We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Nyati Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)
US$371
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$216
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$348
US$286
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$198
US$167
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$211
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$192
US$172
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Swadini A Forever Resort(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$39
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Amanzimlotzi Riverside Bush Camp(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$30
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Timbavati Safari Lodge(Hoedspruit)(Great Value!)
US$101
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Reviews (62)
Filter reviews
62 results
Traveller rating
26
19
4
4
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
26
19
4
4
9
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 62 reviews
Reviewed August 1, 2014

As per other reviews:
1. Credit Card - Still not working ("down") and only cash accepted as pointed out in a review 6+ months ago.
2. Dirty - Staff didn't seem to be working on Sunday and the pool and braai area were full of rubbish since the Sat night. Perhaps owner and family could stop sitting around and spend 10 mins cleaning it rather than waiting on staff to return on the Monday.
3. One TV , located in the Bar - Hogged by the same two staff members watching the discovery channel, for the entire time we were there.
4. Cats running around the bedrooms. Domesticated Minx (which is actually impressive) was fed at the entrance to the main building and snarled at you when you went near it, had to walk around the premises to get to my room as a result.
5. Kitchen needs improvement, no way it is up to the minimal standards required in order to serve food & beverages.
6. Bedrooms - light is by the door and of no use to the room overall, bathrooms really need investment. Bed was fine.
7. Bathrooms by the pool are disgusting, no lights by the pool.
8. Braai - As mentioned by others, the braai dinner offered is a rip off at 170 Rand. Food was bad and in short quantity. The staff on hand ate most of it, where we had to Queue behind them for ten mins rather than letting guests eat first.
9. Owner - Most importantly the gentleman managing this place has no concept on hospitality. The staff were incapable of answering any questions we had, and when called for, he looked annoyed and acted hostile as if we were disturbing him. Kept referring to us as "complaining" when were just asking questions. The reception towards us was like staying in a stranger's house for free, as if we were putting him out and he didn't want us there from the beginning, in reality we were paying guests who deserve better.

As foreigners - every time we walked into the premises he didn't even acknowledge us (not until we had to pay bill), yet he would jump up and grovel every time an Afrikans guest entered, sharing dinner and drinks with them every day, constantly laughing and joking with them. The contrast in attitude became a comical observation by the time we were leaving.

However - what annoys me the most about the negative experience here, is that almost everything I listed above has been mentioned in previous reviews, some 1+ yrs ago. Perhaps the owner should heed customer feedback, reflect and take action off the back of guests comments, rather than writing defensive responses to negative reviews.

Room Tip: Under a tree
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
12  Thank BrendanKil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed May 6, 2014

I spent two nights here catching up with a friend and really enjoyed myself.
Sure it was inexpensive, and as I had no illusions of grandeur, I loved it. The owners haven't been there that long and have a bit of work to do, but they were incredibly friendly and welcoming.
Anyone who has been to and done research on accommodation in South Africa knows the drill - the more you pay, the more you get.
My room was a little musty at first, but the airconditioner soon fixed that. The chalet was spacious with an enormous bathroom, clean shower and clean sheets. Breakfast was more than adequate and we decided to eat in for dinner for which we had 3 lovely courses.
I loved meeting their orphaned caracal that was more like a big soppy kitten, but at 6 months he is already getting huge. There was also a young genet (that hangs out in the roof of the courtyard) which has become accustomed to humans and is happy to interact with you.
I have only rated Cheetah Inn 3 stars so as not to confuse tripadvisor readers that this is a 5 star property. It is low-key and definitely fits the niche for budget travellers.

Room Tip: Check with Heike and Peter to see if there are any renovated rooms
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TannieKaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 25, 2014

My wife has never been to the Kruger Park, so we decided to go in at one of the southern gates
and come out at Orpen Gate. We chose the Cheetah Inn due to its proximity to the gate which would allow us more time in the park. Thankfully we only booked one night. Our room was shocking - a wall of stink hit us when the door was opened by the owner (which he couldn't smell). The bed linen had not been changed, just the bed re-made, my wife was horrified to see
the brown stains on the sheet and slept fully clothed that night. The aircon didn't work, the toilet
came apart after one flush and we had to operate the mechanism by hand. termites had pushed a mound of sand up through the shower tiles and it covered the floor. The overhead fan on a baking hot night had to be turned off as it clattered and banged on the only speed it had left.
Our room was set on a cracked piece of concrete behind the kitchen area with views of the wiring, plumbing and the window of the next door unit.The 25 point rules page strictly prohibits
moving furniture, but we took a chair outside to avoid the stench inside ! We took a walk through the "grounds" and found other chalets occupied by dogs and what was once a conference centre
occupied by a pack of cats and kittens...the porte cochere has a thatch roof covering the entire
entrance which is home to hundreds of fruit bats, the floor is covered in bat faeces and ammonia
scented urine, The pool toilets are not only out of order, but broken. The whole place has an air of desolation about it, barred up reception area, shabby blackboards announcing "features" and an unkempt and forlorn atmosphere well reflected in the owners, who enjoyed a cup of morning coffee on their broken lounge furniture but forgot to offer us any. The cold breakfast advertised
actually was better than expected.
The owners might argue that they are a budget hotel, and our expectations were too high. Our view is that if the place was even remotely decently managed, they wouldn't have to try to be cheap to get away with the low price. They may also suggest that what we experienced didn't happen - we have photos !
If faced with a choice of sleeping in your car at a filling station or staying at the cheetah inn -
choose your car !!!

Room Tip: The only good room is somewhere else
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
19  Thank jannharoldbader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 9, 2014

Very nice place! The food is very good, amazing people around you, nice lay out of the building, the pool, the braai area and the rooms. The hosts are very kind and always ready to help and have a chat. Very good value for your money. I would visit again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed January 7, 2014

Very nice place! The food is very good, amazing people around you, nice lay out of the building, the pool, the braai area and the rooms. The hosts are very kind and always ready to help and have a chat. Very good value for your money. I would visit again any time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bernice R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews