We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (304)
Filter reviews
304 results
Traveller rating
271
30
2
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
271
30
2
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe rivergame drivesguide petermanaging coupleone word of warninghuge effortscented towelsdry river bedoutdoor bathroomthe entire staffafrican bushwonderful experiencesouth africathree nightsrooms are greatthe reserveother guests
Filter
Updating list...
87 - 92 of 304 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2016

Andre and Anita were wonderful hosts, meeting us at the door with warm wet vanilla wash clothes and a refreshing colorful drink. The rooms are each private bungalows with you very own private outdoor bath and shower (as l as an inside shower). Every morsel of food was delicious. The game drives were amazing and we were able to see the big 5 along with many other animals. Our tracker and guide went to every extreme to make sure this happened. It was a memory of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and whilst it was very good - we can't agree it was a 5. The rooms were a bit shabby and we wouldn't say they were luxury (which is a pity). The location, food and people were excellent however - and that made a big difference. The game drives (within the private reserve) were good and we saw plenty of animals (the Leopard & Cheetah sightings were amazing), but we did feel a bit squashed into the vehicle (all 10 guests were put into one car).
A very difficult place to judge, and do be aware of the fact it is a private reserve and not somewhere like Kruger). The people here were fantastic and we did enjoy it - but it wasn't quite a true 5 out of 5.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Herefordnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 25, 2016 via mobile

This is a must stay if you want to do safari in South Africa. Everything from the grounds, bungalows, food, location and staff are A++. Bianca isn't great hostess and runs a great lodge. Lydia is a fantastic chef and is the sweetest person in the dining room. Our Ranger (Peter) and Tracker (Sandy) are hands down, the best around.

We were excited to come to South Africa but Kuname River Lodge far exceeded our expectations and added to our excitement every day.

Not only would I go back, I would stay longer and enjoy every second of it.

Thanks for a great time. I hope to return soon.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 21, 2016

Great service and great comfort! They have rooms with shower, bath outside and shower outside. Breakfast is very good, also a hot lunch and a great 4 course dinner! This hotel offers private game drives.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stormbreaker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed July 17, 2016

Warm reception, very friendly staff (throughout the whole facility), and a wonderful location. The breakfeast included everything we desired, and also the dinners were greatly enjoyed by the whole family. The game drives with the very knowledgeable guides were simply phantastic, whatching those beautiful animals from so close was very impressive. What a pity that we already had to leave again after two days.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SimonAndMarcelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews