We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem in the Limpopo valley”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Stanford Lake Lodge
Reviewed 21 March 2017

We found this gem 2 years ago. 2 years later we revisited this weekend, and nothing has changed. Still a peaceful gem in the forest.
There are amazing walks through the forest, cycle tracks and boats on the water. The views are beautiful, and is a short distance from Magoebaskloof and nearby to Haenertsburg.
The single story cabin is clean and well looked after.
The staff are pleasant and very honourable.
I will continue to visit this establishment as often as is needed to rest and relax.

Room Tip: We always book the single storey cabin for the views, but all the accommodation here is pleasant wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CountrysidePH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (47)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 12 of 47 reviews

Reviewed 9 November 2016

Thank you Gavin for a wonderful and relaxed weekend stay during June 2016.
Thank you for all the information that was forwarded to us before we arrived.
I haven't come across any other place that supply you with so much information on what to do and where. Not only at Stanford Lake Lodge but all the surrounding places.
We were booked into the Honeymoon Cabin. Nothing out of place. Everything clean and comfortable and Cozy. The deck overlook the Lake which is absolutely awesome.
We had a bit of colder weather over the weekend. But during this time we could make fire in the little stove inside the cabin which warmed up the whole cabin. That created a cozy and warm atmosphere which we enjoyed so much. We also had an evening with clear skies which was wonderful to being able to watch the universe with all the stars so beautiful!
We only could enjoyed some of the activities. Our stay was too short to being able to do all. Lots of activities - hiking, fishing, mountain biking, forest walks, birding etc.
We did some walking in the Indigenous Forest. That was breathtaking. We enjoyed the waterfall as well! We also visited some nearby places. The little town, Haenertsburg with the beatufiful Wolkberg, is a MUST to visit. There is cozy coffee shops, other little shops, a cozy bookshop etc. We also visited a Forest close by with the world's most Giant trees which took our breath away. Magoebaskloof also close by is absolutely beautiful. Not to be missed. And all the little pad stalls also a MUST to buy special homemade products.
Stanford Lake Lodge is not too far from Pretoria and well worth to visit. Don't miss out on a great experience of nature at its best. If you like privacy, this is also a place for you.
We definitely will be back the moment we can.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 178nonnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2016 via mobile

Three months ago I made a booking at this establishment for the weekend 28-30/10.
It would appear that at the time of booking I inadvertently selected the dates for Nov.
On 28/8/16 I confirmed my booking with a deposit quoting the exact dates.
On 24/10/16 I phoned Gavin asking for a booking/confirmation number as well as to extend out stay to 31/10/16. His response was that they do not work with booking numbers and our extended stay is in order.
This morning I sent Gavin a SMS to find out what time we can check in, only to be told that he has no booking for us.
I find this totally pathetic and suggest that they check/communicate in a far more professional manner.
Their apologies for this incident will also not be accepted.
Catch a wake up you guys!!!!!

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Claudette J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the honeymoon suite with a beautiful view over the lake. The cabin was immaculately clean and neat but I would however have preferred a block out kind of curtains instead of the thin curtains currently in use. The accommodation was a bit highly priced but we loved the setting

Stayed: October 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Karen J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016

Hi Gavin, on behalf of myself, my husband and parents, we would just like to thank you once again for an amazing stay at Stanford Lake Lodge. We couldn't have chosen a better place to spend our Easter weekend. As usual the cabin was spotless, the beds super comfy and the fishing... well that's another story! I will send you some images of our awesome catches. We really had a great time. We will definitely be seeing you in the near future again. Thank you and keep it up!!

  • Stayed: March 2016, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michelle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016 via mobile

We absolutely loved our time at Stanford Lake Lodge!

Surrounded by beautiful nature, freedom and a clean, neat, comfortable and warm cabin!

We loved the fireplace and the views from each window. We enjoyed every moment.

Lucky to have spotted some small game and even a Long Crested Eagle on the farm!

Thank you for a great time, I would recommend Stanford Lake Lodge to anyone who would like to enjoy nature and some tranquillity.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Maria G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the single storey log cabin, with 4 adults and 2 children. We all enjoyed the forest setting and the well appointed cabin. Just a short drive to town, where a few good restaurants and shops can be found.

Stayed: May 2015, travelled with family
Thank Big_Red_C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haenertsburg
3.7 km away
Magoebaskloof Hotel
Magoebaskloof Hotel
#1 of 2 in Magoebaskloof
173 reviews
5.0 km away
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
Art Gallery Bed & Breakfast
#1 of 9 in Haenertsburg
7 reviews
5.2 km away
Highview B&B
Highview B&B
#3 of 9 in Haenertsburg
1 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 km away
Zwakala River Retreat
Zwakala River Retreat
#2 of 9 in Haenertsburg
6 reviews
2.9 km away
Glenogle Farm
Glenogle Farm
#1 of 9 in Haenertsburg
38 reviews
4.2 km away
No photo provided
Viewpoint Guesthouse
#5 of 9 in Haenertsburg
2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Stanford Lake Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stanford Lake Lodge

Address: A21 Stanford Farm, Haenertsburg 0730, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Haenertsburg
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Haenertsburg
Price Range: $73 - $113 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Stanford Lake Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Your own piece of paradise. Equipped and decorated to the highest and most soothing standards, this self-catering double-story log cabin boasts three double bedrooms, two bathrooms and sleeps eight people. Such is its privacy, you can luxuriate in a bath looked upon only by a forest and an enormous sky. Centerpiece of the spacious open plan living area is a fitted log fire for those quiet, romantic evenings. The deck gives you a choice of forest and lake views and once sundowners are over, the built-in deck braai beckons. The second lodge is a single-story log cabin that has three Bedrooms, one Bathroom and sleeps six people. The 2nd lodge also has an open plan living area which includes a centre fireplace for those quiet, romantic evenings. There is also a Weber braai that can be used on the amazing outside deck that leads out of the lounge and overlooks the spectacular Stanford Lake. Escape beyond the turmoil of the city - and those over-crowded resorts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Travelocity.ca so you can book your Stanford Lake Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing