We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic base for family friendly safari”
Review of Kuname Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuname Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2016

The accommodation in a lovely private lodge suited our family of 2 adults and 4 children between 5-15yrs. It was lovely to have the outdoor plunge pool and gardens during the day for the kids to let off steam. The location and quality of accommodation is stunning. But the highlight is the staff. Starting with the Ranger, Eddie and the Tracker, Mosco, they really made our trip magical. 2 game drives every day in an open top land rover just for our family! We saw everything you could possibly want to and experienced magical moments amongst the wildlife. Thank-you so much Eddie and Mosco. After the game drives you are met with hot vanilla scented face cloths which we loved and looked forward to.
Back at the lodge Sammi took care of us and made it feel like home. On our last day he asked to take a picture of my 5yr old as they had cared for her so wonderfully !
It's a small set up - probably only 4 or 5 separate lodges, which for us made it even more special.
Thanks for sharing your magical location.

Room Tip: Fantastic lodge available for family of 6
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Oilbug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 292 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2016

Andre and Anita were wonderful hosts, meeting us at the door with warm wet vanilla wash clothes and a refreshing colorful drink. The rooms are each private bungalows with you very own private outdoor bath and shower (as l as an inside shower). Every morsel of food was delicious. The game drives were amazing and we were able to see the big 5 along with many other animals. Our tracker and guide went to every extreme to make sure this happened. It was a memory of a lifetime!!

  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trinaD1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, and whilst it was very good - we can't agree it was a 5. The rooms were a bit shabby and we wouldn't say they were luxury (which is a pity). The location, food and people were excellent however - and that made a big difference. The game drives (within the private reserve) were good and we saw plenty of animals (the Leopard & Cheetah sightings were amazing), but we did feel a bit squashed into the vehicle (all 10 guests were put into one car).
A very difficult place to judge, and do be aware of the fact it is a private reserve and not somewhere like Kruger). The people here were fantastic and we did enjoy it - but it wasn't quite a true 5 out of 5.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank Herefordnomads
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 via mobile

This is a must stay if you want to do safari in South Africa. Everything from the grounds, bungalows, food, location and staff are A++. Bianca isn't great hostess and runs a great lodge. Lydia is a fantastic chef and is the sweetest person in the dining room. Our Ranger (Peter) and Tracker (Sandy) are hands down, the best around.

We were excited to come to South Africa but Kuname River Lodge far exceeded our expectations and added to our excitement every day.

Not only would I go back, I would stay longer and enjoy every second of it.

Thanks for a great time. I hope to return soon.

Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
Thank Ed B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2016

Great service and great comfort! They have rooms with shower, bath outside and shower outside. Breakfast is very good, also a hot lunch and a great 4 course dinner! This hotel offers private game drives.

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Stormbreaker93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 July 2016

Warm reception, very friendly staff (throughout the whole facility), and a wonderful location. The breakfeast included everything we desired, and also the dinners were greatly enjoyed by the whole family. The game drives with the very knowledgeable guides were simply phantastic, whatching those beautiful animals from so close was very impressive. What a pity that we already had to leave again after two days.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank SimonAndMarcelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2016

Few places I have stayed around the world exceeded my expectations like the Kuname Lodge did.Game drives could not have went better, rooms were clean and comfortable, and the food...WOW....Highly recommend you add this stop to any visit to South Africa.

  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank craiggross27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
52.6 km away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#8 of 103 in Hoedspruit
322 reviews
3.8 km away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
373 reviews
4.1 km away
Becks Safari Lodge
Becks Safari Lodge
#6 of 103 in Hoedspruit
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 km away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#16 of 103 in Hoedspruit
351 reviews
1.1 km away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
393 reviews
53.9 km away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuname Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuname Lodge

Address: R36 Highway | Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: $912 - $2,551 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuname Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuname River Lodge is an exclusive 5 star, 5 bed game lodge situated in the Karongwe Private Game Reserve in the Limpopo Province. Kuname which is 4.5 hours drive from Johannesburg and 45km from the Kruger National Park is easily accessible by both air and by road and offers some of the best big 5 game viewing and bird watching opportunities in Southern Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kuname Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuname River Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing