We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Zimbali Lodge
Nearby Hotels
The Vineyard on Ballito(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$119
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Villa Jaime(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$43
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$158
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ezulwini Guest house(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$81
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Coco De Mer(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$128
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Vetho House(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$82
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Zimbali View Eco Guesthouse(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$120
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Sak 'n Pak Guesthouse(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$127
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Beach Forest Lodge(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$64
US$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
At Dom's B&B(Ballito)(Great Value!)
US$117
US$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (463)
Filter reviews
463 results
Traveller rating
165
125
97
40
36
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
165
125
97
40
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsgolf courseinfinity poolthe main hotelcolonial stylegolf buggiesindian oceanhousekeeping staffprivate beachsouth africacurriesrooms are spaciouslonger stayshort stayreception areabreathtaking viewsbeautiful placecoral tree
Filter
Updating list...
146 - 151 of 463 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2016

We travel around very well and stay in great places around the world and always booked great hotels. We have had a fantastic time in South Africa and planned to end our trip here in the lap of luxury of a 5 star hotel. I kid you not it is not and can not be five star hotel, why? Well firstly the good points, the room was lovely and was great to but there was no food at all. No resturant at this hotel, you have to travel by shuttle bus to there other hotel next door to which is a big pain, then when you do get back after dinner for a night cap the bar is shut. Not the best place to stay.

Stayed: October 2015
5  Thank scott j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 29, 2016

Dear scott j

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable review with following your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We are disappointed to hear that your stay did not meet your expectations. We apologise for any inconveniences that you may have experienced due to the limited meal options available at the Lodge and hope that we will be able to deliver a more memorable stay to you in the future.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 13, 2016

The Fairmont Lodge at Zimbali offers a complete holiday with a nature reserve, golf course, swimming pools and beaches. It offers walking trails, small wild life as well as being close to many restaurants and bars.

Stayed: April 2015
1  Thank Desmond G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear Desmond G

Thank you for taking the time to share your lovely review with us.

We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of all the wonderful facilities that we have to offer.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and hope to deliver yet another memorable stay to you and your family in the future.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimabli Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2016 via mobile

I've spent 10 days here, and its been really great. My family has loved it too. There's many options at offer from chalets to huge houses and their highly rated hotel, all depending on the amount of people you're with and your budget. If you a lover of nature,then this estate is the perfect place for you. From golf courses, heated swimming pools, gym, tennis courts, soccer field, its just a really great experience and yet again showcases how beautiful & diverse our country really is.

Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
Thank wandile_04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear wandile_04

Thank you for sharing your wonderful review with the TripAdvisor community.

We are pleased to hear that you had the perfect getaway at our beautiful property and that you and your family loved your stay with us. We look forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimabli Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 6, 2016

Zimbali Lodge used to be one of our favourite hotels but unfortunately standards have slipped a lot. The venue has all the ingredients to be awesome but it's just become average.

The positives:
-The location in the forest is fantastic and it's just a short drive into town (Ballito).
-Service is generally very good and most staff were helpful and friendly.
-The room is a nice size with great views (certain rooms only), has a very comfy, big bed and quality linen.
-Nice pool but unfortunately loud renovations going on while we were there. There is also a very nice pool down at beach but it's for both Zimbali Estate residents and hotel guests, so was very packed and we couldn't get loungers.

The negatives:
-The room has a nice size balcony but it has little privacy (you can see right into neighbours' rooms) and the local monkeys are frequent visitors so can be hair raising sitting outside (and sometimes inside, dont leave doors open!)
-Room was mostly clean but needs a deep clean - dirty carpets, filthy air vents in bathroom, grubby shower (shower also very small and water pressure is low).
-Nice to have an unlocked fridge in room but ours had two settings: off and below freezing :)
-Maintenance at the resort seems to be a problem - as can see from the pics, lots of mould and dirty patches, loose wires next to pool (?!), broken cupboard in room (this was fixed immediatley though).
-Attention to detail is lacking - a basic thing like a bill holder (see pic) was completely worn and disgusting to touch; a tray of food sat outside our neighbour's room for 3 days until removed; our room keycards didnt work for 3 of the 5 days, which is very frustrating when your room is a long uphill walk from reception.
-Breakfast is pricey and was disappointing - the buffet offers very basic food (like cheap store bought bread), not many food choices (compared to other 5 star buffets) and the salmon was off! Service was very good though but we didn't go back after first day and rather went into town for brunch.
- Hotel only serves breakfast so you have to drive to main Zimbali Resort for other meals. There were sandwiches in the bar but they looked like the ones you buy at a garage shop and twice the price. All unacceptable for a 5 star hotel.
-Some of the rooms are far from the reception/car park so the hotel provides golf cart rides. The drivers are very friendly, especially Ricky, but we had two terrifying
rides with another driver (in the rain) who thought he was a Formula One racer. Reckless and dangerous, especially with an elderly guest of ours sitting upfront!
-Wifi costs extra, we used our local SIM cards instead but the signal is very weak, barely able to download emails.

We got a very good deal for two rooms for this stay so it was almost worth it, but at full rates it's over priced and definitley not a 5 star experience.

Room Tip: Request room on upper floors, with sea view.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank RosG101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear RosG101

Thank you for sharing your valuable feedback with us regarding your recent stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

We would like to extend our apologies for the challenges that you were faced with during your stay and that you left feeling disappointed by your experience with us. This is certainly not in keeping with Fairmont standard and we will be sure to address your concerns accordingly. We are sorry for any inconveniences that you may have endured during your stay.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 4, 2016

Our stay in room 707 was very comfortable and the view was exceptional. The service was very good and the staff always friendly. When we reported a problem with the basin plug it was promptly seen to. The only thing that was not good for a so called "self catering" room, was that the fridge is exceptionally small with almost no freezer space. One can not even fit 'n bottle of Coke into the fridge. Apparently one of the time share holders have already requested a bigger fridge, but nothing has been done about it.

Room Tip: Second floor of Unit 7 has a very good view.
  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank A5840KKjana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, Guest Relations Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded January 15, 2016

Dear A5840KKjana

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that our service left a lasting impression on you.

We thank you for your valuable feedback and hope to welcome you back to our beautiful property again soon.

Kind Regards,
Maye Khuluse
Director of Guest Services
Fairmont Zimbali Lodge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews