Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Vineyard on Ballito(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Coco De Mer(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$130
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vetho House(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$122
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Villa Jaime(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At Dom's B&B(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ballito Manor(Ballito)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Beachfront
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
165
125
97
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
125
97
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseinfinity poolthe main hotelcolonial stylegolf buggiesindian oceanhousekeeping staffprivate beachsouth africacurriesrooms are spaciouslonger stayshort stayreception areabreathtaking viewsbeautiful placecoral tree
Filter
Updating list...
153 - 158 of 463 reviews
Reviewed December 21, 2015 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Zimbali lodge. Room is nice, but this pretends to be a 5 star hotel and has almost no hotel features. No room service, service a 2/10, facilities 2/10. Food is reasonably price and taste is reasonable commensurate with price.
The pool was very relaxed until it was completely crazy with 15 screaming kids (and I have kids too)
Not impressed and every interaction with staff has been pretty average. You can't charge 5 star rates and deliver 2 star service and last too long!
I would not stay here again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank obee_konobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Dear obee_konobee

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. Your concerns are valued and we hope to improve on our service delivery going forward.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 11, 2015 via mobile

Location is great. My concern is that Zimbali Lodge is not safe not just for cars but people too and if anything happens to you as a guest you are on your own. Our holiday was spoiled on the very second day We were at Zimbali Lodge. On that dreadful Sunday a tree in the parking lot, fell on top of our vehicle. This was not just damages to the car but also a very expensive vacation spoiled. While junior staff members were sympathetic, I note with concern that the lodge mananger never made contact with me or took any responsibility. Instead I got a letter from the Lodge attorney saying I should contact my insurance to get my vehicle fixed fir they could not be held responsible. Please note that if I had reversed into a tree or drove over the lawn I would have been fined. But when my vehicle is damaged while legally parked in the designated parking they are not willing to take responsibility.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank Lungelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 31, 2015

Dear Lungelo B

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear about the challenges that you were faced with during your stay with us. As an official representative has already been in contact with you to discuss this matter, we are unfortunately unable to make any further comments regarding the accident.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed December 2, 2015

Travelling through South Africa I stayed one night at this lodge in Ballito. It's a beautifull place in great surroundings on a golf course but not all services are avail;balbe anymore.
There is no restaurant for dinner anymore and the bar is closed at night. You have to go to the Hotel by golfcart or bus to get some food or a drink in the evening. They call it a lodge but it's just a place to stay. Not more. It's a pity because the hotel is beautifull. So check first the availability of the services in the lodge.

Room Tip: Try to get a ldoge with a view on the golfcourse and the ocean
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank benvaesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 7, 2015

Dear benvaesen

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback with us.

We are glad that you enjoyed the scenery and tranquility of the beautiful Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We would like to apologise for any inconveniences that you may have experienced due to the limited dining facilities available at our property. We hope that this did not hinder your stay with us and that you will be sure to return in the future.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 22, 2015

Well yes a beautifull hotel. The lodge with 76 rooms is part of a very big resort. Yet the lodge is located up the hill with a beautiful view at the sea (15 minutes walk). The hotel and staff do make you feel very welcome. The breakfast was all right. For lunch and dinner you had to take a short ride to the big hotel near the beach. That was no problem at all as the hotel has mini vans driving you there and picking you up again. We had a good lunch at the 31 Degrees bar. And the diner at the Coral Tree restaurant was great. An exellent choise of South African, French, Italian, Indian, Japanese (sushi) etc. A lot to do in the earea. We went for instance to Durban, to the foodbal stadion to take the hudge swing. The hotel can book all the trips for you.

  • Stayed: July 2015, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anthony V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed November 18, 2015

We stayed in the Lodge from 7 - 14 November. The room was beautiful and clean and the view was spectacular. Breakfast in the Thandi Restaurant was fine. Too bad it is closed for lunch and dinner now. We hope that will change in the future. The pool area is great and the infinity pool is just so pretty. Compliments to the staff for their very friendly welcome and service. We would like to express our special thanks to Mervin, the friendly waiter in the Coral Tree Restaurant at the Resort, who made our stay really special and unforgettable with his personal touch and service. We would definitely try to come back in the future.

  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ronald_Madelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2015

Dear Ronald_Madelon

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that this was the perfect end to your honeymoon. We are delighted that Mervin added to making your stay with us so wonderful, and we will be sure to pass your gratitude on to him.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews