We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect in every way”
Review of Kuname Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Kuname Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 January 2018

Anita and Andre have created an oasis of perfection in a wonderful game reserve. Our 4 day stay was the highlight of a three week trip to South Africa. Their attention to detail is evident in the accommodation, food, hot / cold towels after game drives and exceptional staff who go above and beyond the call of duty. Plentiful big 5 game sightings and lots more too. We stayed with our children aged 14 and 12 in the Manor House which was lovely.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
Thank Sinead K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 7 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 3 January 2018

Saying that this was incredible doesn't even come close. 2 safari drives a day with our guide and tracker, Mandla and Sandy who made this the most fascinating holiday. Kuname Lodge is run by Anita and Andre who welcome you as though they've known you all their lives. Amazing food and accommodation. All the staff are so friendly and I can honestly say there isn't a single thing about the 5 days we stayed that I would change.

Stayed: December 2017
Thank AnneOliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

I take a fantastic memory of our trip in Kuname.
We find a very kind staff, everyone smiling and helpful. I can't describe the incredible feeling that we tried, I can only tell to you to try!!!
Unfortunately we have bene here only 2 night but I hope to come back as soon as possible!

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Lucia C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 December 2017

We have had two fantastic trips to South Africa in the last two years and this particular game lodge is by far the best experience we have had...this would be out of a total of over a dozen hotels.
From the initial reception with Anita to the very end everyone was super especially Dean and Mosco who take you out on safari twice daily if you so wish. You can really feel the real Africa surrounded by every variety of wild life and the game drives are just fabulous .
The rooms are nicely located overlooking a dry river bed as no rain has fallen in years. The rooms however are small and space is tight but so long as you are aware of this then you can accept it. The breakfast is fantastic although the evening meal could be planned with a little more variety and some quality ingredients including good local meat.
Apart from that the place is amazing and we would recommend it to anyone who wishes to have a great African Experience.
Thank you one and all for a fantastic time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank IRLJIM48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 December 2017

Game drives twice a day were perfect, the big 5 are almost a guarantee.
Rooms are a little bit small but confortable with all the belongins you need for your stay.
Breakfast, lunch and dinner was fine.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank steveandmyriamm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 December 2017

What a find! A small and intimate lodge, quality rooms, fantastic scenery, excellent food and service....the list goes on.
We stayed for three nights late November and our experiences were way beyond expecatation. Our room was luxurious, a verandah overlooking the riverbed, a private garden with shower and bath!
We were greeted by Lizel (the relief manager) and made to feel immediately welcome.
Within minutes we were off on our first game drive - which proved to be the highlight of our stay. Assisted by Mandlay (guide) and Sandy (tracker) we were treated to numerous sightings over a series of 6 game drives. Yes, we saw the 'Big 5" but much more.......too many to mention, even walking out of the jeep to see the cheetah with its cubs. Pure magic - seeing the animals so close in their natural environment.
There was always a welcome back from the drive, a hot towel and a drink! Food always followed whether it be breakfast or dinner. Top food and service.
So......if you are considering booking a safari and want a 'top' lodge then look no further!
Go for it. Enjoy :-)

Room Tip: All rooms are good - room 1 is the most spacious
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2017

What a wonderful place ! Everything from the staff to the accommodations , food , game drives, everything was wonderful !!! They greeted us with warm vanilla face cloths after every drive which was just a little tough of magic ! The food, at every meal, was just amazing ! Our driver and spotter worked very hard to make sure they did their best to see what animals we wanted to see , every drive began with so what do we want to see today ? Then they did their best to make it happen ! Just sublime customer service all around !

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank sandraandnancyt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Hoedspruit
52.6 km away
Moditlo River Lodge
Moditlo River Lodge
#7 of 103 in Hoedspruit
322 reviews
3.8 km away
Karongwe River Lodge
Karongwe River Lodge
#1 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
373 reviews
4.1 km away
Becks Safari Lodge
Becks Safari Lodge
#8 of 103 in Hoedspruit
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13 km away
Makalali Private Game Lodge
Makalali Private Game Lodge
#17 of 103 in Hoedspruit
350 reviews
1.1 km away
Chisomo Safari Camp
Chisomo Safari Camp
#2 of 3 in Karongwe Private Game Reserve
389 reviews
53.9 km away
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
The Vuyani Safari Lodge
#2 of 103 in Hoedspruit
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kuname Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kuname Lodge

Address: R36 Highway | Karongwe Private Game Reserve, Hoedspruit 1380, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Limpopo Province > Hoedspruit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 103 Speciality Lodging in Hoedspruit
Price Range: C$898 - C$2,517 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Kuname Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kuname River Lodge is an exclusive 5 star, 5 bed game lodge situated in the Karongwe Private Game Reserve in the Limpopo Province. Kuname which is 4.5 hours drive from Johannesburg and 45km from the Kruger National Park is easily accessible by both air and by road and offers some of the best big 5 game viewing and bird watching opportunities in Southern Africa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kuname Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kuname River Hotel Tzaneen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing