We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (476)
Filter reviews
476 results
Traveller rating
169
131
98
40
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
169
131
98
40
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews golf course the main hotel play golf housekeeping staff indian ocean private beach south africa rooms are spacious curries short stay longer stay reception area beautiful place stunning views coral tree pools estate
Filter
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 476 reviews
Reviewed June 23, 2017

Stay was overall special..honeymoon couple and best experience for starting a new life together.Room was neat,spa experience very good,food really good,friendly staff.Room service good and weather was good for winter!!

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank 431afch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded July 3, 2017

Dear 431afch

Thank you for your lovely review.

It is an honour to have had you stay at our hotel during your special honeymoon! On behalf of all of us at Fairmont, we wish you many joyful and wonderful years to come! We are delighted that you had a special time with us and that you enjoyed everything from the friendly staff to the winter weather!

We look forward to celebrating many more special occasions with you in the future.

Kind Regards
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed June 6, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here with overseas visitors who are running Comrades. Rooms are good although getting a little tired. Lack of dinner options at the lodge (you need to catch the shuttle to the main Fairmont hotel) meant we are outside the resort every night; fine by us as we had a car. If you don't play golf and don't want to sit by the pool there isn't a lot to do. Still it is a beautiful location and a great base. Soft drinks at the bar are expensive by local standards. Didn't get chance to play golf nonetheless the course looked to be in great shape.

Date of stay: June 2017
Trip type: Travelled with friends
1  Thank JWT-1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded June 19, 2017

Dear JWT-1964

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us.

We are happy that you enjoyed your overall stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. We are delighted that you relished in the beauty of our location and that the golf course left a lasting impression on you.

We hope that you will be back in the near future, giving us the opportunity to provide you with a memorable stay!

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 17, 2017 via mobile

This was the 2nd time we stayed at the resort. The facilities and restaurant options are excellent.

The resort has grown into a relative village with many accommodation options.

The downside is the beach. Not for swimming and also not fantastic for long walks. The beach sand is very course.

Further up the KZN North coast offers better sand.

Date of stay: April 2017
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KevinmatthewsSa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear KevinmatthewsSa

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are so happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that our facilities and dining offerings make a favourable impression on you. Thank you for your recommendation of an alternative beach. The Ballito beaches certainly are beautiful and swimming-friendly and close by.

We hope that you will visit us again soon!

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 10, 2017

Settled amongst the natural scenic forest Zimbali is known for... a place to relax, unwind and enjoy nature.
separately allocated units enhanced our stay at Zimbali, spacious room and a comfortable experience from check in to check out.
A place to visit and explore more often.

Room tip: Sea view with the forest and lake is a must
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ubaidullah_E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear Ubaidullah E

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are delighted to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations! It brings us great pleasure to hear positive feedback and we will definitely share this with our Team. There is a certain peacefulness to starting one’s day with breathtaking views and the beauty of nature surrounding you. We are happy to be able to share this with you.

We hope that you will visit us again soon giving us the opportunity to provide you with many more memorable moments.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 9, 2017

Let me first start with the good: the rooms are a good size, if a little dated and old fashioned. The bartender at the lodge pool provided good service and tried to accommodate our requests.

Now for the bad - we stayed over the long weekend and after checking in took a golf cart to our room (you need a golf cart to get around the lodge or you can walk during the day or take your chances in the dark at night).
The view from the room is of a jungle, so don't expect any view from you balcony except for trees and leaves right up in your face.There isn't much to do at the lodge and they also don't serve dinner or room service so you pretty much have to commute to the main resort for your dinner meals and also to get the feeling of being on holiday. This commute wasn't helped by terrible service from the front desk who couldn't coordinate our transport and left us waiting for a long time on every occasion (from Day 2 they stopped answering the phone altogether).

The food was mediocre and extremely expensive for what you were getting (over R200 for a crappy sandwich and some snack foods). We complained about all of this every day and at least expected some feedback from the management but it was not to be ( they did send a cheap bottle of wine though, thanks but not going to help).
There was also a wedding taking place on the Saturday right at the pool area which disrupted our stay as well.

In summation I think in future we will rather stay at the resort in future, the lodge is kind of a waste of time and money for what you are getting. Judging by reviews I read by some tourists on Tripadvisor , they feel the same about Zimbali Lodge.

Room tip: All the views are the same - of the jungle
Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alton J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded May 26, 2017

Dear Alton J

Thank you for sharing your experience with us.

We are saddened to hear that you left our hotel dissatisfied with your stay. We are sorry that our facilities and service delivery did not meet your expectations and for any discomfort you experienced as a result. We are also sorry to hear that you felt that the commute between our properties was tedious and that you were unhappy with our food offering. Please accept our apologies and rest assured that we are sharing your feedback with our team to ensure improvement moving forward.

We hope to have the opportunity to host you again in the future to provide you with a memorable experience with us.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews