We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic first safari experience!”
Review of Jock Safari Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Jock Safari Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Saint-Saturnin-les-Apt, France
Level Contributor
208 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Fantastic first safari experience!”
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Jocks provides the perfect combination for your safari experience. From the moment you arrive to the time you leave you are really looked after.The staff are warm friendly and efficient creating a very comfortable relaxing atmosphere. The game drives are superb, with very good vehicles compared to others we saw. Our ranger Lazarus was so knowledgable , a great driver and found us all the animals and birds we were hoping to see ( the big 5 on our first drive!)
The rooms have a private terrace, small plunge pool and overlook the river where Buffalo and Elephants graze. We were all inclusive ! Food was good as was the generous supply of wine , we even had alcoholic drinks for our sun downers on the afternoon drive.
In the Kruger I cannot imagine a better safari experience or  reserve to stay at unless you want to pay double just to get a bit more glitz and luxury, but you won' t see any more animals

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TodgeProvence_France
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

552 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    492
    45
    9
    6
    0
See reviews for
137
323
14
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NY
Level Contributor
137 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

My wife and I, and our three grown sons, spent 3 nights at Jock Safari Lodge in January and it simply could not have been better. The rooms were large, clean and comfortable and each had its own private deck, plunge pool and lapa which made hanging out in mid day very comfortable. The food was very good and plentiful and is served outdoors, under the stars, or around a fire pit in their bama area. There is a small gym which is perfectly adequate as well.

What really made Jock stand out to us however was the staff who, first of all, could not do enough for us but who, more importantly, had a wonderful enthusiasm for the safari drives which, after all, is what you are there for. We have stayed at other safari lodges that had nicer accomodations than Jock but we would return to Jock in a heartbeat simply because of how wonderful the safari drives were. Our ranger, Dave, was like an encyclopedia of knowledge about the animals, birds, insects and plant life and made our drives fascinating journeys of discovery. It was like listening to the best college professor you ever had and we learned a tremendous amount from him. He is an avid photographer as well and even taught us a few tips and helped us get better pictures on our trip.

Jock was a great experience and I recommend it highly to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BruceSXM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandton, South Africa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 January 2012

My husband and I went to Jock Safari Lodge this past weekend for my birthday and I cannot recommend it highly enough. The lodge is jaw droppingly beautiful with a personalised and intimate atmosphere, the staff are extremely welcoming and friendly, the food is delicious, the attention to detail and service are excellent. And everyone made me feel really special on my birthday. Our expectations were well exceeded and we would loved to have stayed longer. Added to the wonderful lodge experience we also saw all the Big 5 and plenty of other animals, and Dave our ranger made each game drive interesting and special.

Room Tip: All the rooms are well appointed with a view of the river and into the bush. We saw plenty of anima...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Renee F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 January 2012

We have recently returned from a two night safari at Jock which was our first stop on a 2 week holiday. The lodge was delightful and very romantic, we truly felt spoilt by all the space we had. The staff were very friendly and helpful and always attentive. Our ranger Dumi was very accomodating on safaris and made every effort to ensure we had the full Big 5 experience. On our last morning we had an earlier than usual transfer and so Dumi arranged our game drive for 90 minutes earlier than usual. The meals and were delightful. If I had a very small negative it was just that there were gaps in our mosquito nets (the nets were better attached at our other accomodations).

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SushmaK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 January 2012

My partner and I included a safari as part of a first trip to South Africa. In every single respect it exceeded our expectations and was one of the best places we have ever stayed. The accommodation is superb - we gasped with delight when shown around our own lodge and this sense of being somewhere really special just went on and on as we enjoyed the dining area, the bar and the place generally. The staff were exceptional - friendly, warm, genuinely welcoming and helpful. Cannot praise them enough. And the game drives were some of the most thrilling moments of our lives. We had a fantastic, knowledgeable, enthusiastic guide (and two on some drives) who just seemed to know instinctively where to find the incredible wildlife in the vast park. Not only did we see the 'Big Five' but the 'Magnificent Seven' along with fabulous birds and other flora and fauna that are key to this very special, very wild, place. Just awesome. A totally unforgettable, magical experience.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brainyperson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 14 December 2011

We stayed here as part of our honeymoon - it was amazing! A private pick up from the airport had been arranged and we had drinks on arrival. We were just in time to take the afternoon/evening safari drive of the day which was brilliant. The staff are the most friendly people you will meet, nothing is too much trouble, - I even got a personalised cocktail at pre dinner drinks!
The rangers have a fantastic amount of knowledge, our ranger was Lazarus, he was so easy to get on with and was obviously passionate about the wildlife. We saw some amazing sites on the drives, and sun up or sundown drinks were very civilised!
With 2 long safari drives per day, delicious breakfast and lunch, afternoon tea and an exquisite 3 course dinner it was a good job we only had to make time for lounging on the deck overlooking the national park or taking a dip in the private plunge pool! I'd recommend this trip to everyone!! Fantastic! Thank you to all the team at Jock Safari Lodge!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanikLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hermanus,South Africa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed at Jock Safari Lodge two years ago and decided to return for my 60th birthday in November. Had a wonderful time, even better than our previous visit. Big, comfortable air-conditioned rooms with huge bathtub and your own private outdoor shower, plunge pool, deck and lapa. Food and staff excellent, even down to my own birthday cake and birthday song!
Dave, our ranger, was very knowledgeable and even though we saw the Big 5 and most of the larger animals, his attention to the smaller things, especially on the night drives, added a different perspective to the experience.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PandJHerm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kruger National Park hotels
27.3 km away
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
Lion Sands - Tinga Lodge
#4 of 13 in Kruger National Park
373 reviews
313.1 km away
Pafuri Camp
Pafuri Camp
#56 of 173 in Kruger National Park
139 reviews
37.0 km away
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
Crocodile Bridge Safari Lodge
#69 of 173 in Kruger National Park
95 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
312.9 km away
The Outpost
The Outpost
#36 of 173 in Kruger National Park
243 reviews
30.4 km away
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
Sabi Sabi Earth Lodge
#5 of 42 in Sabi Sand Game Reserve
298 reviews
0.0 km away
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
Lukimbi Safari Lodge
#13 of 173 in Kruger National Park
394 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jock Safari Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jock Safari Lodge

Property: Jock Safari Lodge
Address: Nearest Town Skukuza | Inside Kruger National Park, Kruger National Park 2060, South Africa
Phone Number:
Region: South Africa > Kruger National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 173 Speciality Lodging in Kruger National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Jock Safari Lodge 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jock Safari Lodge is nestled where the Mitomeni and Biyamiti rivers flow as one, situated in the South-Western corner of the Kruger National Park. The lodge offers 6,000 hectares of exclusive traversing rights in an area of the park which is celebrated for its big five game viewing. Jock of the Bushveld, the legend that was, served as an inspiration for the aptly namely Jock Safari Lodge. The tale, linked to Sir Percy Fitzpatrick, highlights the canine devotion and stories of African adventures that have excited exploring travellers.Accommodation offered:Main Jock LodgeCarefully screened by lush trees and reed walls, the 12 individual thatched rooms at Jock Safari Lodge, impart a sense of aloneness and oneness with the landscape.Fitzpatrick’s Lodge, offers personal service in an intimate atmosphere. Perfect for small parties and families.The lodge is easily accessible by road, just over 5 hours drive from Johannesburg, or 1 hour Skukuza and 2 hours from Kruger International airports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity.ca, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Jock Safari Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jock Safari Hotel Kruger National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing