We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect get away. Zimbali Coastal Resort & Beach Estate.”
Review of Zimbali Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed 7 January 2016 via mobile

I've spent 10 days here, and its been really great. My family has loved it too. There's many options at offer from chalets to huge houses and their highly rated hotel, all depending on the amount of people you're with and your budget. If you a lover of nature,then this estate is the perfect place for you. From golf courses, heated swimming pools, gym, tennis courts, soccer field, its just a really great experience and yet again showcases how beautiful & diverse our country really is.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank wandile_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear wandile_04

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you had the perfect getaway at our beautiful property and that you and your family loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimabli Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

136 - 142 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 6 January 2016

Zimbali Lodge used to be one of our favourite hotels but unfortunately standards have slipped a lot. The venue has all the ingredients to be awesome but it's just become average.

The positives:
-The location in the forest is fantastic and it's just a short drive into town (Ballito).
-Service is generally very good and most staff were helpful and friendly.
-The room is a nice size with great views (certain rooms only), has a very comfy, big bed and quality linen.
-Nice pool but unfortunately loud renovations going on while we were there. There is also a very nice pool down at beach but it's for both Zimbali Estate residents and hotel guests, so was very packed and we couldn't get loungers.

The negatives:
-The room has a nice size balcony but it has little privacy (you can see right into neighbours' rooms) and the local monkeys are frequent visitors so can be hair raising sitting outside (and sometimes inside, dont leave doors open!)
-Room was mostly clean but needs a deep clean - dirty carpets, filthy air vents in bathroom, grubby shower (shower also very small and water pressure is low).
-Nice to have an unlocked fridge in room but ours had two settings: off and below freezing :)
-Maintenance at the resort seems to be a problem - as can see from the pics, lots of mould and dirty patches, loose wires next to pool (?!), broken cupboard in room (this was fixed immediatley though).
-Attention to detail is lacking - a basic thing like a bill holder (see pic) was completely worn and disgusting to touch; a tray of food sat outside our neighbour's room for 3 days until removed; our room keycards didnt work for 3 of the 5 days, which is very frustrating when your room is a long uphill walk from reception.
-Breakfast is pricey and was disappointing - the buffet offers very basic food (like cheap store bought bread), not many food choices (compared to other 5 star buffets) and the salmon was off! Service was very good though but we didn't go back after first day and rather went into town for brunch.
- Hotel only serves breakfast so you have to drive to main Zimbali Resort for other meals. There were sandwiches in the bar but they looked like the ones you buy at a garage shop and twice the price. All unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.
-Some of the rooms are far from the reception/car park so the hotel provides golf cart rides. The drivers are very friendly, especially Ricky, but we had two terrifying
rides with another driver (in the rain) who thought he was a Formula One racer. Reckless and dangerous, especially with an elderly guest of ours sitting upfront!
-Wifi costs extra, we used our local SIM cards instead but the signal is very weak, barely able to download emails.

We got a very good deal for two rooms for this stay so it was almost worth it, but at full rates it's over priced and definitley not a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Request room on upper floors, with sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RosG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear RosG101

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We would like to extend our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with during your stay and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. This is certainly not in keeping with Fairmont standard and we will be sure to address your concerns accordingly. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you may have endured during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2016

Our stay in room 707 was very comfortable and the view was exceptional. The service was very good and the staff always friendly. When we reported a problem with the basin plug it was promptly seen to. The only thing that was not good for a so called "self catering" room, was that the fridge is exceptionally small with almost no freezer space. One can not even fit 'n bottle of Coke into the fridge. Apparently one of the time share holders have already requested a bigger fridge, but nothing has been done about it.

Room Tip: Second floor of Unit 7 has a very good view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A5840KKjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2016

Dear A5840KKjana

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service left a lasting impression on you.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2015 via mobile

I am honestly applaud by the conditions of the lodge. In lodge 705 the bed in the main bedroom is making a noise even on just touching. This is the picture of the couch in the living area. Spoke to reception but nothing resolved.Just told that the lodge is fully booked, not much can be done. Really for a five star???

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank Pego M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Dear Pego M

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations and that your concerns were not resolved to your satisfaction. We apologise for any inconveniences that you may have endured and hope to deliver a more memorable experience to you in the future.

Thank you once again for your review.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 December 2015

We got a warm welcome from the friendly staff members. The rooms were outstanding with all the necessities that guests will love to have. I enjoyed the golf cart that ferry us from one destination to the next. The price that is charged for cart transport to the beach, at R180, return(less than 5km) is unreasonable, and must be reviewed.
The staff at the Thandi breakfast restaurant were excellent at their job. Well done, people, keep up the good work.
The cart drivers were always punctual and courteous as is expected of such an establishment.
Room service, was excellent, I particularly appreciated the turn down service every evening. Wow!!
Of course, the prices for drinks and extras at the pool are a total a rip-off.
I think we will go back to this lodge, in the near future.

Room Tip: All rooms are the same with jungle view or sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Mataks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Dear Mataks

Thank you for your lovely review.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to exceed your expectations. We appreciate your feedback regarding the costs and will review your concerns.

We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 December 2015 via mobile

I am currently staying at the Zimbali lodge. Room is nice, but this pretends to be a 5 star hotel and has almost no hotel features. No room service, service a 2/10, facilities 2/10. Food is reasonably price and taste is reasonable commensurate with price.
The pool was very relaxed until it was completely crazy with 15 screaming kids (and I have kids too)
Not impressed and every interaction with staff has been pretty average. You can't charge 5 star rates and deliver 2 star service and last too long!
I would not stay here again.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
3  Thank obee_konobee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Dear obee_konobee

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with us.

We are sorry to hear that your stay did not meet expectations and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. Your concerns are valued and we hope to improve on our service delivery going forward.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2015 via mobile

Location is great. My concern is that Zimbali Lodge is not safe not just for cars but people too and if anything happens to you as a guest you are on your own. Our holiday was spoiled on the very second day We were at Zimbali Lodge. On that dreadful Sunday a tree in the parking lot, fell on top of our vehicle. This was not just damages to the car but also a very expensive vacation spoiled. While junior staff members were sympathetic, I note with concern that the lodge mananger never made contact with me or took any responsibility. Instead I got a letter from the Lodge attorney saying I should contact my insurance to get my vehicle fixed fir they could not be held responsible. Please note that if I had reversed into a tree or drove over the lawn I would have been fined. But when my vehicle is damaged while legally parked in the designated parking they are not willing to take responsibility.

Stayed: November 2015, travelled with family
4  Thank Lungelo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 31 December 2015

Dear Lungelo B

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us.

We are sorry to hear about the challenges that you were faced with during your stay with us. As an official representative has already been in contact with you to discuss this matter, we are unfortunately unable to make any further comments regarding the accident.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,969 reviews
22.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,205 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,560 reviews
22.9 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
24 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $271 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing