We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (480)
Filter reviews
480 results
Traveller rating
349
86
28
11
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
349
86
28
11
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews water hole game drives watering hole plunge pool dry river bed hoedspruit airport animals visiting private concession private deck the river other guests per day awesome experience off road wild animals holiday of a lifetime travel agent
Filter
Updating list...
9 - 14 of 480 reviews
Reviewed August 28, 2018 via mobile

What a wonderful place!
Johan runs a tight ship and everything went wonderful!
Best was that you can sit and have breakfast, lunch or dinner and watch an amazing amount of animals visiting the water hole opposite the dry river bend.
The rooms are wonderful!!!
Ours was also opposite the water hole and I watched Eliphant, Kudu, Girraths and Impala while lying in my bath!!!!
The food was delicious! Kudu's to the chef!
We'll definitely be back!!!

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank annieplett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 28, 2018

Dear annieplett - thank you for sharing your impressions of Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your time with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 27, 2018 via mobile

My husband and I had a great time at Imbali- amazing room, decent food, wonderful wait staff and butler service. Unfortunately our game driver Keith called my
Husband stupid (twice) and lectured us meanly in front of our fellow travelers because he did not agree with our plans to visit an elephant sanctuary after leaving the lodge. It was quite embarrassing and made the other guests noticeably uncomfortable. After speaking with the night host, we were changed to a different guide for our last game drive but no one from management ever apologized or acknowledged this humiliating experience which is quite unusual for an allegedly 5 star lodge. For the price paid here, I expected at least an apology. Will spend our money more wisely elsewhere on our next trip to Kruger.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 29, 2018

Dear Emily S –
Thank you for your review of Imbali Safari Lodge. We’re happy to hear that on the whole you enjoyed your Imbali experience, but we would like to take this opportunity to apologise for how you and your husband were left feeling after the conversation with your guide about the elephant interaction experience. While this is not an activity that we would endorse, we accept that it is your right to enjoy your holiday in any way that you wish, and again, we would like to apologise for our guide’s passion for elephant conversation perhaps clouding his judgement on this occasion. His comments were a result of that passion, and were not meant in any way to insult or embarrass you. We trust that you were still able to enjoy the rest of your holiday, and we have addressed this matter with the guide in question as part of our continuous guest service training.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 23, 2018

The place is very very nice. If you want somewhere you can detox from civilization this is for you. Internet is only available at the main dining area. Room has a super king bed with drapes drawn during the night. Bathroom is huge. The odd thing is, the shower area has no curtain to shield you from the outside. If somebody (or something) walks there, they can easily see inside the bathroom. The deck in the back has a jacuzzi and a sitting area. Food is in abundance, which is included in the full board package. Breakast, mid-morning snack at the safari, lunch, mid-afternoon tea, snack at the safari, dinner. You are spoilt for yummy food. The people are friendly too. It’s as if you have known them for awhile.
The view of the elephants and other animals in the watering hole across the dining area is also amazing. However, we were told the animals are just there during winter when there is not much water around Kruger.
Sadly, there is not much to do at Imbali except safari during the early morning and in the afternoon. Also, you cannot walk by yourself when it’s dark. It’s for safety purposes bec it is a lodge inside the jungle and it has no fence. You are not even allowed to use the jacuzzi at night for the same purpose.
All in all, if you don’t mind communing with nature and a day or two without good internet, this is for you.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Traveller928
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2018

Dear Traveller928 -
Thank you for posting your detailed review of your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're very happy to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and at the same time, we appreciate your constructive comments on the areas where you felt we could still improve, and we'll certainly be looking into those.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 18, 2018

Last stop having already been to three lodges. Lovely rooms a short walk from the main building. All food was of a high standard. Three night stay and superb game drives with Daryl and Bradley (top men!!!). An unforgettable time.

  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 19, 2018

Dear Michael M -
Thank you for sharing your thoughts on your stay at Imbali Safari Lodge. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed every aspect of your stay, and especially the safaris. We very much look forward to your nex visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 15, 2018

Definitely a must try!! so the welcome was warm and great, the lodge is beautiful and gives you the feeling of the bush with all the luxury, awesome!!
Food = all 3 meals plus high tea & snacks on game drives (which are 2 per day) and the food was delicious and catered for us as halaal, this was superb. special high 5 to the head caterer for his care and advise on the food for us. Thoroughly enjoyed the Boma braai.
The dining area overlooks the water hole and was beautiful, one evening over dinner we saw a leopard come drink along with hyenas!!
the rooms are tastefully decorated and the bathrooms are stunning.
our game driver Mike was fantastic and his sense of humor is LOL !!!
the lodge manager was so friendly and hospitable!! it was my birthday and they baked me a lovely and tasty cake, was special.
totally enjoyed the in room massage.
no wfi in rooms and no cell reception, just the way it should be in the bush.
this is a great place to visit and I would highly recommend. looking forward to visiting again :)

Room Tip: all rooms have views of the river bed
  • Stayed: July 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 3Shakera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
inkbos737, Public Relations Manager at Imbali Safari Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2018

Dear 3Shakera -
Thank you for sharing your impressions of Imbali Safari Lodge here on TripAdvisor. We're delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your stay, and honoured that you would recommend Imbali to future travellers - thank you!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews