We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tranquility”
Review of Zimbali Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Zimbali Lodge
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Reviewed 11 November 2017

I stayed here for two nights at the end of a business trip. It's very hard to fault anything about the lodge, staff, room, public areas and the location are first class. I put he staff to the test on two occasions and they assisted me superbly each time. Tipping - it's not expected, but it's a nice thing to do. 20 or maybe 50 rand is well received. There is a shuttle that runs to the main hotel and beech on demand. The staff are also happy to transport guests around in golf carts. The resort is very spaced out and that adds to its beauty and tranquility, but be prepared to wait a few minutes for your transport around. Well done to the team at Zimbali Lodge!

Room Tip: Try to get a top floor room as you will get a sea view in some cases. Whichever room you chose the...
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank VentnorBay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Dear KentishSailor

We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge.

It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I will ensure that your comments are shared with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 440 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017

I'm very disappointed with my 3night stay at the Zimbali Lodge.

I don't even know where to start..
Cancelled my breakfast for the duration of the stay after the poor quality served the first morning. No room service, no minibar, no television channels or cable tv. Wifi is supplied with a voucher and the service is extremely slow and intermittent making browsing frustrating and downloading impossible. This is a problem if it guests have bad weather like I did for the entire stay. I also didn't have a vehicle and two restaurants were closed on the Sunday and Monday with renovation on the bar and restaurant at the Lodge. The glasses supplied in the rooms were dirty, waited 45min for a shuttle and staff would take personal calls while you would ask then a question.
Would definitely not recommend this hotel to anyone or be back anytime soon.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled solo
Thank Petria B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 December 2017

Dear Petria B

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at the Fairmont Zimbali Lodge. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies.

At Fairmont, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address your concerns and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your comments, and we hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

We were visited Ballitoville for our Anniversary and we decided to take a day and visit Zimbali for lunch and to see the resort for future holidays (Thanks God we did not booked a stay there). We arrived at Fairmont hotel lunch restaurant. We ordered salad and drinks , to our surprise the salad was stale and the lettuce leaves looks tired and yellow.

We were halfway through the lunch when we were approached by a lady from a vacation club kiosk inside the reception area and told us about a presentation that was going to take place in an hour time and asked us to fill in the form to attend. We accept that because we wanted to look around the resort so that we when we made a booking have a clear picture of what it looks like.

After lunch a gentleman from Zimbali Vacation Club ride us around the resort with a car. It took us more than 30 minutes to finish the tour. The worse place i saw on the tour was Ayoba one of the resort wings. The pool was crowded with noise and the water were dirty that you notice them at a 1 meter distance.

After the tour this gentlemen explain to us about the benefits of this Vacation Club they offer. He was forcing us to sign a contract and put a down deposit of R40 000 at that moment. We refused the offer and told him we are not interested and were not there to join clubs but to look at the resort. To our surprise when he ride us back to the hotel he was not even talking to us. He was literally sulking because we did not accept the offer.
In overall we were not impressed by Zimbali and their aggressive marketing style promoting and forcing the resort to us. We will never come to Zimbali. Ballito was good for us

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Bongiswa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2017

Dear Bongiswa M

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are sorry to hear that your time at the resort did not meet your expectations. We are saddened to hear that the staff of the Zimbali Vacation Club left you feeling dissatisfied and affected your visit with us. We hope that you will consider coming back to visit our hotels in the future.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2017

Staff were extremely friendly and helpful,loved the views and the peacefulness.Room was lovely and neat.The location is extremely convenient and the resort is close to the airport.A very relaxing enjoyable break.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank Jacks1046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2017

Dear Jacks1046

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that the views, serenity of the location, room offering, close proximity to the airport, as well as your interaction with our staff, all left a lasting impression on you.

We hope to host you again soon.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 October 2017

Overall fabulous stay. Nice and friendly staff...rooms perfect and clean.relaxing and peacefull. Restaurants close too early. You have to go too resort for anything to eat or drink after 7pm....Very helpful staff

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with friends
Review collected in partnership with fairmont.com
Thank BJass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear BJass

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are pleased to hear that your stay with us exceeded your expectations and that our staff, rooms and relaxing ambiance all left a lasting impression on you.

We hope that you will visit us again in the near future for another memorable stay.

Kind Regards
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed here for one night on arrival from the UK. The hotel rooms are in little blocks in a sub tropical 'jungle' setting which means they have no view apart from trees and shrubs and tend to be a bit dark. Also, they are some way from the hotel building up a steep slope - a golf buggy will come and collect you from your rooms but this all takes time.

To have dinner you have to take a shuttle bus - about a 10 minute drive - to Zimbali Resort. The dinner we had there was uninspiring.

All of the toing and froing wasted time in a short stay, but you probably put up with it if you were staying longer.

There were signs to the beach, which we tried to follow, only to find that after about 15 minutes the path was closed for reconstruction - a further waste of time.

You should note that this hotel is not in Durian, but about a twenty minute drive outside it.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank NDW_Wimbledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2017

Dear NDW_Wimbledon

Thank you for sharing your review with us.

We are disheartened to hear that you did not find your stay at the Lodge to be ideal for a single night, and that you found the slower pace charismatic to the Lodge to be a challenge during your short stay. We thank you for your feedback and would like to reassure you that we have discussed points with our team for improvement moving forward. We apologize for any inconvenience experienced.

We hope that you will come visit us again for a longer stay in the future.

Kind Regards
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017

Of the pro's; the rooms are relatively large, the bed comfortable and the vanity area is a nice little extra. Check-out is easy. That's where it ends. The check-in staff are indifferent. The staff do not even attempt to make your stay special. We were on our honeymoon yet both the check-in and the room itself felt like a business trip. The water in the shower has an unpleasant sulphuric odour. In order to get anywhere you need a golf cart driven by hotel staff which leaves you feeling very trapped. There was construction taking place which disturbed the peace. The balcony has a view of only trees. There aren't any mosquito nets nor screens so do not leave the balcony doors open. The T.V. channels are limited. There isn't any room service nor were any of the restaurants on the property open. The only restaurant open was that on the sister property. It closed at 10pm. The room did not have a mini bar. There were two small bottles on water in the bathroom. We had to ration the water until we bought our own water the next day as we could not drink the tap water.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank meshabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FairmontZimbali, General Manager at Zimbali Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 26 October 2017

Dear meshabs

Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us.

We are disheartened to hear that your stay at our hotel did not meet your expectations. We are sorry that the staff did not leave a favourable impression on you and we apologize for any inconvenience you experienced in this regard. This is certainly not the Fairmont standard and we would like to reassure you that we have addressed your review with our team and implemented measures for improvement moving forward.

We hope that you will visit the hotel again in the future allowing us another opportunity to provide you with a truly memorable stay.

Kind Regards,
Nils Rothbarth
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Ballito
23 km away
The Oyster Box
The Oyster Box
#2 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,969 reviews
22.9 km away
Beverly Hills
Beverly Hills
#3 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
1,205 reviews
2.4 km away
Hampshire Hotel
Hampshire Hotel
#5 of 7 in Ballito
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.9 km away
Hilton Durban
Hilton Durban
#3 of 44 in Durban
1,560 reviews
22.9 km away
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
Protea Hotel Durban Umhlanga
#9 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
327 reviews
24 km away
Teremok Marine
Teremok Marine
#1 of 19 in Umhlanga Rocks
385 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zimbali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zimbali Lodge

Address: Zimbali Estate | Umhlali, Ballito 4390, South Africa
Region: South Africa > KwaZulu-Natal > Ballito
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Ballito
Price Range: $271 - $337 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Zimbali Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Zimbali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairmont Zimbali Hotel Ballito
Zimbali Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing