We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friends Break away”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford Lake Lodge
Reviewed 15 November 2015

Very lovely situated family home.
We stayed there this weekend and loved every moment. Unfortunately the fridge did not work very well, and we had a power failure due to a thunderstorm.
But the house is well equipped and had candles and fire wood.

I would definitely go back here.

Room Tip: 4 bedroom house
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2015, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Gerhard_B_84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 23 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 16 October 2015 via mobile

Definitely one of our favourite places ever.
I can't get enough of Haenertsburg, it's my kind of place. Stanford lake is the place to visit!
It's been quite some time since we have been there but those awesome memories still linger.
It's breathtakingly beautiful and the cottage's are absolutely perfect.

Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Nita J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2015

We had a great time. Your place is beautiful, clean and so peaceful. We would love to come visit again (This time with the whole family). It was a busy weekend with the wedding and all. We did not realise that there are so many things to do in the area and will definitely came back to explore more.

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
Thank kinnie1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2015

What a great weekend away with friends. Only at Stanford can the wind and rain try to sabotage your birthday plans and yet you have an amazing time despite the weather. Stanford is the ideal place to snuggle up with a glass of red by the fireplace and enjoy a truly spectacular view
We will definitely be going back

  • Stayed: September 2015, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Anika M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2015

We stayed at Stanford Lake Lodge in two- and one-bedroom cottages with our friends during Berry festival weekend in 2015. The cottages were simple, clean and cosy, well equipped for self-catering. The owner was very helpful (we have got several SMS notifications about activities going around that weekend) and friendly. Stanford farm surrounded by beautiful pine forest and has a few bush walks. There is also easy access to Ebenezer Dam for those who loves fishing or just to swim. Very short drive to Haenerstburg and blueberry farm, Blueberry heights, is just around the corner. Overall, the location is beautiful and the place is good value for money. I would definitely recommend this place.
Tip: If you are willing to spend a bit more money go for the Single-story and/or Double-story Cabins. Views are stunning and immediate access to small dam.

  • Stayed: February 2015, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Ulasha85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2015

Great but way too short! Always good for the soul to be up in the mountains, we love staying in the cottages with beautiful view over the lake or in the lovely log cabins right there on the water, really would recommend for a great break away. Always good to catch up with Gavin too :)

Stayed: June 2015, travelled with family
Thank Gayle122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2014

Perfectly located in close proximity to Magoebaskloof. Beautiful garden and views across the lake, forests and mountains. Rustic, but very comfortable and excellent value for money. Would certainly use again.

  • Stayed: October 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank sumpine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haenertsburg
3.7 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
173 reviews
5.0 km away
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Haenertsburg
7 reviews
5.2 km away
Highview B&B
Highview B&B
#3 of 9 in Haenertsburg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Zwakala River Retreat
Zwakala River Retreat
#2 of 9 in Haenertsburg
6 reviews
2.9 km away
Glenogle Farm
Glenogle Farm
#1 of 9 in Haenertsburg
38 reviews
4.2 km away
No photo provided
Viewpoint Guesthouse
#5 of 9 in Haenertsburg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Lake Lodge

Address: A21 Stanford Farm, Haenertsburg 0730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Haenertsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Haenertsburg
Price Range: $72 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own piece of paradise. Equipped and decorated to the highest and most soothing standards, this self-catering double-story log cabin boasts three double bedrooms, two bathrooms and sleeps eight people. Such is its privacy, you can luxuriate in a bath looked upon only by a forest and an enormous sky. Centerpiece of the spacious open plan living area is a fitted log fire for those quiet, romantic evenings. The deck gives you a choice of forest and lake views and once sundowners are over, the built-in deck braai beckons. The second lodge is a single-story log cabin that has three Bedrooms, one Bathroom and sleeps six people. The 2nd lodge also has an open plan living area which includes a centre fireplace for those quiet, romantic evenings. There is also a Weber braai that can be used on the amazing outside deck that leads out of the lounge and overlooks the spectacular Stanford Lake. Escape beyond the turmoil of the city - and those over-crowded resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stanford Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing