We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Perfect breakaway

If you are trapped in a office and looking at computer screens and cellphones all day this is a... read more

Reviewed July 30, 2018
RolinBooysen
Amazing experience!

Our guides, Huston and Absolom were very special people, really warm and knowlegeable! Eager to... read more

Reviewed July 29, 2018
Glendiglendi
,
Lucena, Spain
via mobile
Read all 29 reviews
  
Top Selling Tours & Activities in and around Kruger National Park
from US$81.60
More Info
from US$35.90
More Info
from US$141.50
More Info
Reviews (29)
Filter reviews
29 results
Traveller rating
20
7
2
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
20
7
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews communal ablutions bucket list abel confluence wholesome treks sundowners nature campsite hyenas knowledge wilderness meals vehicle chef accommodation kruger
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 29 reviews
Reviewed March 24, 2018 via mobile

Such an incredible few days in the wilderness with Steve and Abel.
Both were top guys and shared so much knowledge, campfire stories and experiences with us all.

This experience was everything we hoped it would be and so much more.
Fantastic treks, comfy accommodation and facilities considering it’s a powerless campsite and the food that Shadrach cooked up was some of the best we had in South Africa. He was a wizard in the kitchen and his bread will never be forgotten!

This was our highlight of South Africa and one of the best adventures we’ve ever had throughout all our travels.
Walking in the footprints of lions and hippo, hearing hyena laughing at night when your gazing up at the crystal clear skies watching the satellites and shooting stars pass you by and getting away from the cars and tourists in the main part of the park and seeing a side that few do is just a truly humbling adventure.

Cheers Steve, Abel and Shadrach!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Gabriellemh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed March 2, 2018

We had the most amazing three days on the wilderness trail and cannot recommend it highly enough. Steve and Abel were our guides and they were great fun and knowledgeable about everything to do with the wilderness and the bush. The camp was great, basic but comfortable. The walks each morning were fairly relaxed and quite a slow pace to truly appreciate your surroundings. Sundowners were in breathtaking locations each evening and we always came back to a delicious and hot dinner.
The only bad thing about the trail was that it is only 3 nights, we could have easily stayed for a week or more!

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank Madeline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed February 8, 2018 via mobile

I went on this 3 days hike in the park and loved it. We were only 3 persons including myself, plus the two rangers. You actually only hike during 2 days, once in the morning and once in the evening each day since the heat is hard to stand in the daytime, at least in November. It’s a very different experience from a regular safari in a vehicle and even if you see less animals, you are with them and not only watching them. The rangers track them until they find them and explain their behavior and how they coexist. They know everything about the park, the ecosystem...and are eager to share. The most amazing moment was when we met a group of lionesses who were hunting! The accommodation is comfortable and safe, the food more than enough.

Date of experience: November 2017
Thank AWAYHOME
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed September 29, 2017 via mobile

Booking fot this unique slackpack trail is quite cumbersome. The booking happens almost a year in advance. Before the trail, you need a medical certificate of fitmess. You also need to take malaria prophylaxis.
The group of max 8 meet at Letaba camp where the vehicles are left for the next 3 nights. Visitors travel in an open gameviewing Toyota for 2 hours to reach the camp. It consist of 4 huts and communal ablutions ( 2 flushing toilets, 2 showers). All meals are prepared by the cook, simple but wholesome.
The walks start round 6am. By 12:00 you are back in camp for brunch. After a siesta, it is time for a drive or short walk and sundowners by the river. The guides are extremely knowledgable and love sharing info on all aspects of nature: from geology to history to traditional beliefs to botsny to zoology to ecology. Even thoigh the camp can do with a proper overhaul, it is clean, charming and beautifully situated high above the Olifants River. The hippos and hyenas were the only noisemakers at night.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank Christien N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed August 5, 2017 via mobile

It was a really good trip where our guide told and sowed us a lot about the different animals in the park. We where also really close to many of the animals we saw.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank hjalte v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews