We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nrs”
Review of Karoo Grill & Bar

Karoo Grill & Bar
Ranked #24 of 185 Restaurants in Centurion
Price range: US$7 - US$16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: It looks like a steakhouse. Mmmm, it smells like a steakhouse. And it certainly tastes like a steakhouse. But Karoo Grill & Bar is more than just a steakhouse. It's a top steak-based restaurant. And a South African one at that, featuring traditional SA fare like bobotie and boerewors, as well as steaks cut from the very best South African beef. Although famous for its red meat and ribs, KG&B's menu caters for all tastes and includes a sumptuous selection of the freshest SA fish and poultry, a choice of vegetarian dishes and free salads. For the health-conscious, there's even ostrich.
Reviewed July 19, 2017 via mobile

It is one of the most wonderful experiences to visit them. We prefer to go at night time, its sets the perfect mood for a romantic dinner. Allthough heavenly any season of the month, nothing beats the warner months. I would recommend their fillit. The shef himself cuts it right in front of you, more than enough for two. We heve visited the one in Irene mall.

Date of visit: November 2016
Thank 900heidiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded July 21, 2017

Many thanks for this wonderful feedback! We are so happy to hear that our efforts are appreciated and that the massive fillet, sliced for you at your table, is one of your favourites! All of the team will read your review and I send thanks on behalf of us all!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (135)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

29 - 33 of 135 reviews

Reviewed June 1, 2017 via mobile

Nice evening with acceptable steak. Onion rings were disappointing. Better than a Spur, but Cape Town has much better steakhouses!

Date of visit: May 2017
Thank C1tten5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded June 3, 2017

Thank you for taking the time to rate us! I'm sorry you were disappointed with the onion rings, and would be keen to learn why - were thy just not nice or you prefer the ones in batter perhaps? This would help us improve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 4, 2017 via mobile

I usually enjoy Karoo, especially their lamb pie, but this time left me a bit disappointed. The food was a bit bland, the service slower than usual and prices are quite steep.

Maybe next time will be back to a 4 star experience...

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank kevinlL7859LF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded May 6, 2017

I'm sorry your recent experience wasn't up to our normal standards, and will raise your concerns with the team, including checking that the pie recipe is being correctly followed. While not a positive review, I appreciate the feedback and will use it to emphasise the need for a consistently high standard of food, service, ambience and personal attention, and hope that indeed your next visit will be a lot better. Thank you for this and I apologise for the slip in standards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 10, 2017 via mobile

I decided on lamb sosaties - it was scrumptuous. Waiters are well trained - management in Suit and Tie.. I am impressed by an overall stylish restaurant! Thank you.

Date of visit: April 2017
Thank hannob298
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 12, 2017

Thank you so much for your kind review! Particularly in the evenings, we try and create exactly as you say, a more stylish atmosphere for our guests, with dimmed lights and myself and management in more formal dress than during the day. I greatly appreciate both the positive comments on the meal and waiters, and this mention of the atmosphere. This will be shared with the team and reinforces and rewards our efforts to make the Karoo experience at Irene something more special. Many thanks once more!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed April 6, 2017

Average service and food, definitely a big no-no to serve guests pre-cooked Lamb Shanks that are still frozen. At least they should be properly defrosted and heated up before serving. Disappointed.....

Date of visit: April 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank FrancoisS872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rod W, Owner at Karoo Grill & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded April 10, 2017

Hello sir. We have already replied to you in detail on your Facebook complaint, so I won't go into the detail again, but we apologise for this spoiling your evening out. The shanks are of course precooked as they take far too long to cook to order, and the cooked shanks are vacuum packed and held in hot water during service. Somehow one must not have been heated through and we would have sorted this out at the time with a replacement had you made us aware. We hope you will respond to our Facebook message and see you again soon. Apologies once more.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karoo Grill & Bar also viewed

 
 

Been to Karoo Grill & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing